Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the title fulfills its promise
Wonderful book for anyone interested in this magical language of wisdom. The information provided interlinks civilizations, religions and thought-structures all over the world and through the ages. Of course there could have been more signs and symbols included, of course there could have been a lot more information about each, but as the title suggests, this is a...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Zoe

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Symbols
Bought this to broaden my knowledge in this area. Big book, little new or in depth info. Seems to be just a general smattering of common symbols. You may like it if you've never seen a symbols in your whole life anywhere. I later found it online as a PDF and wish I had before I bought this. As I would have seen how scant the detailing is and I would have chosen another...
Published 10 months ago by VeryBerry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the title fulfills its promise, 25 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
Wonderful book for anyone interested in this magical language of wisdom. The information provided interlinks civilizations, religions and thought-structures all over the world and through the ages. Of course there could have been more signs and symbols included, of course there could have been a lot more information about each, but as the title suggests, this is a sourcebook, need you go deeper, you'll have to do further research.
The illustrations that accompany the text are very useful, the alphabetic order works for me, even the introduction is enlightening and beautifully written. Well done to the author for all the hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 15 May 2012
By 
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I won't make the review too detailed as there is a good one already, I meant to review this when I bought it but forgot... there is all the more reason to buy it now with the price-drop. This is more than a sourcebook - even though it is the best sourcebook available at the moment - but was a great book to accompany the student of ancient and modern esoteric symbolism but also gives more profound lessons in what symbols actually are. What is a symbol? How does it make you feel? What do you learn from it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL DONE ADELE, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I cannot praise Adele Nozedar enough. Having read and treasured her beautiful book 'The Secret Language of Birds', I now have her stunningly illustrated semiotic bible - The Signs and Symbols Sourcebook.

As an author and poet on Amazon myself, I find her books a great inspiration. A couple of cups of strong black coffee and a read of the Sourcebook and ideas for poems and short stories come tumbling out: buy this book and look at pages 434 to 436 for an excellent exposition textually and graphically of the Rune alphabet and its many meanings - the Runes each have a tree and a god to look after them.

Surrounding these pages are around 550 others, rich in meaning and interest. The introduction itself is worth its weight in gold for the sheer intellectual pleasure the words bring.

Adele lives above the UK's notoriously interesting Hay-on-Wye where I have spent many happy hours either walking in the Black Mountains or searching for - and finding - obscure books on 'King Arthur' and the Holy Grail.

Adele writes with empathy - she understands her subjects. She knows readers will want a wide variety of concepts and she supplies the most esoteric collection of them: read this book to find the 'Raelian Star', or the 'Horns of Odin', the symbolism of 'buckwheat', 'the black skin of Kali' or 'Sedna' the Inuit sea-goddess. You can find out who the 'Domovoi' are, the colour of Tezcatlipoca's cloak, the magical properties of the 'Balche' and what to do after you have held fine rice powder between finger and thumb.

Producing an encyclopedia this size must be hard. Adele has shown a love of her subject but also great dedication in ensuring the book is comprehensive. Well done to her editorial team too. Sourcing the thousands of illustrations must have been a nightmare - but it is the visions conjured by these as well as the words that make this a book to buy - for a superb Christmas present - or for a great gift between friends.

So thank you Adele and keep up the outstanding work you are doing!

David E P Dennis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Symbols, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
Bought this to broaden my knowledge in this area. Big book, little new or in depth info. Seems to be just a general smattering of common symbols. You may like it if you've never seen a symbols in your whole life anywhere. I later found it online as a PDF and wish I had before I bought this. As I would have seen how scant the detailing is and I would have chosen another instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
Cant put this book down!

Great book full of illustrations and interesting information. Did you know that the mole was once regarded as a magical animal?

Great source book for tattoo, embroidery, jewellery design and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I ordered this as a gift. I had to send it back shortly after as I found out that the person it was intended for already had it. It was delivered quickly and I am now regretting sending it back as I should've kept it for myself. Quite a big book but filled with lots of detail and some lovely designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
This product was well packed and delivered very promptly. It is a fabulous browser that I pick up for a quick five minutes and I'm still browsing an hour later.... brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
Comprehensive and informative. I've had several books of signs and symbols over the years but this is the first that truly deiivers.
It's also quite beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book with good information inside as you might expect from a book, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
All i hoped for with lots of interesting source material and information.
Excellent book with good information inside as you might expect from a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook (Hardcover)
The detailed extent of the information contained within this book was truly amazing and exactly what I was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook
The Illustrated Signs and Symbols Sourcebook by Adele Nozedar (Hardcover - 16 Sep 2010)
18.47
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews