Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read and insight to human pathos
A series of short stories which are monologues and very cleverly written. The reader's emotions range from funny to sad but the vulnerability of human life is on every page. Easily read and worth the read.
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by SueLes

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... this but this has to be one of the worst books I have ever read
I so regret saying this but this has to be one of the worst books I have ever read. Perhaps i don't get it but it is definately not to my taste. Sorry
Published 1 month ago by Nicky Dorrian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read and insight to human pathos, 16 Nov 2010
By 
SueLes (Blewbury UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A series of short stories which are monologues and very cleverly written. The reader's emotions range from funny to sad but the vulnerability of human life is on every page. Easily read and worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great monologues, 8 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: A Certain Age (Paperback)
This is a great book for dipping into.
It'll make you laugh,cry and think-such is the skill of Lynne Truss.
It can be read in a sitting but some of the monologues are so deceptively deep that you have to stop for a ponder as all the implications appear.
The mark of a good short story is that it leaves you asking for more and all of the 12 monologues do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Aug 2014
By 
jillyflower (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Love these monologues. They are funny and sad at the same time. I have been listening to them in the car and I am sure other motorists must think I am barmy as I have been laughing out loud at some parts. As expected, beautifully written, and the readers have been very well chosen. I have not previously liked Janine Duvitsky but she does a fantastic job in "The Wife", clever story wonderfully read, subtle but so worth 'reading between the lines'. I am surprised someone has given only one star, perhaps this person is not of "a certain age" and therefore not able to appreciate fully what a great set of characters Lynne Truss has produced. Anyway, I would recommend to anyone interested in well-written witty mini stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... this but this has to be one of the worst books I have ever read, 15 July 2014
By 
Nicky Dorrian (Dundee Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Certain Age (Kindle Edition)
I so regret saying this but this has to be one of the worst books I have ever read. Perhaps i don't get it but it is definately not to my taste. Sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Certain Age (Paperback)
This book is just great!
A real light-hearted, quality read. Wide variety of characters so everyone'll be sure to find one they love or hate ! :D
Beautiful cover art and am extremely impressed how well this transferred form wireless to written/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pleasure to read, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Certain Age (Kindle Edition)
I'd read anything by Lynne Truss. This is kind to a range of people, revealing their back story with humour. Like being taken for a walk and allowed to notice the sights for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Certain Age - Women's Monologues, 3 Dec 2011
This pack consists of 3 CDs with two half-hour stories on each CD. Each is a beautifully observed monologue from six points of view - the mother, the daughter, the sister, the other woman, the cat lover and the wife. The writing is clever and witty with excellent casting. Buy the second set which uses the same idea from the man's perspective - equally as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Certain Age
A Certain Age by Lynne Truss (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews