Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life in Small Things
This is a biography with a difference, in which the author takes an item that Jane Austen either owned, used or would have seen and uses it as a springboard to discuss aspects of her life. These range from an East Indian Shawl, which leads on to discussions of husband hunting in the Raj, the harsh realities of the Georgian marriage market and even the French Revolution;...
Published 14 months ago by S Riaz

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as real as all that
Paula Byrne's Jane Austen is as much a product of the imagination as all the other Jane Austens of biography. It must be so because we have - as Byrne candidly admits - so very little evidence about Austen's life. There never was very much. Austen was an almost entirely private person, and her devoted sister, already by the 1840's experiencing the over-enthusiasm of...
Published 5 months ago by C. Wake


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 7 Mar 2013
By 
JC "jubee" (tunbridge wells. england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
I have almost finished this book and am already feeling really sad that Paula didn't add another 10 'small things' to write a chapter on. I absolutely love the way that this book doesn't follow the usual path of born/childhood/adulthood/got ill and died. It was a wonderful idea for a book and totally brings Jane Austen to life.Lots of great illustrations too.Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of Jane Austen's novels and, having heard about this biography on a radio interview, was keen to read it. i was not disappointed. The approach is new and the unfolding story reveals a complex and interesting woman who was much more worldly wise than we might have imagined. I shall reread her novels now that I understand more about the events that shaped her life and informed her writing. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life in Small Things, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
A thought provoking and fascinating book which prompts us as readers to question things we think we know about Jane Austen. The author evidently knows her subject well and writes with respect and understanding of Jane Austen's life and work. A book to keep and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A woman before her time, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
I am still reading the book but am extremely impressed so far.I think I would be able td do something fuller when I am done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Jane Austen : A Life in Small Things, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
This is a refreshingly original way of giving insights into Jane Austen's characters through objects such as a silhouette, an Indian shawland the topaz crosses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
Delighted with the book. A real good companion for all Austin fans. A good read and reference book. Why add more words? is'nt this enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so interesting, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book for my niece who is a big jane fan , she loved the book , she is going to lyme regis this summer on the austen trail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit specialised, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book and its very well researched but I didn't feel the author was too inspired by her subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 Feb 2013
By 
L. R. Ferrier (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my husband and he loved it. He read it quickly from cover to cover, but would tell me very little about it. He says I must read it for myself to find out why he found it so interesting, informative and enjoyable. Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Real Jane Austen, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Jane Austen (Hardcover)
Sorry I did not like this book one bit. It was not what I expected and I felt that it was rather expensive for what it was about. Long winded and very boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4a3b6fc)

This product

The Real Jane Austen
The Real Jane Austen by Paula Byrne (Hardcover - 17 Jan 2013)
16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews