Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a book by someone who doesn't attack everyone in rugby
I thought this was a proper, heart-felt book by a man who didn't have axes to grind and people to denigrate. It was refreshing not to be dragged into slagging off other players. I've always liked Phil Vickery and I was so pleased that his book was a fair relfection of the man. I was fascinated by his youth in Cornwall and enjoyed the relfections on the sport going pro...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Amanda Jane O'Connor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little dissapointed
The product was delivered very quickly and very well packaged and in exactly the condition as described.
The actual content was a little disappointing and I expected a better autiobiography from such a rugby great.
Published 18 months ago by Mr. M. Wheat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a book by someone who doesn't attack everyone in rugby, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
I thought this was a proper, heart-felt book by a man who didn't have axes to grind and people to denigrate. It was refreshing not to be dragged into slagging off other players. I've always liked Phil Vickery and I was so pleased that his book was a fair relfection of the man. I was fascinated by his youth in Cornwall and enjoyed the relfections on the sport going pro. I'm surprised other people reviewing here wanted more scandal - perhaps Ashley Cole's book would be a better buy for those who want their sportsmen with tempers. I liked this and I like Vickery al;l the more after reading it. a good old fasioned rugby player. the world needs more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and clearly a player with integrity who is in it for the right reasons, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this straight-forward, no-nonsense auto biography, how refreshing it is. It's nice to read something that is not sensationalised and is simply a fairly modest account according to Vickery. I thought he was a player with integrity and this shines through in the book - reviewers looking for an scandal-angle may be bored and would better off reading something from the fiction list - no scandal or drugs in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars phil vickery raging bull, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Got this book last week if you a rugby fan you will love it. Its great to read how he started his carrier and progressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Raging Phil, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good down to earth no nonsense auto just as you would expect from a no nonsense hard man who has a close handle on his home and family life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bull, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a rugby fan and follow Gloucester. Phil is a person who has a great deal of presence and has earned a great deal of respect from lots of different people. He has won Masterchef and many other things and I came across this book on Amazon Kindle.A very good read that is easy to read and very interesting. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book and one for the collection, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
This is great with an easy sit down over a cup of tea type book approach,

Phil writes in a Cornish sort of a way, laid back and tells it to you as it is nice and easy.

You did a marvelous job on the field Phil and you rounded off your career with a great book for the rugby enthusiast

Thanks for both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little dissapointed, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. Wheat (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
The product was delivered very quickly and very well packaged and in exactly the condition as described.
The actual content was a little disappointing and I expected a better autiobiography from such a rugby great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cream of cornwall, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a star Phil is, the boy from Bude who never forgot his roots.And although we in Gloucester benefitted from the best years of his rugby career, it can be said that there is no where in Cornwall where Phil's name is not talked about in the status of legends of sport. Phil is a genuine nice guy who has never fell in love with celebrity sports status and continues to inspire young players of all abilities in all sports to get out th there and enjoy themselves. A first class read Phil, total inspiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars raging bull, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raging Bull: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
what a fantastic read could just read it over and over what a bloke and what a charactar a must have on any bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a England Rugby fan and have read almost every book written about the 2003 World Cup Team. I have to say, I didn't find this one the most entertaining. Worth a read, but wouldn't rate it the highest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raging Bull: My Autobiography
Raging Bull: My Autobiography by Phil Vickery (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2010)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews