Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing life story, forget prejudice, remember walk in someone's shoes...
I was quite shocked by the eejits 1 star review.

I heard about this book on Radio 4, the interview was amazing because you have a stereotypical view of the guy. He isn't actually Johnny Vegas, this is a character that he's created, in someways to deal with what he's gone through.

As a Catholic I've read with so much interest, I knew about Upholland,...
Published 14 months ago by Pucca84

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Time Gentlemen Please!
Johnny Vegas always appeared to be a loose cannon, which of course was the appeal. A kind of beer-fuelled version of Freddie Starr. Live TV producers could never be sure he wouldn't swear or say something else inappropriate during the broadcast, so Johnny was usually only wheeled out as a guest on pre-recorded programmes.
It was therefore kind of disappointing to...
Published 2 months ago by djay


‹ Previous | 14 5 614 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Felt sorry for him., 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read for us Sintelliners. Enjoyed most of it.Laughed out loud at some stuff and felt sorry for him with other stuff going on in his head.Glad he put the record straight about his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Becoming Johnny Vegas, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and give it a 5star rating .I would recommend it +++++ except the bit about saint Helen's being the best rugby team !! Surely he meant to say WIgan !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up in Thatto Heath too but if I didn't I would still enjoy the book very much. Love it! When is the next one ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Jan 2014
A brilliant read with plenty of laugh out loud moments, yet plenty of thought provoking insights. I'd recommend this book to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars book, 14 Jan 2014
By 
John Hailing (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love vegas but the clue is in the title ! "becoming" sometimes hard to follow & makes little sense but some laughs in there - it,s o.k.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Trisha (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book - unlike many autobiographies this gives an insight into who he really is. I cried laughing in the beginning and by the end I was willing him to get his break - which he obviously did. I felt like I had been privileged in being allowed into his secret world, like a trusted friend. I expected it to be a laugh a minute but he tells you at the start that this wasnt the intention - I've read other comics autobiographies and they try this and after a while it stops being funny. This is his life, warts and all, its dark at times and sad but he still manages to inject humour.

I'm still laughing at the image of the giant twix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worth while read, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As comedian written autobiographies go this one was very good as it appears to be open and honest or at least what Johnny/Mike think of themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you're a Johnny Vegas fan then this is for you, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a cozy read by any means, with some excruciatingly uncomfortable and poignant occurences described in detail by Michael Pennington, (he who shall become Vegas), through his loving yet misunderstood childhood where loneliness and desperation are the norm. How the book reveals the inner workings of a tormented sole is a credit to the writing style and the number of incidents that are indeed cringe-worthy makes it hard to put the book down mid-chapter. It becomes more uncomfortable that the end of the book is revealingly penned by Johnny as this sometimes desperate and vengeful alter ego takes to the fore. Booze, failed post pubescent sexual liaisons and some really great comedy moments all add up to a book that is not the best I ever read featuring pottery and hard-core religion, though I feel a better person for the experience..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book worm, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming Johnny Vegas (Hardcover)
A brilliant read once you start to read this book you don't want to put it down ,really enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed & Cried, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Laughed out loud it's not a book full of jokes or anything but it's the way he tells them, the observational humor is so funny! Was a bit scared for his sanity in places, and cried at the way Michael assumes he's the only one going through teenage angst and how he "copes" with it. If you are expecting Johnny Vegas attitude from the start you will be disappointed, but the book is so honest you can't help but love him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 614 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming Johnny Vegas
Becoming Johnny Vegas by Johnny Vegas (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
£10.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews