Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESV Bible
Having seen a friend using an ESV Bible from Amazon, I purchased 4 copies through you. They came in a couple of days and I am delighted with them. The Bibles are elegant, thin, soft faux-leather covered, gilt-edged, and the print is extremely readable. All this for just a fraction of their true value. Well done, Amazon!
Published on 30 April 2011 by G. E. Hunt

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Previous ESV text, get-what-you-pay for quality
Nice touch, not so good quality (the paper inner binding started to crack after two days of use...), but then this is a 'value' Bible :). The ESV translation is my personal favourite, though this is not based on the 2007, most recent ESV text, but on the previous one.
Published on 6 April 2011 by Calix Furus


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESV Bible, 30 April 2011
By 
G. E. Hunt (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
Having seen a friend using an ESV Bible from Amazon, I purchased 4 copies through you. They came in a couple of days and I am delighted with them. The Bibles are elegant, thin, soft faux-leather covered, gilt-edged, and the print is extremely readable. All this for just a fraction of their true value. Well done, Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not actually leather, but it is a decent Bible, 27 Feb 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
This is advertised as being leather, but I would confidently suggest that it is actually faux leather, and not a particularly luxuriant one at that. However, this is in no way a negative review, as this is the best release yet of the British version of the ESV text (admittedly there is not a lot of competition).

So, what we get here, at last, is a decent-sized font issue WITHOUT the distracting cross-references which appeared in Collins' first set of 'anglicized' ESVs, released several years ago.

The translation is good - basically it's the old RSV modernised from an evangelical perspective. It makes a good choice for close study, although, in truth, I still prefer the RSV, despite its age.

There is a release which is identical, save for having a slightly nicer (in my opinion) cover, described as 'Midnight Blue', but looking more like black: ISBN-10 0007360665. On both the inner-binding cracks rapidly.

It's a shame that Harper Collins do not do more to push the British text of the ESV. If you don't mind reading the US text then Crossway Books (and now others too) produce a plethora of better-bound releases.

To sum up. Good translation, passable binding, excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 29 Mar 2011
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
I don't know where to start! Got more than I expected, the cover is absolutely beautiful. English Standard Version translation is very easy to understand. Took a bit long to arrive but came in neat packaging and high quality.

I would recommend this Bible to anyone who needs a cheap but high quality Bible !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good version, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. D. L. Cox (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
Review for chestnut Collins ESV bible. (just in case amazon throw it in the wrong esv section.)

My bible reviews get to the point I will always state the weird facts that I always wish were available when buying bibles online.

Type size is very good. About the size of a paperback novel (not the newest ones which seem to have huge fonts.) About the size of the second smallest font size on the kindle. Completely readable. Compared to crossway's compact size (tiny) is much better and suited for longer periods of reading.
There is very little bleed through and the pages are not scarily white (for those of us with irlens the contrast is still a bit in your face but not as bad as som intense black on white)

Two colum format (which I've returned to. It's a bible thing-lets me know I'm reading something special)Also a plus if your a reader who can take in a line at a time.

Cover is more brown than red it's a warm brown very elegant but not as bright burgundy as my screen shows (yours may differ.)

Book is about the size of two dvd cases. Not compact but thinner than the compact ones and still a very transportabl and comfy size.

Cover smells like a carpet shop (that's a bonus lol)

Cover feels wonderful and looks really good quality (I'm actually surprised at how nice it is.)
Cover is stiff and not floppy so when flicking through pages you wouldn't hold the back cover but it still flicks through really well.
Gilt edges were not stuck together and they are subtle not super glowing.
As with every bible I ever buy, the first page was slightly creased.
No award or name page (not a problem for me but some may need to know.)
Basic concordance
No note pages
Margins are about 2mm at sides and 1 cm top and bottom. Very few places to sqeeze in writing but you can highlight or footnote with a tiny tipped pen. At this price highlighting and underlining seems permissable.
Collins claim it should last years of regular use.

No Ribbon!!!! At first this threw me but you know what? ribbons fray and crease the pages. I'll get to use a pretty marker.

Really excellent choice for a daily reading text only ESV bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Previous ESV text, get-what-you-pay for quality, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
Nice touch, not so good quality (the paper inner binding started to crack after two days of use...), but then this is a 'value' Bible :). The ESV translation is my personal favourite, though this is not based on the 2007, most recent ESV text, but on the previous one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it but the pages were too thin, 10 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
I loved the leather but I found the pages were too thin, you have to be quite delicate with it. My dad had recently bought himself a bible too so I ended up swapping with him. This was the bible he wanted initially so he loved it. I would be kept it if not for the thin pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
This is a lovely bible, I am really really happy with it :) the cover is amazing, pages are thin but that doesn't bother me! Thank you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well presented Bible, 27 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
This particular edition is well prepared and presented in a lovely binding.

As it is a gift to a friend, I was particularly pleased with the colour and the texture of the cover.

The words inside are good too!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
Really lovely looking Bible. Contains both the Old and the New Testament, which is good as I was a bit worried that it wouldn't. Gold surrounding the pages. Overall very happy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely quality, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Imitation Leather)
this is my very first bible,it is very beautifully presented with a lovely cover,nice crisp white pages and easy to read print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holy Bible: English Standard Version
Holy Bible: English Standard Version by Collins Anglicised ESV Bibles (Imitation Leather - 24 Jun 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews