Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


150 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C'est formidable, et aussi un peu extraordinaire...!
I have been quite a collector of French language courses over the years, and I would place this product at the top. This is an extremely approachable course, and constructed to make it easy to learn the fundamentals of French. Learning is made simple, but indeed never simplistic. The discs are broken down into small lessons, none over 7 or 8 minutes long, some much...
Published on 8 Nov 2010 by Sandford

versus
50 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure...
I had great hopes for this course after reading a lot of the other reviews about it as I too had tried the Michel Thomas discs previously. I haven't got very far with this, in fact only as far as the 2nd disc, so you might think it unfair to write a review. The first disc is very informative and to me, the uniniated, an eye opener as to how many French words there are in...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Snappysnares


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

150 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C'est formidable, et aussi un peu extraordinaire...!, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Sandford "Sandy" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been quite a collector of French language courses over the years, and I would place this product at the top. This is an extremely approachable course, and constructed to make it easy to learn the fundamentals of French. Learning is made simple, but indeed never simplistic. The discs are broken down into small lessons, none over 7 or 8 minutes long, some much shorter. Very easy to pick up and put down, with never a sense of losing your place in the scheme of learning. The clever, intuitive style of the course, and the empathic style of speech from the author, with his unique strategies for learning, and constant revision, is quite a delight.

Having just completed the final 2 revision CD's, I was impressed that it just seemed natural for me, and the answers came out correctly and spontaneously. I am impressed by how quickly the course enables the student to talk in quite long sentences. Paul Noble certainly has the unique knack of explaining points of grammar which are so different from any other method I have encountered. This chap knows how to communicate.

100% recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful revision..., 5 May 2011
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Having done night school in conversational french years ago (and promptly forgotten most of it), it was good to use Noble's CDs to re-learn stuff. The use of a native french speaker to enunciate stuff is probably one of its strengths as it certainly does help familiarize the learner with the sounds as it should be. Simple and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Language Tool, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Paul Noble is brilliant in helping you develop an understanding on the basics of the French Language. The Paul Noble method is easy to follow and listen to and is ideal to help start and develop your language skills. This course has provided me with a great foundation to further pursue and continue my interest in the language. Highly recommended for those starting out and interested in learning the French language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Course by a Brilliant Teacher, 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
I passed GCSE French about 30 years ago, but then visited France and found out I couldn't speak the language, but wanted to learn.

For years I have expanded my collection of traditional bookwork-based, audio-supplemented French courses, such as Hugo, Accelerated Learning and Linguaphone. I have tried them all, but always given up in frustration after a short time. I tried Michel Thomas as well, but hated his thick accent, so quickly gave up on that too.

This course is the first home study French course I have ever finished. That fact alone speaks for itself.

Paul Noble is a brilliant teacher who has created a brilliant course. He teaches the language you need for a holiday or short stay. Although he avoids using complicated linguistic terminology, his course is in fact highly grammar-based, including past and future tenses, and pronouns such as le la les lui and leur, so you are given the essential foundations you need to build upwards from. He asks questions in English, leaves a generous pause for you to answer, and then his assistant who is a native female French teacher gives the answer so that you can check what you said and learn the correct pronunciation.

You aren't fluent at the end of the course, but know enough to get by as a visitor.

But the best thing about this course for me has been that it has at last opened a door, which up until now has remained shut fast, even though I have been banging my head against it for nearly three decades.

The penny has finally dropped with me that what matters is being able to understand spoken French, and say spoken French, rather than do bookwork French of the kind we did in school.

I have followed up Paul Noble's course with other 100% audio courses, such as Reader's Digest At Home with French and Linguaphone All Talk French.

And after all these years I have finally managed to get off the ground and fly.

Thank you Mr Noble and Collins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and easy way to learn to speak French, 24 Oct 2010
By 
Tim from Surrey (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
After having learned French at school, I was left knowing a lot of words, but being unable to use them in a sentence. Paul Noble's style is so different. He introduces words and concepts at a good pace, but gives tips on how to use them, when to use them, and how to make a sentence from the words. By the end of the second CD, he has introduced and reintroduced many of the words, and as he discusses, words are forgotten, that's fine, because he intends to continue to bring them into normal every day language.

And that's where the power of this entire package lies. It's everyday language, that is being developed. Paul will introduce a word or phrase, and then time is given to repeat it, but in French. An example of this, is "I would like to reserve a room for two people, for two nights with breakfast". It's also brilliant to have a native speaker involved to give the answer, and to continually be reminded how to pronounce words properly. One tip I'd suggest is that providing the French sentence, it's always useful to sometimes repeat it along with the French speaker. It's useful because you can detect quite easily when you've mispronounced a word or used the wrong word (such as la when it should be le).

As you begin to work through the package, Paul suggests that if you're finding it a little tough, just go back and replay that section of the CD. Now, I have done this a few times, and it's rather enjoyable being able to retrace some of the work that you've covered.

I use these CD when I'm driving to and from work, so for about 15 minutes twice a day, I'm working through several of the sections of the CD. If the traffic is a little heavy, I'll just repeat the track. But it is quite astonishing just how easy the words, sentence structures and to an extent the pronunciation just simply sinks in. It doesn't take much concentration to follow Paul's instructions, and before long, the sentences are emerging without any problems.

The package is good, because each CD is broken into very manageable chunks of language. Therefore, you can go slowly, or speed up, and generally work at your own pace. I'm always amazed when I reach the end of a CD, and think that didn't take long, but how much I've learned! Because of the style of repetition and using it in a conversational way, words, and how to use them, tend to stay, so when Paul says a sentence in English, I don't need to think about it, translate it, and then try and put the words into a coherent sentence. It just comes out automatically - so that must mean I'm already thinking in French!

An excellent package. Well worth having. I'd recommend it heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Paul Noble AND Michel Thomas, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Bravo! Paul Noble on producing such a useful tool for learning French. I have just listened to his demo, and it is enough for me to know that he is adopting the most effective approach for any English-speaker wishing to learn French.

As a teacher myself, I too have been using such a comparative approach for nigh on two decades. And like Michel Thomas and Paul Noble, I have found that starting with the similarities is the fastest and simplest route between the 2 languages. I read in one of these reviews that Mr. Noble is being accused of 'ripping off' Michel Thomas. In defence of Mr. Noble, I cite my own experience: that through a root-and-branch comparison of the two languages, I arrived at the same conclusions as both men before either of them ever published their methods. And I'm sure I'm not alone.

The cornerstones of the comparative approach are universal observations and as such, not copyrightable. Its core concepts are * English is (broadly speaking) 'half French and half German'. * The vocabulary of English 70-80% of French origin (one can debate this figure, but the principle is solid), so with the right guidance, all English-speakers can generate 1000s of French words in very little time. *The structure of French is surprisingly comparable and parallel to that of English; consequently, the way you build and `think' a French sentence is very often the same as the way you build/think its English equivalent.
Even the micro-observations that Noble makes about structure and vocabulary eg(1): -ion words are the same in both languages, eg(2): -ic/-ical English words become -ique in French, eg(3): `I have progressed' and `I progressed' are the same = j'ai progressé are bread-and-butter tools of the comparative approach and as such, are in no way attributable to or protectable by one person.

So I say kudos to both Paul Noble and Michel Thomas. They are driving a (albeit too slow) revolution about how we learn European languages. They break with the old-school thinking that has paralysed us for decades with its insistence on grammatical differences and exceptions and irregularities. Instead, they demonstrate that French (like Spanish, Italian, German,...) is not so `foreign', and that all English-speakers have an latent potential to speak these languages in a way that is intuitive, painless and hugely motivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Just what we want! Slowly going throught it and it seems to be working!!! Thanks!!! Easy to catch on to and simple to learn. Recommend it to anyone who is trying to learn French!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
This is excellent for the many who already have school French ... I found it easy and very helpful ... I hope there will be an intermediate version soon ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box!, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Like many people in this country, I tried and failed to gain a competency in French as a young person, despite 5 years of compulsory "learning" in the subject. I marvel at how badly we were taught languages in schools in the 1970s and early 1980s! As a result I have always felt an utter failure as a linguist. I have tried various self-learning programmes over the years, but have invariably given up before the end of the course. Then I discovered the Paul Noble method. I am very impressed. Paul explains and reinforces the fundamentals of the language in a simple and straightforward way without patronising his audience. I am on disc 7 at the moment and feel extremely motivated to complete all 12. I really do feel empowered! The method builds confidence incrementally and enables the student to begin constructing phrases and sentences independently from virtually the beginning of the course. And it does feel almost effortless! My question is, where do I look to build on this understanding once I have finished the course? Are there follow-on courses available or likely to be in the near future? I do hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Feb 2013
This review is from: Learn French with Paul Noble (Audio CD)
Excellent course, brilliantly put across. Paul Noble has got an unusual and very effective way of teaching French. I studied French at school for five years, many years ago and it would have helped enormously at the time if the same style had been engaged. The tricks he uses to help you are invaluable and very clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learn French with Paul Noble
Learn French with Paul Noble by Paul Noble (Audio CD - 13 Sep 2012)
49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews