Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Candid Kamara
When you have had as colourful a career as Chris Kamara has had it is not surprising that his autobiography turns out to be an entertaining read. It is written in the same bubbly style as what has now made him a cult figure as Sky TV's roving football reporter but we learn from this book that he wasn't always quite so popular.

For example, when he first started...
Published on 6 Jun 2010 by Bantam Dave

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing.
I feel that the two parts of this book are not in the right order. The book opens with an account of his later years as part of the Sky Sports team. Most of these anecdotes are well known and to spend half the book on them seemed like overkill. I was much more interested in the second half of the book detailing his playing career and (brief) managerial career. I felt...
Published 11 months ago by Mark Hamill


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK OF TWO HALVES, 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. It is split into two sections-halves. The first section deals with his time on Soccer Saturday, whose format is one of the weirdest, but proves to be one of the most popular football and required for any football fan who cannot find their way to watch their team. Chris Kamara plays an important part in the programme, and his contributions make it the success it is. He relates various incidents and characters that he has made and met .It is amusing and witty, and Chris writes with honesty and humour. The second part deals with his life in a piecemeal manner which works, it is not a blow by blow account of his life from Park End, Middlesbrough to Sky television with selective archives from these years. It all works well and produces a very readable and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's just like the guy on TV !, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Paperback)
A compulsive and funny read, from a normal down to earth type of guy. I couldn't put it down. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Kindle Edition)
Good insight into the world of football and typical Kammy, comes over just the same as he's foes on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars light read, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Kindle Edition)
A nice gentle light hearted read through the life of Chris Kamara. It is obvious Chris was hurt by the pointless ignorant racist comments and actions but in general his sense of humour shows throughout the book. He was the lad made good and why should his success be spoilt by mindless idiots. I was not the biggest fan of his "talent" but his attitude to life his near enough spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great footy read, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Paperback)
I saw Chris play for Brentford and Swindon. As I Brentford supporter I thought he was a thug for Swindon and a hero for the Bees. This book explains why I came to those conclusions. With a little insight into the workings of football, this is real good read. Kept me chuckling all the time. Don't let this one slip past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I would read another, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable read, and interesting to read how he completely reinvented himself from his sometimes difficult childhood, through tough player and manager, to the affable and often funny football commentator. He could write another and I would go and buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read it in 2 days couldn't put it down, 19 Aug 2013
By 
E. R. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Paperback)
I loved this book, and couldn't put it down and completed reading it in two days. I would have liked though to have read more about his family, I know this is private but this book is a sort of biography so there should have been more of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bit of a rip off......, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Paperback)
After recently buying this book I went back on the amazon website to see of I could get a small extract of the book. Low and behold there was......... however it appears that you can read the whole book online. Now I understand that it is not very convenient to read it from amazon but for the people who have paid for the book I feel this is unfair. But no disrespect to Chris this is well worth a read just a shame that amazon have taken the shine off a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honorary 'Chuckle Brother', 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Paperback)
Because I'm of a certain age and can remember Mr Kamara as a player and manager, his honesty and comedy as both came through in this book and clearly a successful career in the TV punditory game hasn't gone amiss either !
I enjoyed the reading to the extent that I followed it up by purchasing the obligitory t-shirt "UNBELIEVABLE JEFF" !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it..hilarious, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Unbelievable (Kindle Edition)
I took this kindle on a cruise and laughed for hours, really entertaining with an insite to lots of interesting facts both about his presenting and as a player exellent read the banter with Jeff Stelling is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Unbelievable
Mr Unbelievable by Chris Kamara (Paperback - 3 Mar 2011)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews