Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for school
Bought this for my daughter who is in Year 7. It is easy to use, clear, a nice size and I would think will be comprehensive enough to last her for at least the next 2 or 3 years, perhaps longer.
Published 18 months ago by Catherine

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't find anything!
I was very disappointed with this. Took it to France twice, but it is bulky and I just find it so difficult to find words that I shan't be using it again.
Published 6 months ago by Sue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for school, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
Bought this for my daughter who is in Year 7. It is easy to use, clear, a nice size and I would think will be comprehensive enough to last her for at least the next 2 or 3 years, perhaps longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great size dictionary for school bag, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
Would recommend buying this as it's perfect for kids school bags. It measures approx 6"x4" and is just under 1.5" thick, so is not too heavy and probably easier to use than the very small ones you get. It has French - English ,English - French and also has verb tables .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely clear, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
Really clear and gives the use of each word in different circumstances along with examples. Coloured font also helps with understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy for French learners, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
This book was very useful and at the back it shows how the word changes depending on the tense and it arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
A very good dictionary for secondary school and easy to use. Has French to English one side and vice versa on the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and concise, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Peter Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
This is a very good package for a small schoolbag dictionary. It's larger than the pocket versions, but smaller than a paperback novel. It is excellent for what it is.

It was my daughter's first choice for school (starting GCSE) as she wanted something compact with comprehensive verb tables (she tells me they can take a dictionary into the exam). It looks well set out and is very clear.

Obviously you don't get extensive descriptions of usage in a dictionary this size. As a former language student myself, I would encourage the habit of checking in a larger dictionary for contextual meanings as simple translations can be so far off the mark. This also exposes you to a lot of real-world turns of phrase. I happen to have my old full size Collins-Robert for this.

Nor do you get a grammar. I think for GCSE you can pretty much follow whatever text book is being used, but by A-level you'll be creating more varied written language and you'd want something with the basics set-out whether that's a separate reference or a larger bookshelf dictionary and grammar combined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars French/English Dictionary, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
Bought this for my grandson as he is now doing French at school. A little on the heavy side to carry in a school bag but great for home use. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Secondary School, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
My son recently started secondary school and this was perfect for him to help with homework. French-English and English-French :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
My daughter loves learning french at school.

She wanted a dictionary of her own rather than use the school ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not bad at all, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) (Paperback)
Small but mighty, explains all the necessary grammar, my son uses it all the time, great size and value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School)
Collins French School Dictionary (Collins School) by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews