Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a return to form for Dean Koontz
Ever since Dean Koontz's books started being released one every six months instead of one a year, the quality of his work has fallen considerably - not surprising really when you consider that he must be rush-writing to have such a high output.

His recent books have been patchy at best, and at worst they have been almost unreadable (the astoundingly awful...
Published on 20 July 2006 by Mr. T. S. Guy

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but ........
This is a decent effort at a sequel and my gripe is not with the story, which is ok. The idea and character are fine. Its the execution that is so poor.

Koontz style and characterisation are beginning to wear me down. With exception to the villians (who are always 100% evil but one dimensional) why is every good guy so nice!, and not just pleaseant nice, but...
Published on 18 Jun 2007 by Simon Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a return to form for Dean Koontz, 20 July 2006
By 
Mr. T. S. Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ever since Dean Koontz's books started being released one every six months instead of one a year, the quality of his work has fallen considerably - not surprising really when you consider that he must be rush-writing to have such a high output.

His recent books have been patchy at best, and at worst they have been almost unreadable (the astoundingly awful "Frankenstein: City of Night" being one of the worst books I've ever read, let alone the worst by this author). One of the few bright moments in his career of late was the thoroughly enjoyable Odd Thomas, and this sequel doesn't fail to impress.

Picking up six months after the events of "Odd Thomas", "Forever Odd" sees Odd in a new and equally unusual situation. Although far-fetched, this book is actually more believable than a lot of Dean's recent output, and the characters are warmer and more engaging, particularly Odd. The new character of Datura is also well-handled and she makes a welcome addition to this story.

In recent years, it seems to me that Dean's books have contained more references to God and more jokes with each passing release. This holds true in Forever Odd. The religious aspects are a touch annoying to your average atheist reader, although they are not over-bearing, and far from evangelical. They just feel a little out-of-place. As a comedic writer, I actually feel Dean is developing quite a gift; this is one of the few ways in which his work has improved in recent years. In this book I found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion, whilst still gripped to the storyline and turning the pages at an alarming rate.

All in all, this is one of Dean's finer releases in recent years, alongside the prequel "Odd Thomas". Beyond these two I would recommend going a little further back in his bibliography, and try "Strangers" or "Fear Nothing". This book has restored my faith in one of my favourite authors, just as I was about to give up on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but ........, 18 Jun 2007
By 
Simon Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a decent effort at a sequel and my gripe is not with the story, which is ok. The idea and character are fine. Its the execution that is so poor.

Koontz style and characterisation are beginning to wear me down. With exception to the villians (who are always 100% evil but one dimensional) why is every good guy so nice!, and not just pleaseant nice, but quirky, annoyingly nice.

This detracts from the story, there is no grit, no hard edge to anything here. While the subject deals with serious issues of death, loss and grief, it all feels rather like a cartoon. THe last 15 or so chapters were all padded out with waffle, and the book could have been 100 pages shorter, and would have flowed better.

The worst part by far was the victim (Odd's 'brother', who was so important to him, didn't even manage a mention in the first book), only appeared because Koontz needs the token 'kid with a health problem' character. What next Dean, conjoined twin detectives?

Odd Thomas is a great character, but the series could have been so much more. The shame is that Koontz is churning out a new book every six months for whatever reason (only he knows)and the downside is the quality.

Velocity and The Taking (in particular) are real stinkers, and don't even warrant a review.

p.s. Yes Dean we heard you when you said Odd was a 'short order cook' in the opening chapter, please don't feel the need to repeat in every other chapter from then on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same.. MUCH TOO SIMILAR TO FEAR NOTHING, 14 July 2006
This review is from: Forever Odd (Hardcover)
3 stars, because I can't give 2.5

OK, first of all- I am a HUGE Dean Koontz fan. I started with 'From The Corner Of His Eye' and proceeded to read (and buy) every novel printed and have enjoyed each one.. again: I am a fan- but this is not a good review I'm afraid...

Odd Thomas was an intersting purchase at the time- a good story- nice character, quirky (dead Elvis-classic), funny and sad.

I was surprised however, when Mr K's website announced that Odd Thomas had generated the MOST amount of post/mail about a book/character ever... I mean- it was a good book..but..

So- a sequel comes along- and you buy the book because it's a new Koontz novel- thinking right, we know who it is, what he does, what happens now?

And that's the trouble. It feels like the next episode in a tv series. The story does not match it's predecessor at all- in fact it's a little silly- and it lacks any emotion. Here's the REALLY big problem: I found it INCREDIBLY similar to Fear Nothing and Seize the night' for example: Mysterious pets, belonging to mysterious owners. The quest for a missing friend, running around and being chased at night..

I just felt I read it all before.. which was disappointing. I would not read it again I think - and hope he moves onto the much rumoured 3rd book in the Moonlight Bay Trilogy.

Better luck next time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, not amazing, 14 Feb 2007
By 
F. Luchetti "crazy book lover" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a huge Dean Koontz fan and having read Odd Thomas, the first book, I was slightly disappointed with Forever Odd. Don't get me wrong it is a good book but not up to par with Odd Thomas.I found the book padded out slightly and whilst reading it i found my mind wandering off the story due to the slow pace that some parts were written in. A must read for all Koontz fans but not one of his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Familiarity breeds contempt?, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Deanne Dixon "deanne9499" (Sunny South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Odd Thomas" is your typical anti-hero. A man with "ambitions" to work in a tyre factory, clinging to the memory of his lost-love and surrounded by colourful, if not flawed, friends, he is a character we can all relate to. What sets Odd apart from "the man on the street", however, is his ability to communicate with the dead - the premise upon which the trilogy is set.

Briefly, "Forever Odd" starts with Odd encountering the ghost of the local doctor. On further investigation, the ghost is merely warning Odd that his stepson, and Odd's lifelong friend, Danny, has been kidnapped. As the story unfolds, we begin to see the negative effects of the publicity that inevitably came with Odd's apparent heroism in the first of trilogy when he rescued many from certain death in the massacre at the mall. It is Danny's loneliness and Datura's Nietzschean "will to power" that provides the fundamental story-line for this book.

For me, although the book is enthralling and Koontz has captured the spirit of Odd as introduced to us initially, there are two major problems with the book as a whole: the notion of familiarity and the stigmatism that comes with being a sequel. Prior to developing these points further, I will warn you that I am about to discuss the finale of the book, so in typical "Ten-O'clock-News"-before-"Match-of-the-Day"-fashion, "IF YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW THE SCORES, LOOK AWAY NOW"! The notion of familiarity can be seen in two ways: firstly, in the conclusion to the book. For me, the twist was slightly predictable - primarily because it was the inevitable mirror-image to the climax of "Odd Thomas". In the first chapter of the journey, we are led to believe initially that Stormy (Odd's partner) survived the massacre at the mall, when in fact she didn't. Here, we are led to believe that Odd doesn't survive the fight with Andre, when in fact he does. Furthermore, I can't help feeling that Koontz feels somewhat obligated to inflitrate his books with authors. I may be wrong (and further reading may prove this) but out of the five books that I have read by Koontz - four contain lead characters who are authors. Whilst the old adage rings true - "you should write about what you are faimiliar with", the inclusion of another author, albeit an entertaining one, was somewhat predictable.

As regards to the problem of being a sequel, some may feel that the book is lacking in any real depth for any characters other than Odd. My "better half" read this before me and warned me that there is no time to "settle into" the book, as you hit the ground running with the story-line. This is true - although I don't necessarily feel that this is a criticism, afterall, how many people who have read the first book would complain at being given an introduction to Odd's life again? This point is valid too when you consider the lack of attention given to Odd's companions (I can't exactly criticise Koontz for repetitiveness then complain that he isn't developing character's that we are already familiar with!)

For those of you who do not know what the third book is called, try not to find out until you have read "Forever Odd" - if you do, you will be able to predict how this book REALLY ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More action, less charm, 2 Nov 2006
Odd Thomas is back in this action packed sequel and this time he is up against a gang of satanic kidnappers. The story starts at a sprint and never lets up for the entire 12 hour timeline, with Odd transforming into a sort of supernatural John McClane. Unfortunately this non-stop, Die Hard style action means that all of the brilliant supporting characters from the original are reduced to cameo roles, which is a pity because they are sorely missed here. So then, this is the Odd Thomas' show and like the original novel it is written in the first person, but as we know there is an afterlife we can never be confident that he will survive the adventure. The second sequel is about to be released and its title "Brother Odd" offers a clue to the conclusion of this book, I just hope some of the original's charm returns with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining enough, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Koontz's sequel to Odd Thomas is a short read. You can read the synopsis above so I won't reiterate that, but what is worth adding is that the structure to this tale is cleverly conceived. You arrive at what seems a final scene only half way through, which in turn creates an interesting page turner. You'll never be quiet sure in which way it will turn, it's a very different book from the first and could quite easily stand alone. In retrospect, Forever Odd is comparible to a supernatural Die Hard, which is no bad thing. It's never a rollercoaster, and there are times in which Koontz rambles a bit, but most of the book is tightly written. There are also some parts of the plot which seem unneccesary, either utilised for padding or for preamble to the next installment. Worthwhile reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forever Odd - Never Great, 10 Sep 2008
You cannot fault Koontz with his writing style or his fantastic ideas.

Here, the 1st-person narrative continues to brilliantly define Odd Thomas as a character, and a variety of set pieces, including the opening scene, are compelling and clever in the way they open questions and promise great mystery for the story ahead.

Whereas the original Odd Thomas managed to build mystery and deliver payoffs at a steady pace, Forever Odd never quite delivers on its promise. The problems with Forever Odd are entirely plot related. The villain doesnt get anywhere near enough space on the page. There are unanswered questions and loose ends aplenty by the end of the book. Too many loose ends can ruin the reader experience, even if the preceding story was enthralling.

The secondary character in this story is a supposed childhood friend of Odd Thomas - named Danny - but the introduction of Danny feels a bit, well, odd, because I dont recall his existence in the 1st novel, and his presence in the Odd Thomas Universe feels rather forced. On the flip side, various established characters from the 1st novel get shoe-horned into the final act of Forever Odd, while others get major roles in the opening but then dissappear for the rest of the story.

I wanted to know more about Odd's nemesis in this story, and more about Odd himself, but I feel I learned nothing new about him by the end of the book.

All that said, the narrative is typically snappy and well paced by Koontz, and the characters very likable. I had hoped for a bit more explanation of Odd Thomas and some discovery of the reasons behind his supernatural skills, as well as a bit more of the Bodachs - which were sadly absent from this tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forever Odd, 10 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Koontz's novel "Odd Thomas" was clearly a bigger hit than anticipated, because his publishers have urged him to continue the story of the twenty-something fry cook who sees dead people. The result is "Forever Odd", which sees Odd left deflated and dispirited (not literally - he still communicates with ghosts) after the soul-shattering conclusion to his previous misadventure. Now that his desert town of Pico Mundo has returned to its state of relative calm, Odd wonders if he'll have time to rest and repair himself. Unfortunately, fate has something else in store for him. A young and very twisted lady has taken interest in the man with the unwanted gift, and has abducted a young and vulnerable friend of Odd's in order to get his attention.

Through his character, Koontz made it clear in the first novel that he intended to keep the tone light and the story swift-paced. He kept his promise for "Odd Thomas", and has done the same for the sequel. Every page in this novel feels relevant and un-belaboured, making this every bit the page-turner that the cover says.

The light tone occasionally feels forced, however, with Odd spinning out weak jokes and sometimes excruciatingly unfunny extended similes. Odd's young friend Danny, who Odd claims has a rapier wit and unparalleled sense of self-deprecating humour, is even worse, making the reader wish that Koontz just hadn't bothered.

Aside from that, the story is solid and still often amusing, and very occasionally emotional and chilling when intended. The conclusion and its admittedly minor revelation about the villains of the piece manages to shed a whole new layer to the narrative the reader has just finished, making up for minor niggles with a suitably uneasy conclusion.

The third and fourth books are already out as I write this, and I'll definitely be getting the next in the series at least; it looks like the overall story is strengthening significantly with each instalment.

6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, especially after a cracking start., 22 May 2009
By 
Mr. Jody Shelley "J Shelley" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After finishing Odd Thomas, I was really looking forward to cracking open the pages to Forever Odd - the second instalment of Koontz' Odd Thomas books. If you've read Odd Thomas, then you're probably looking into buying this second book, and firstly, let me say, that you should go and buy it - especially if you loved the first one. However,(and here are my negative points) the book takes a completely different turn to the first.

Odd spends little to no time in Pico Mundo, instead getting dragged out into the desert to crack on with a new mystery; ok, great, a change of scenery is always good. But, for me, it just didn't work and I didn't enjoy the book as much as the first. I felt it was a little 'too over the top' compared to the first, where the storyline, whilst being 'out there' ran linearly and just worked. I don't think this was necessarily a bad storyline, but I did not enjoy it nearly as much as the first book. However, that being said, once you get back into the world of Odd, you start to pick up on the little quips and the bursts of wisdom and you once again feel the connection; towards the end, you do get a real insight into Odd, and it does open him up a great deal, which is good, and is also the highlight of this rather disappointing book.

Like I said - if your a fan of Odd, buy this book so you can continue reading the series, because the third book (after this) is a lot better, and rivals the first.

3 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forever Odd (Odd Thomas 2)
Forever Odd (Odd Thomas 2) by Dean Koontz (Paperback - 3 Jan 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews