Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would have been a 5 star review if properly titled
The addition of the words "The geology of" at the start of the title could have garnered this book a 5 star review. As previous reviewers have noted there is little for the naturalist in this book as flora and fauna barely get a mention but as a well produced book on the geology of Scotland this takes some beating. Excellent maps and diagrams combine with some super...
Published on 12 Sep 2012 by Big Jim

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a New Naturalist
This is the second new Naturalist volume written by Peter Friend (see Amazon reviews for Southern England: The Geology and Scenery of Lowland England. I would quote Mr. May from his review of Southern England "There is also the opportunity, I feel, for a future author to develop further the influence of geology beyond just basic physical landscape, to demonstrate how...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Mr. D. Barker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would have been a 5 star review if properly titled, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The addition of the words "The geology of" at the start of the title could have garnered this book a 5 star review. As previous reviewers have noted there is little for the naturalist in this book as flora and fauna barely get a mention but as a well produced book on the geology of Scotland this takes some beating. Excellent maps and diagrams combine with some super aerial photos to provide a book which is a real pleasure to browse through. To be fair the narrative is somewhat dry (further justifying the loss of the fifth star) so it is unlikely anyone will read this through in one sitting but if you are interested in how the underlying landscape of Scotland came to be formed and you'd like a "dipper into" or a reference if you are visiting a particular part of Scotland then this is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a New Naturalist, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. D. Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second new Naturalist volume written by Peter Friend (see Amazon reviews for Southern England: The Geology and Scenery of Lowland England. I would quote Mr. May from his review of Southern England "There is also the opportunity, I feel, for a future author to develop further the influence of geology beyond just basic physical landscape, to demonstrate how geology is also a key determinant of different types of habitat and ecosystem, and species distribution (biogeography)."
"Scotland" for me is a disappointing book, albeit it is well written and has excellent photographs and maps. The claim of the Editors of New Naturalist is "That the aim of this series is to interest the reader in the wildlife of Britain by recapturing the enquiring spirit of the old naturalist." There are more of their aims on page 2 of "Scotland". I therefore agree with Mr. May that there was indeed an opportunity in any later New Naturalist book (as it turned out by Peter Friend) to at least expand on the hard geology and include the subsequent "effect on the flora and fauna of the area". And I would suggest that Mr Friend has missed this opportunity. To support this I would refer to other books in the New Naturalist series e.g. Galloway and the Borders, Loch Lomondside and The Hebrides etc. which do attempt to marry up the flora and fauna with the geological landscape. "Scotland", however, is just a book about geology of Scotland. Perhaps the book should have been titled "The Geology of Scotland"; it covers very little about other aspects of the natural in Scotland. "Scotland" as a title in the New Naturalist series does imply a full account of the geology, landscape and the associated flora and fauna, and that is what it should have.
Reed Noss in an academic paper in 1996 claimed "The Naturalists Are Dying Off". He continues "Nothing will destroy the science and the mission of conservation biology faster than a generation or two of biologists raised on dead facts and technology and lacking direct personal experience with Nature.
Come on New Naturalist editors! where are the authors with the "enquiring spirit of the "old naturalists" N.W. Moore, D.A. Ratcliffe, K. Mellanby, B.N.K. Davis, M.D. Hooper and the like?! Or have all the naturalists died off already?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scotland, 17 Aug 2012
By 
S. Hemming (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scholarly, well produced and written but it doesn't cover much more than the geology of Scotland.
I agree with your reviewer who is concerned about the way in which the editors are dealing with their brief.
If I wasn't a New Naturalist collector (and reader), I should be surprised and disappointed that this book has the title 'Scotland'.
I suppose that, when the editors have a first class contributor, they need to give him his head, so I can't complain about the book, but I do complain about the title.
I did buy this from Amazon, as always, and I think that their discounts on New Naturalist books make an overpriced book affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marred by publishing error., 17 Dec 2014
Excellent and comprehensive reference work, probably better suited to dipping in and out of,unless you can take a lot in at once .Fig 227 on page 318 is actually Newtonmore looking South -West and not as stated.Very unusual error for this series.I can't speak for all the other illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Balancing review scoring, 1 Aug 2012
Please note that I agree absolutely with the very fair and detailed three star review above, but am so appalled by the five star rating clearly planted by the publisher (just read it!) that I am putting only one star to cancel out that planted review so the overall score is more accurate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Naturalist Series Volume 119, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The New Naturalist Library comprises an outstanding series of books relating to all aspects of Natural History. Volume 119, Scotland, the latest in the series, is yet another fine example of the quality of books produced. It deals with a wide range of topics in sufficient detail to be of value to the more serious student of natural history, whilst remaining eminently readable and informative for the general reader. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scotland (Collins New Naturalist Library, Book 119)
Scotland (Collins New Naturalist Library, Book 119) by Peter Friend (Paperback - 5 Jan 2012)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews