Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Is Easy
I was surprised to find that this one isn't more popular on these pages. I thought it was very good, and slightly different to the normal English village murder mysteries that Dame Agatha wrote about. This one is quite quirky. There have been a number of inexplicable deaths in the village of Wychwood in recent times - people falling off bridges and ladders, swallowing...
Published on 9 April 2006 by S. Hapgood

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder is Easy
This is a good standard murder mystery by Agatha Christie. It does not feature any of her famous investigators like Poirot or Miss Marple so if you are used to reading those ones, it's a bit of letdown. However, the story is good, interesting characters and plenty of possibility. It goes into the occult a bit - A.C often wrote about things in the news at the time or in...
Published on 21 July 2004 by Claire Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Is Easy, 9 April 2006
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I was surprised to find that this one isn't more popular on these pages. I thought it was very good, and slightly different to the normal English village murder mysteries that Dame Agatha wrote about. This one is quite quirky. There have been a number of inexplicable deaths in the village of Wychwood in recent times - people falling off bridges and ladders, swallowing poison, dying from an infected cut etc - and Luke, a policeman just back from a tour of duty in the Far East, decides to go undercover to investigate. I agree that Luke isn't a strong character, and either Poirot or Miss Marple would have been far better in this role, but even so, this is a darkly brooding little tale. At times Wychwood feels more like it should be a village in a John Wyndham or a Dennis Wheatley novel, with horrible cruelty lurking under civilised surfaces, and Satanic rites being practiced nearby. I personally got the culprit completely wrong, and was utterly convinced it was somebody else entirely right up until the final few pages! I thought the murderer was one of the author's most original and memorable ones I've read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christie, refreshingly solvable., 5 Nov 1998
By A Customer
I hardly need speak about Agatha Christie, deservedly the best-selling mystery novel author of all time. Murder is Easy is one of her best novels, being typically easy to read, obviously contrived and yet filled with plot twists and misdirections. During the exposition of the plot the reader cannot help but be seduced by the unravelling of the mystery, and it all seems, indeed, a little too easy... but with a breathtaking twist in the tail everything is turned around more than once. In retrospect it seems so simple, and all the clues are there. And yet the reader is almost guaranteed not to guess the ending. The only thing to add is that this is one of the few Christies where the pleasure of detection and mystery is leavened with the tension of personal risk to the main characters. The final few chapters in particular took my breath away when I first read the book. Written in the 1930s and yet still as accessible today as it ever was, this is a book well worth reading for both the Christie fan and the generalist reader of detective fiction. Read it and see why Christie is the Queen of Crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christie, 27 April 1999
By A Customer
Murder is Easy, is a gripping tale and a classic piece of detective fiction in its own right. It was written in the 1930's so some of the attitudes and opinions of the main character seem at times laughably old fashioned, but this does not detract from enjoying the tale, and could be said to give it a period charm. I must admit that this time I thought I had outfoxed Christie and guessed the identity of the murderer, but in classic Christie style I was completely surprised to find it was someone I had not even suspected.
A real must-read book for all crime fiction fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder is Easy, 21 July 2004
This is a good standard murder mystery by Agatha Christie. It does not feature any of her famous investigators like Poirot or Miss Marple so if you are used to reading those ones, it's a bit of letdown. However, the story is good, interesting characters and plenty of possibility. It goes into the occult a bit - A.C often wrote about things in the news at the time or in her life. This book was written 1938 but it stands up well and isn't too dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, 7 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder is Easy (Agatha Christie Facsimile Edtn) (Hardcover)
I am a huge fan of Agatha Christie and I never tire of reading her books. Bought this in fascimilie edition for nostalgic reasons. Started reading it on Friday and finished it today with much enjoyment.

The characters are certainly varied and there are alot of twists and turns in this book that keeps you guessing (incorrectly) right up until the end. The description is this book is just right. Not too much and not too thin either.

A very easy read that can be picked up and put down whenever you feel like a nice bit of escapism from our yesteryears.

Good book. Will certainly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 23 May 2011
By 
Junius (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a good book and easy to read. It will keep you guessing until the end, just as the hero does, suspecting one character and then another. The romantic and supernatural subplots are also interesting. It is very much a closed book setting. The point about it being easy to kill because no one suspects you is a very good point and this applies to serial killers, too. Is the killer here a serial killer (anachronistic term I know)? There were none in the UK in the 1930s in real life.

The flaws are that the hero, a retired policeman, but still reasonably young (no age is ever given), seems to be a complete amateur when it comes to investigations. He has very little idea whatever. A few other points is that the book states witches as being burnt in the nineteenth century - none were executed in the nineteentn century and in the sixteenth and seventeenth century witch trials the punnishment was hanging. Burning was for heretics. There also seem to have been a lack of inquests; with six murders, only that of Amy Gibbs has any sort of official investigation, which is pretty unrealistic.

An entertaining read if you can overlook these flaws, which I mainly could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pale Poirot, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Published in 1939, a few months before the cosy world of the English village was finally shattered, Christie here introduces us to Luke Fitzwilliam, an experienced police officer returning to England after a career in the Far East. After a string of several Poirot novels you sense she was wanting something fresh, someone fresh to write about.

Fitzwilliam has time and money on his hands - he's clearly in no hurry to find somewhere to live or an income to live on. Barely touched down on Blighty's shores, he makes the acquaintance of an old lady, the archetypal strangers on a train. She confides in him that she has uncovered a series of murders in her picturesque little village. He initially dismisses her as a confused old bird, but later has reason to believe she was on to something. He takes himself to the village and quickly establishes that there have, indeed, been a number of sudden deaths. It's a village which boasts two pubs, but only a handful of suspects (retired army officer, doctor, lawyer, antique dealer, and some other possibilities from the landed gentry and professional classes - well, you couldn't expect our hero to have to deal with the lower orders).

Fitzwilliam is not a Poirot. As a detective he is a bumbling fool. He is ludicrously old-fashioned and emotionally shallow in his relationship with women - he falls in love at the drop of a lock of hair, like a virginal adolescent, then seeks to win fair lady through bluster and the romantic gravitational pull of a detective launching into a compelling mystery ... enlisting the aid of a partner.

Red herrings abound, but in rather contrived fashion. Any reader looking to follow the detective skills of the hero will be left sitting in the sidings while the express train hurtles past. The story is plot driven - it relies a little heavily on coincidence: the characters are barely sketched (perhaps the most convincingly drawn character is a Persian cat). Superintendent Battle (who'd first appeared in "The Secret of Chimneys") makes a brief appearance, but the apprehension of the murderer requires luck rather than grey cells. You are left able to guess at the murderer, but rather through intuition and reading the writer's mind rather than following clues or unravelling a puzzle.

Entertaining, well-paced, but hardly a classic. You long for the return of the little Belgian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been a Miss Marple novel, 5 July 2005
By 
Miguel M. Santos "miguelmsantos" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
During a train journey to London, Luke meets an old lady on her way to Scotland Yard to denounce a murder which is about to happen. When she is run over by a car, he decides to investigate. This is the starting point of Agatha Christie's "Murder is Easy", and this is what sold me the book. However I couldn't feel but disappointed. Although the plot is very good, there is something which is lacking from her best novels. One of my guesses is that Luke, never a detective you really care for, or you will remember for long, is to be blamed. By trying to make him as different as possible of her recurrent sleuths, a very bland character was created. Another thing I felt was that there seem to be a one or two holes in the plot towards the end. My feeling is that this would have given a very good Miss Marple novel. It would be her environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder is Easy, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable and this time without either Poirot or Miss Marple to solve the crime,I would recommend this one as being one of her best books,...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very different Agatha Christie, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book wasn't what I was expecting; no Poirot or Marples! But it held my attention and the plot was good and well sustained. so a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder is Easy (Agatha Christie Facsimile Edtn)
Murder is Easy (Agatha Christie Facsimile Edtn) by Agatha Christie (Hardcover - 1 April 2010)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews