Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction To Spanish Grammar
This book is an excellent introduction to Spanish Grammar. It's aimed at elementary to intermediate level. So whether you're studying Spanish at secondry school or taking an evening course this will be ideal.

The book is full of clearly laid out examples of Spanish and English sentences that are translated - this is great for learning. It also has plenty of...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by J. Lock

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version has serious difficulties
I am generally a fan of Collins language books having found the "Gem Spanish Verb Tables and Grammar" an invaluable companion over many years (still got the old plastic covered version!). I bought the Kindle edition of "Collins Easy Learning Spanish Grammar" because I thought it would be good to have the portability that the Kindle offers while travelling...
Published on 1 Oct 2011 by Auricle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction To Spanish Grammar, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to Spanish Grammar. It's aimed at elementary to intermediate level. So whether you're studying Spanish at secondry school or taking an evening course this will be ideal.

The book is full of clearly laid out examples of Spanish and English sentences that are translated - this is great for learning. It also has plenty of examples of where not to translate directly from English to Spanish which is very common when learning a second language.

Whether you are planning to use your Spanish in Spain or Latin America is not important as the grammar is the same - it's just the vocabulary that is sometimes different - just like US and British English.

I've been in Spain since 2004 and have an advanced level and I still sometimes find myself dipping into the book.

It's definitely worth having a look at other books in the series - they are first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version has serious difficulties, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) (Paperback)
I am generally a fan of Collins language books having found the "Gem Spanish Verb Tables and Grammar" an invaluable companion over many years (still got the old plastic covered version!). I bought the Kindle edition of "Collins Easy Learning Spanish Grammar" because I thought it would be good to have the portability that the Kindle offers while travelling.

Although the content is good as I expected, there are serious limitations in one's ability to search the text, particularly the verb tables. The Contents link for the verb tables simply takes you to the first example, not to the verb list which comes at the end. When you've located the list, there are no clickable links for the individual verbs or by initial letters, so the only way to find the one you want is either to page through the list, worse than useless since there are so many (over 1200), or search the whole text for the verb. The latter method is also very slow since it brings up every appearance of the verb in the book. Once located, viewing the conjugations is a bit of pain because the table extends beyond the edges of the screen, so you have to pan or switch to landscape view.

To cap it all if I use "Go to" to find the end of the book where the tables are to be found, my Kindle always locks up, it also does so randomly at other locations in the content too!

It's no good just converting books like this to an e text like you would a novel. Just a little more care and thought in formatting and designing navigational links would have made this a great reference for use with a Kindle, as it is the verb tables are virtually useless; didn't anyone road test it before releasing it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streamlined learning, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Robert (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) (Paperback)
I like this book! It's pocket sized, so is easy to carry around and study anywhere, and is reasonably priced.
It's perfect if you wish to do a rapid revision of Spanish Grammar without having to re-learn all of the grammatical terms; these are, however, also explained in a simplified form.
The Collins people have done a fair thing, to my way of thinking, in that they have added the 83 conjugated verb section at the back of the book, so you only need to purchase the Spanish Verb book of 120 verbs if you require a more comprehensive verb list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unusable, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useless due to format on my kindle. Cannot see entire pages so only half words on most pages. Does not search accurately for verbs required. Awful, awful format. Really disappointed and wish i'd held on for a hardcopy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We use all the time, 5 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) (Paperback)
We have an earlier version of this book which we use all the time in Spain. We wanted a copy for our UK home. This version is a great improvement and it's cheap too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) (Paperback)
could not fault the serviice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy learning Spanish Grammar, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wish I'd found this book years ago, too many American-Spanish books out there which make learning Spanish confusing. I'll definitely stick with Collins from now on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beginner Spainish, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) (Paperback)
nicely set out and clearly written. As a basic beginner I am finding it very helpful and have it by my side during all my classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference work, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well explained and easy to dip into. I really enjoy coming back to it over and over again to help with basic grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) (Paperback)
So many examples given - what a help this is. I'd recommend any beginner learner to buy this book - I think you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish)
Easy Learning Spanish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Spanish) by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
£5.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews