Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to review
This is one of the easiest books I've had to review in a while:

If you've loved the previous 5 Logan McRae books you'll love this because its very much up to standard.
If you've hated the previous 5 Logan McRae books you'll hate this because .......... its very much up to standard.

For the rest of us who don't have really strong emotions one way...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Peter Symonds

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad!
First of all I'd like to declare myself as someone that has read all the books in the logan macrae series. And also would like to say that the last review giving this book a one star review is just unfair, "unrealistic characters saying unrealistic things in an unrealistic setting", hmmmmmm, now unrealistic characters might be close to the mark but as a resident of...
Published on 4 May 2010 by C. West


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to review, 10 May 2010
This review is from: Dark Blood (Hardcover)
This is one of the easiest books I've had to review in a while:

If you've loved the previous 5 Logan McRae books you'll love this because its very much up to standard.
If you've hated the previous 5 Logan McRae books you'll hate this because .......... its very much up to standard.

For the rest of us who don't have really strong emotions one way or the other you'll probably find it an entertaining enough read. Crime fiction is a very broad genre and covers everything from the crime literature of Ian Rankin & John Harvey through to the darker humour of people like Christopher Brookmyre and Colin Bateman to the serial killer by numbers of americans like Patterson and Deaver. All very, very different types of novel. MacBride writes his own thing. He's not up to the standard of the Rebus novels so if you want another Ian Rankin you'll be disappointed with this. However if you like a fast moving less heavy weight crime novel with a vein of twisted dark humour this will probably tick the boxes.

I was reasonably impressed with 'Dark Blood'... it was slower to get started than some of the previous books and the various crimes seemed at first unlinked but it came together fairly convincingly at the end. The supporting characters, especially the truly foul DI Steel are rather overblown and rather stereotypical but this makes for some cheap laughs and adds some humour thats lacking in many crime novels. DS McRae himself is a believable and likeable character who showing some good character development. The pressure of his job especially the constant criticism in both his personal and professional life is leading to a fairly serious drink problem which in turn is making his life far harder. The situation he's constantly in of three superiors telling him to do three different things which inevitably means two of them will want his head on a plate the next morning is one I can relate too and you genuinely feel sorry for the poor guy being stuck between a rock (the monsterous DI Steel) and a hardplace (the idiot DI Beattie)

For some reason MacBride gets a lot of critism for being 'unrealistic'. The easy rebuke to that is 'its fiction'. If you want realism read true crime books. Even then its unfair because there's more realism in these books than many others. When Big Hamish Moffat sends the enforcers round to McRae's house McRae is damn scared. Compared to Rebus's relationship with Big Ger Cafferty its more plausible. Likewise McRae's drinking and attitude problems lead to an almost weekly meeting with professional standards and he's on the point of losing his job several times in this book. Rebus gets away with far too much for far too long with almost no censure. 'Dark Blood' is forensically quite accurate and there are some details in it that could only have come from a pathologist. Although fairly graphic in places its not nearly as sadistically violent as some of the books Val McDiarmid or Mo Hayder have written.

All in all I enjoyed 'Dark Blood' and was glad I bought it.

I'll sign off with one of my favourite sermons: most of the criticism this book has picked up is because of the policies of the major publishers not the authors themselves. They're signing less and less new talent and giving popular authors multi book contracts that force them to turn out a new work every 12 months. As a result quality is slipping and great characters are being written into soap operas in print. If JRR Tolkien tried getting the Lord of the Rings published in 2010 most publishers wouldn't want to know and any that did print his works would expect a new episode of Bilbo Baggins adventures every 12 months. This policy is killing literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, but hilariously insightful to jobs in the public sector., 20 Aug 2011
By 
S. Hartley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6) (Paperback)
This was my first Macbride, and like many other reviewers was initially put off by the foul language and attitude of DI Steel. However I stuck with it and when I realised I could laugh at her and the other characters I was riveted. The plot held together well and the scene where DI Beattie shows his 'powerpoint skills' had me laughing out loud; and I re read it three times! Anyone who works in an 'institution' will recognise the characters and absurdities that Macbride brings to life so well. I look forward to reading the rest of the books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad!, 4 May 2010
By 
C. West (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Blood (Hardcover)
First of all I'd like to declare myself as someone that has read all the books in the logan macrae series. And also would like to say that the last review giving this book a one star review is just unfair, "unrealistic characters saying unrealistic things in an unrealistic setting", hmmmmmm, now unrealistic characters might be close to the mark but as a resident of aberdeen myself Stuart always stays fairly true to his location. Nice to see some local news stories making it into the book as well with Trumpy's golf course development featured. However, I must say I am starting to get tired of Stuart Macbrides preoccupation with describing the gruesome, just plain manky! That said if you're a fan of other macrae novels you'll no doubt read it cover to cover and enjoy the journey! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong editor might help, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Alex (Sandhurst, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
*Review of unabridged audio version read by the author*

This is Stuart MacBride's sixth book in the Logan McRae series and they are not for the squeamish. To call them gruesome is to put it mildly. In fact I thought that in the fourth of the series, Flesh House, he overstepped the mark of what most would consider crime fiction and strayed into horror territory, and I was sorry I had read it. I had all but decided not to read any more, until the next in the series, Blind Eye, came out and was available in unabridged audio format read by the author himself. I was intrigued and bought it. Thankfully he, (or maybe his publisher?), seemed to have realised that he had gone too far in Flesh House, and the violence had been toned down. When you consider that, as the title hints, it involved people having their eyes gouged and burned out, you will get some idea of how hard edged the series can be. With Dark Blood the gruesome has been toned down another notch. However the author seems to take an almost schoolboy delight in throwing in as many bodily function references, with vomiting the current favourite, as he can, much to the detriment of some good plotting and great characters.

MacBride does a very good job of most of the accents with which his characters speak, but I may be just a bit cynical in suspecting that he is giving characters accents which he can do. If so he might want to seek a second opinion on his 'Essex Girl'.

Overall an enjoyable 'listen' and good to see McRae at last winning one fight after so many second prizes, albeit injuring himself, AGAIN, in the process. If only someone in the editorial team could make the author excise the 'yeuch' factor. The books may be reduced by 50 to 100 pages but would be much improved for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Past is Prologue, 7 May 2010
By 
Ted Feit (Long Beach, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Blood (Hardcover)
Stuart MacBride has used a true crime story as the basis for this novel, the sixth in the Logan McRae series. It serves as the main case among the Detective Sergeant's work overload, exacerbating his moodiness, drinking and smoking, all of which is heightened, of course, by his interaction with DI Steele, one of the more interesting characters in the genre. On top of her continually riding Logan, he has to cope with another superior, incompetent DI Beattie.
The main plot involves Richard Knox, a man convicted of raping an elderly grandfather.

After serving his time, Knox decides to come to Aberdeen and occupy his late grandmother's home. He is brought to the Scottish city by DI Danby, who originally arrested him. The arrival of Knox sets off waves of protest and his house is burned down. He is whisked off to a "safe" house, from which he is sooon kidnapped. Logan, among others, has the task of "protecting" Knox, so it falls to him to find him and the reason for his abduction. At the same time, DI Danby disappears, doubling Logan's task.

The lengthy novel is awash in various subplots, keeping Logan busy virtually 24/7. It seems he has to stop a flood of counterfeit currency in Aberdeen, the murder of a confidential informant, and a couple of jewelry store robberies, among other side issues. All in a day's (or week's) work. Despite the book's length, it is fast reading, tautly plotted and engrossing. Logan, Steele and the other characters are all interesting, and the dialogue, as usual, sparkling.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow and boring., 6 Nov 2012
By 
Alpha (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6) (Paperback)
Not one of Stuart Mcbrides best.I normally find his books hard to put down.This one could not hold my attention and was very easy to put down and look for something more interesting.Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pitch black humour and thrills galore, 18 Mar 2011
By 
D. Moore (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6) (Paperback)
McRae is involved in the re-location of a nasty serial-rapist of elderly men who wants to come home to Aberdeen. And there aren't very many people in Aberdeen who are happy about that. But McRae's woes do not end there. There's some shady gangland activity going on, a man has disappeared and McRae is in trouble with his superiors (again). Doesn't sound like a barrel of laughs, does it? Well, trust me, with Stuart MacBride's warped one-liners and pitch black humour, it often is. If you like your humour twisted - as I do - you'll be laughing all the way to the bottom of the barrel. Gory, gruesome and generally not very nice (but in a good way).I really like Logan McRae, but my favourite character in this series has to be DI Steel. The woman's a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very dark blood, 7 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6) (Paperback)
There were times when I was wondering why I was still reading this - the literary equivalent of watching from behind the sofa - because it is pretty bleak at times. The humour and the characters keep you going, and Mcrae isn't just a cardboard cop-with-issues; his character develops, which is refreshing. Addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A let down, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6) (Paperback)
Whilst a fan of Macbride and a reader of all his previous Logan McCrae work, I found this book a let-down........largely due to a weak story line and an overblown emphasis on the foul and abusive dialogue offered by DI Steel......thw whole thing was neither here nor there and I look forward to much better fayre in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book yet, 30 April 2010
By 
M. W. Withnall (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Blood (Hardcover)
I have just completed this book I bought it yesterday as soon as it was released, and in my opinion it is his best book yet. I think that DI Steel is one of the best creations in modern day crime fiction, the parts of the book to feature her character had some real laugh out loud moments.
I think that Stuart Mac Bride is one of, if not the best crime writer working in this country at the moment, buy this book if you like dark crime shot through with black humour, but if you are squeamish there are some extremly stong sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6)
Dark Blood (Logan McRae, Book 6) by Stuart MacBride (Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews