Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2014
Not only is this a fascinating story of a prisoners escape and survival. It also describes how he met his wife to be.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
A touching story of life as a solider in Italy trying to escape out of the mountains to get back to Blighty.
The love aspect of the story was rather swept away under the carpet for me, as it was not really a significant part of the book.
The book was selected by my local book club, so would not be my natural choice as a subject, but pleased I read it, but would not go back to read more of his memoirs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I love his style of writing and read finished the book and wanted to read another one of his books
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
A fascinating war story without the usual suspense of being in Germany and trying to escape. His description of the mountainous parts of Italy far from other inhabitants living very much hand to mouth and describing the friendliness of the local Italians who helped him to survive made the book interesting and hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Good Newby book on wartime Italy as an (ex) prisoner of war trying to evade capture and really nice descriptions of the mountains and local live in an occupied country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
My favourite book by Eric is about the last grain race and his adventures under sail. This is an equal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Newby finds love and courage on the run in war-torn Italy. As good as any WWII fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Superb, gripping story, wonderfully told. Can't recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
great book, in great condition and arrived in 2 days, what's not to like?????
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Book in good condition and arrived on time. Happy with purchase, thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)