Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read, a tribute to our soldiers and the dogs that meant so much
I absolutely loved this book, and I have the pleasure to have been part of one of the stories too.

These stories are so beautifully told that you cannot be moved by them, the horror of conflict only tempered by the love and trust of a canine companion.

It would make a wonderful gift.
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Littlelab

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my sort of boo
I'm a huge dog lover, however i just could not get into this book. I think its more personal preference.
Published 16 months ago by EasyPeasyLemonSqueezy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read, a tribute to our soldiers and the dogs that meant so much, 16 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book, and I have the pleasure to have been part of one of the stories too.

These stories are so beautifully told that you cannot be moved by them, the horror of conflict only tempered by the love and trust of a canine companion.

It would make a wonderful gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yorkie Doodle Dandy, 20 May 2011
By 
K. E. Beckett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
I read a condensed version of this book and just had to read the full version. I was not disappointed,
this is an amazing story of one truly remarkable little dog. Being a "Yorkie" owner myself I know a lot about their characters, but Smokey was something else. I think that William Wynne must consider himself truly blessed that Smokey shared her life with him. One very remarkable little dog.Yorkie Doodle Dandy read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, thought-provoking read, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
I read both of Isabel George's books, "Beyond the Call of Duty" and "The Dog that Saved My Life" while on holiday; once I started reading I just couldn't put the books down. These are a "must read" for all dog lovers, people with military connections, or those who simply enjoy a good, thought-provoking read. What amazing and clever dogs, living and working with their brave comrades-in-arms. We all owe them so much!

These books will make excellent presents for birthdays or Christmas, or you could just give them any time because people will love to read them.

I am now hoping for another book from Isabel, I do hope there is another one on the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Everyone, 24 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs C "Chris in Hampshire" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
"Beyond the Call of Duty" is a brilliant book which tells the true stories of 5 Dogs who served with the Armed Services in past and current conflicts. You will not want to put this book down - it is an absolute page turner throughout. You will be amazed and fascinated at all these dogs went through and you will marvel at how they coped with violent war activity. This is a history book, an action book, a tale of survivors book and a tribute to these dogs loyalty and bravery.
This a must read book for everyone, not just for dog lovers. The last story in the book is about "Stubby" and just shows how wrongly the bull breed of dogs are viewed.
This book is so good that it would be a nice gift.
Buy it - Read it - you won't be disappointed! If you only ever read 1 book about War or Dogs then please make it THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book., 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book by Isabel George: it is extremely well-researched, the stories are fascinating and very readable. The dogs portrayed in the book demonstrate real heroism in gruelling situations, yet remain unquestionably loyal to their adopted friends. I loved this book so much I went out and bought another of Isabel's excellent books: "The Dog that Saved My Life".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devotion and loyalty. Man's best friend, 2 Sep 2012
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
Good to read a second book by Isabel about dogs and their amazing bravery. I found it difficult to put the book down. I really hope this author will be writing more similar books as I for one can't wait to read them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the call of duty, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
The book, Beyond the call of duty, by Isobel George, gives the reader a detailed report of how animals, especially dogs, can be trained to cope with all kinds of situations. How incredible was the story of the tiny Yorkshire terrier, Smokey, who gave both comfort,entertainment and companionship to the company of soldiers in the Middle East.
Another wonderful creature, Antis,travelled in a huge, battered WWII aircraft, and although he had been wounded, lay perfectly still in the cockpit, not to distract the duties of his beloved owner and the other crew members.
All the dogs features in this book are indeed heroes in their own right, and I thank the author, Isobel George for publishing such a remarkable and sometimes tear jerking account of their all too short lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the Call of Duty, 5 Oct 2011
By 
G. Archer (Bangor, NI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
If ever proof were needed as to why dogs are called "Man's best friend" then "Beyond the Call of Duty" provides it, and more! The book tells the stories of 5 heroic dogs and the part they played in the horror of war both past and present. Treo, Smoky, Antis, Tangye and Stubby are, quite simply, outstanding dogs who saved the lives of,and provided much needed comfort for, the soldiers they bravely and loyally served alongside.
Isabel George's book is well written, immensely moving and I would thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming feelgood read, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
Excellent book, fantastic stories that are an inspiration to doglovers and nondoglovers alike, easy to pick up and have a quick read of one of the stories at a time, brilliant gift for friends and family, can't knock it in the slightest. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery (Paperback)
A fantastic story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond the Call of Duty: Heart-warming stories of canine devotion and bravery
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews