Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder at the Dinner Table
Isn't she wonderful, the most widely published author in the English language after the Bible and Shakespeare! She isn't called the Queen of Mystery for nothing. Imagine having this fantastic storyteller as your grandmother. Bedtime stories sure would be something else! I haven't read Agatha Chrisite for years and years, and ambling through the library one day recently,...
Published 4 months ago by Kiwiflora

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Character-driven plot has disappointing ending
"Sparkling Cyanide" has all the elements of Christie's best books: well-drawn characters which are introduced in a clever, unusual way (each relates his or her memories of the dead Rosemary in a separate chapter), a strong plot, and more motive than usual. Unfortunately the mystery's solution is so completely contrived and unrealistic that it ruins the rest...
Published on 26 Aug. 1998


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Christie Classic, 2 Feb. 2012
I recently reread this after discovering it many years ago and loved it just as much as ever. As a 'stand-alone' mystery without either Poirot or Miss Marple it might also appeal to readers who find the regular detectives somewhat annoying. The character of Rosemary has slight overtones of Rebecca, and overall most of the characters have a depth which proves Christie did not just write to a formula. The psychology of the love triangle formed by Rosemary and the Farradays is particularly subtle and convincing. Although I remembered who the murderer was, I still found myself caught up in the list of suspects when rereading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant as all agatha Christies are nice for a change when it's not Miss Marple or Poirot makes a nice change and a very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christie t her best. Superb plot and every page interesting. Recommended to all Kindle readers and a fully deserved five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good Christie, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha Christie at her best. I have read most if not all of Christies thrillers and this is definitely one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light read, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the book. You know what to expect with Agatha Christie and it did not disappoint. I guessed the murderer half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing Read, 22 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very relaxing read and one I've read a few times and enjoyed. To begin with you wonder where this story is going as it describes the character of Rosemary Barton from different peoples perspective and her subsequent death (suicide or murder) for the first 80 or so pages . After that the story kicks off and more murder is committed and the description of Rosemary's character at the beginning of the books starts to become more relevant to the story.

Two people are supposedly murdered by cyanide poisioning at the same restaurant exactly a year apart. Until the second death the first was thought to be suicide and we start to see the characters possible motives. But was the second murder the intended victim?

Relaxing read. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not Poirot or Marple (nor yet Tommy and Tuppence) but a good read, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is holiday reading - sufficient plot and puzzle to keep me engaged without taxing my brain to much. There have been at least two versions of this on TV but they imported more familiar characters, such as Tommy and Tuppence, into them.
If you like Agatha Christie's whodunnits then this will do you. The denouement was enough of a surprise to keep reading to the end.
I bought the kindle edition because these days I am trying to limit the amount of shelf space my light reading takes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Cyanide, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another of Agatha Christie's gripping thrillers, which held my interest from beginning to end. The true murderer came as a complete surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fun and easy to read, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good story and as always an Agatha Christie is easy too read and doesnt take too much concentration - ideal on a train or where things are not that quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars clunky, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
R. Storer "beachcomber" (blackpool. england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
radio drama used to be quite compelling and had good actors. This unfortunately doesnt flow at all with a very pedestrian reading of it. Very disappointing , I wonder if the art of great radio drama has gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sparkling Cyanide (Agatha Christie Facsimile Edtn)
Sparkling Cyanide (Agatha Christie Facsimile Edtn) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 9 Dec. 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews