Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not just cricket!
I'm sure I'm not alone in hoping for a bit of rain during a Test Match just so that I can listen to David Lloyd without the distraction of any cricket!

Now I can enjoy his words of wit and wisdom at any time thanks to this terrific new book.

Bumble ensures that every page is an event by combining his unique brand of humour with the magic of a natural...
Published on 4 Jun 2010 by I. J. Robinson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One off the edge ..........
In common with some other reviewers I felt that this kicks off really well but then inexplicably falls away. The changing between subject matter is fine but Bumble gets bogged down in the state of the game for me and these opinions are very subjective and without any real or clear evidence. You begin to feel that this is a missed opportunity and, whilst entertaining,...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Barrington Blythe


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not just cricket!, 4 Jun 2010
By 
I. J. Robinson (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm sure I'm not alone in hoping for a bit of rain during a Test Match just so that I can listen to David Lloyd without the distraction of any cricket!

Now I can enjoy his words of wit and wisdom at any time thanks to this terrific new book.

Bumble ensures that every page is an event by combining his unique brand of humour with the magic of a natural storyteller. It's a read that gets you in all the right areas - the heart, the head and, of course, the funny bone!

Marks out of ten? I'll give it Twenty/20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chuckles and Absorbing, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a cricket lover I am used to Bumbles ramblings and weather from Reading!

This was a heap of laughs, serious and absorbing in turn.

Started and finished in quick time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chaps book, 2 Jun 2010
By 
H. Hertz "H J H" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An addictive read as it is just a good lad telling you how he spends his life. The book has the feel of him telling you the tales whilst having a pint (real ale of course) rather than on a piece of paper.

Enjoyed that he let you know in a courteous manner how he gets on and thinks about his sky colleagues and other cricketers.

No smoke blown up persons behinds.

I was not sure at first about the way the book ended but after some cogitation feel it was an apt ending as a good bloke remembering one of his finest friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars daft as they come !!!!!, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very funny, a really good read,couldnt put it down ! bumble is a national treasure .book didnt disappoint at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written as if talking to you, 23 Mar 2014
By 
pnbooks (Yeovil Somerset England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book one of those onced picked up difficult to put down. It also gives you an insight into some of his fellow commentators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Geoff Jackson (OLDBURY, W Midlands, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
whether you're a david Lloyd fan or not I recommend you read this funny, entertaining and informative book by the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start the Car: The World According to Bumble (Paperback)
I loved this book and so did my husband we were both amused and very entertained by his humour as we are when he is commentating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stories, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought the book was great from start to finish, particularly liked the tales of Bumble and his many drinking partners outside cricket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarous book, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big cricket fan and read many books but this book doesn't need to be for cricket boffs, its really funny.,David Lloyd is a real laugh and this book is really good fun to read about cricket and some of the characters in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Husband in stitches, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start the Car: The World According to Bumble (Paperback)
Hubby loves this and his chortling can often be heard coming from the bathroom. He even feels the need to read bits out loud to me. If you knew my husband you would realise how special this book is - hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Start the Car: The World According to Bumble
Start the Car: The World According to Bumble by David Lloyd (Paperback - 14 April 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews