Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know
Good practical book for DIY, plenty of information and pictures/diagrams,bought this 2010 edition to replace my 2006 edition but some of the photos had not been updated to comply with 17th edition electrical regulations i.e photo of consumer unit. Does give details of new building control regulations.
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by Taz002

versus
97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complaint
What a disappointment!
What a brilliant book the Collins Complete DIY is, good drawings, instructions the whole works.
Hoping that the Collins Wiring Guide would take a more
specialist view of wiring I ordered that as well.
Big Disappointmnet. This is a perfect copy of the electrical section of the Complete Manual page for page diagram for diagram...
Published on 10 Jun 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complaint, 10 Jun 2005
By A Customer
What a disappointment!
What a brilliant book the Collins Complete DIY is, good drawings, instructions the whole works.
Hoping that the Collins Wiring Guide would take a more
specialist view of wiring I ordered that as well.
Big Disappointmnet. This is a perfect copy of the electrical section of the Complete Manual page for page diagram for diagram... what a cheat!
Moreover when you try to point this out to Amazon there is no way to contact them...and then they do not pay postage either way when you return the book!
What a pity such shoddy sales techniques diminishes the excellent Complete Manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


137 of 147 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated!, 22 Mar 2004
I found this book very outdated, does not show any up to date consumer units or fuse boards. I didn't find the book at all helpfull. Well nothing i didn't already know really.
Wouldn't recommend it to anyone putting any new installations in or upgrading any. I felt let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the not so "complete" guide, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
I bought three books. All pretty basic, but all I'm doing is a spot of domestic wiring. This book is pretty good but doesn't come close to the Which? Book of wiring and lighting; unfortunately that was published in 2000 so is out of date. BUT much is still relevant you just need to be very careful with it.
I also bought the "do it home wiring" which frankly is a waste of money.

So Between them most things are covered. The main drawback are consumer units. There was a lot of change in the 17ed regarding these and this is not dealt with in any depth in the Collins book and the material in the Which? book is out of date.

As this is pretty fundamental the Collins book only gets three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
Good practical book for DIY, plenty of information and pictures/diagrams,bought this 2010 edition to replace my 2006 edition but some of the photos had not been updated to comply with 17th edition electrical regulations i.e photo of consumer unit. Does give details of new building control regulations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Basic, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
For the beginner, very basic, too basic for me, suit someone with no knowledge of electrics or how things work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money Well Spent, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
This book is well written and easy to follow instructions that makes jobs a dream to do, This item also arrived within a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of info, 9 Nov 2013
By 
D. Sedman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
Well a book is a book, this one helps the ideals with a bit more practical help, in doing those basics parts of electrics that can be done, and save monies on all sort of jobs, with is well written book and the internet you can get those little jobs done, always be carefully with electrics, turn the mains off before starting,
Just ready ,take in, the the basics,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, but redundant if you buy the full DIY book from collins, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
I bought this as well as the full DIY book from Collins and then realised this book is just a reprint of the electrics section of the bigger book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you can learn a lot from this book, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
This is a really helpful book.It is very easy to understand, I would recommend this book to anybody .its excellent and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting (Paperback)
This book would be very misleading for students and the general public some of the regulations especially pertaining to the building regulations is some 5 years out of date and could lead to mistakes being made that could result in court actions against the offenders. For instance the most recent change to Part P of the building regulations was made in April 2013. On the plus side it has very good pictorials
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting
Collins Complete Wiring and Lighting by David Day (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
7.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews