Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
This is an excellent book.

I have had a lot of Collins natural history books over the years and they are a boon to the amateur naturalist.

This would be a great gift for gardeners and particularly for youngsters who are showing an interest in natural history.

Don't expect to identify everything with this book but it will point you in the...
Published on 10 Sep 2010 by daveleics

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars handy but perhaps not handy enough.
It does say its a guide to every COMMON species. Many butterflies and moths. Dont think there are enough of other species.
Published on 17 July 2012 by shopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book.

I have had a lot of Collins natural history books over the years and they are a boon to the amateur naturalist.

This would be a great gift for gardeners and particularly for youngsters who are showing an interest in natural history.

Don't expect to identify everything with this book but it will point you in the right direction as to what it is.

May also be a nice book to keep in the car.

Hard to get a better book than this.

Regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best all over guide, 9 July 2012
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I have a number of natural history guidebooks but I bought this cheap at a NT sale and am very impressed. Its sometimes difficult to find what you're trying to identify in individual guidebooks unless you have an idea what something is already so this general guide is a good start and it saves carrying lots of books round. I favour this over my Collins british wildlife photoguide as the photographs are clearer and its information is better laid out. Infact the photos are so beautifully clear and the sections of information such as the life cycle of the poplar hawk moth and how to improve your garden for different wildlife types that its enjoyable to just sit and flick through it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complete guide to British Garden Wildlife, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Given as a gift to first time garden owner They were really pleased and loved all the photos and can now tell one bird from another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you know what lives in your garden?, 16 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I do as much as I can to attract wildlife into my north London garden and my allotment too. I am fine recognising most birds and butterflies, and have plenty of frogs, toads and newts, but wanted to know more about the bugs, beetles and flying insects that abound. This book is a joy. There is clear and interesting text about what can be done to improve the garden for wildlife and wonderful photos which make identification a doddle.
An essential book for any wildlife gardener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was able to identify two pretty little 'weeds' that grow in my garden, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Within 5 minutes of opening this book, I was able to identify two pretty little 'weeds' that grow in my garden, after many unsuccessful attempts via web searches. It has enabled me to quickly identify the juveniles of several bird species by providing photos and descriptions that are absent from the RSPB web site. The photos are lovely, and informative (see especially the photos of small mammal skulls). A very worthwhile purchase that will continue to be used and enjoyed over the years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly comprehensive book useful for all who have a garden of any size, 12 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
A truly comprehensive book useful for all who have a garden of any size, whether a tiny patch or medium-size like mine. The hundreds of stunningly clear, bright photos are mostly taken by the author and by 30 other talented photographers. I shall certainly be more aware of the plethora of wildlife right there in my own surroundings. This book was mentioned in the interesting illustrated website entitled Wild Yorkshire by Richard Bell who also writes for the monthly Dalesman magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book - bought as gift for someone and then bought myself!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
If you love the outdoors and want to know more and identify what you see, this book is a must. The photos are great and it covers birds, insects, flowers, trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Garden wildlife, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. I bought this as a present for a family member and she absolutely loves it.
Delivered on time and packaged well
10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good book, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This book had everything that I needed and it was at an incredibly good price. The best book I have bought this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellemt, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Garden Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
This book has been used by my grandsons to help them with their lessons at school. It is very edicational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews