Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational
In November 2004, Conor Grennan was a young man with dreams of travelling around the world; drinking, meeting girls and having the time of his life. Little did he know that he would soon meet a group of Nepali children in the Little Princes Children's Home that would change his life forever. This true story spans around 4 years of Grennon's life, chronicalling his...
Published on 17 July 2011 by K. Wright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nepal
Glad I read it.
Published 11 days ago by D. J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational, 17 July 2011
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
In November 2004, Conor Grennan was a young man with dreams of travelling around the world; drinking, meeting girls and having the time of his life. Little did he know that he would soon meet a group of Nepali children in the Little Princes Children's Home that would change his life forever. This true story spans around 4 years of Grennon's life, chronicalling his personal journey and his aim to help these trafficked children be reunited with their families during a civil war.

Grennon is an engaging writer and this adds to the incredible story. However it is the humour and joy of the children who are the stars of the book who share so much love despite having suffered such hardships in their short lives. Coloured photos are also included to really get a sense of the people and places Grennon describes. This is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the plight of children in foreign countries but is also a heartwarming story that restores faith in humanity. Another reason to purchase this book is that a portion of the proceeds go to Grennon's non-profit organisation, Next Generation Nepal (NGN).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well written, engaging book about an emotive subject, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first few pages were disappointing, and I thought I wouldn't enjoy this book by an American author who seemed rather full of himself. However I was relieved to be proved utterly wrong.
Conor Grennan is actually very self deprecating throughout the book, and is the first to admit that he originally went to the orphanage to do something that would "look good" on his year out travelling. However, his first three months at the orphanage led to a long term commitment to the children at Little Princes and beyond.
His tale unfolds as he realises the orphans are far from orphans, but caught up in the civil war in Nepal and a child trafficking scheme playing on their parents hopes of a better life outside the conflict zone. He then becomes committed to tracing these families and reuniting them with their children, no easy task in a country where most journeys have to be completed on foot, and there is a real risk of being snowed in for the winter.
The book is well written in an engaging style and often reads more like a novel than a biography, especially as some of the stories are so incredible and moving. I really enjoyed the read, but would have liked some pictures to add to the stories.
Conor has now set up his own children's home in Kathmandu and part of the proceeds from the sale of the book go towards the non-profit organisation Conor created to enable his children's home to exist. After reading the book you will be more than happy to know that you have done something to help these incredible children. Please buy and you will enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking but beautiful, 15 Sep 2011
By 
DubaiReader "MaryAnne" (Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was an excellent book, certainly deserving of its comparison to Three Cups of Tea (Greg Mortenson).
From the start I liked the author and his self depreciating explantion for his visit to Nepal - a bit of volunteering would make the whole exercise of world travel, seem more valid. Little did he know what a profound effect the children would have on him.
He's a typical American lad when he arrives at the Little Princes Orphanage in Nepal, he has had no previous contact with children and is baffled by the behaviour of the eighteen youngsters who launch themselves at him as he steps through the gate. In spite of their tough lives, these children are adorable and Connor settles down to the routine that is to be his life for the next 3 months.

Most volunteers do their 3 month stint and then leave, but the children get under his skin and he decides to pay them another visit before returning to America.
It was around this time that he discovered that the children were not really orphans but victims of child trafficking, the majority of them having living parents.
And what was his response? He threw himself whole-heartedly into a search for their parents in the rugged terains of Nepal.

I couldn't put this book down, it was a fantastic read, all the better for being true.
It is our book group choice for next week and I am really looking forward to sharing it. A book that everyone should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspirational read, 13 July 2011
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
If you are looking for an uplifting read, then look no further, `Little Princes' is the book for you. This relatively short read was completely refreshing and a source of profound inspiration. In such a busy world, books like these are essential tools which help us to pause, reflect and consider the plight of those people in other parts of the world that are by and large completely forgotten by us.

Connor is a young American taking a break from the rat race whilst he travels the world. Feeling like he should be doing something constructive with his time, he arranges to volunteer at a children's orphanage in war torn Nepal for a period of three months. Completely unprepared and unqualified, Connor enters a hidden world of child trafficking, neglect and malnutrition reminiscent of a Dickensian novel.

What follows, is a whirlwind of an adventure which will change the life of Connor and his `Little Princes' forever. The book describes Nepal; its political system and culture during the civil war between the Maoists and the monarchy. Nepal is a beautiful country but one which is completely impoverished, divided by class systems, corrupt and often quite dangerous. In that respect, the book was completely fascinating, I knew nothing at all about Nepal before beginning the book and absorbed countless facts whilst progressing.

The book describes Connor's initial unease with his immersion into this alien environment, but moves on to describe his acceptance of the situation, his deepening love for the children, his reluctance to leave Nepal, his plans to search for the abandoned children's parents, his crazy expedition into Humla and concludes with a brief look at his initial plans for the future.

The book is warm and humorous and will hold your attention from the first to the last page. If ever a book is to grab a heart, then this is the one. You would have to be made of stone not to be moved by the events described within this book. The depth of love that Connor has for his children was instantaneously obvious and almost overwhelmingly emotional. The book is simply written and it certainly shows in its format and appearance.

I recommend this book to any person who loves a good news story, particularly involving voluntary groups and their attempts to overcome adversity. In addition, if you know nothing at all about Nepal, as I didn't, then this is an excellent book to become acquainted with the country.

Connor mentioned in his acknowledgements section that he didn't think anyone would want to read his story. Well he was completely wrong. The book was brilliant and I would certainly buy a second instalment describing his adventures and the children of Nepal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back street Kathmandu - not a nice place..., 29 Mar 2011
By 
D. Thurgood "dan.tee" (Liverpool Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really, really, really enjoyed this. I've been a children's projects volunteer for about 22 years and I'm always moved and intrigued by stories involving children at risk. This true story revolves around the life of a young American lad, who, primarily in order to impress girls on his return home, signs up for a six month stint at a home for abandoned and trafficked children in the suburbs of Kathmandu. He was there whilst the Maoists were revving up their campaign to topple the monarchy. His testimony of how these kids 'got' to him is frank and candid, and you can't help yourself being drawn into the lives of these little ones.

The main thread of the book is his personal decision to rescue seven children who he lost track of. He teams up with one of the other young men from the orphanage and sets off across Nepal to find each one of them. It is a journey fraught with difficulties and dangers and... well, I won't spoil anything for you here.

If you're a little hard-of-heart and aren't open to emotional prods from a non-fiction book, then don't get this. If, on the other hand, you delight in tales of the triumph of human spirit over adversity etc, then go for it. There's even a lovely sub-plot of the development of his 8,000 mile relationship with a girl back in the States.

Connor writes with a gentle humour too - often very much at his own expense, which I found personally quite endearing. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did, should you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving and heart-warming, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Debs "Little Chef" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A heart-warming book, this is the true story of Conor Grennan and his quest to reunite the displaced children of Nepal with their families. Conor is unshrinkingly honest in his tale - he openly admits that when he first volunteered to help orphaned children in Nepal, it was without any real passion but rather as a short-term commitment that would look good to others. He obviously had no idea then of the fervour this would spark within him to help the children of Nepal who had been taken from their parents by unscrupulous child-traffickers, and that it would lead him to start his own halfway house for this forgotten generation.

This is an informative tale; Nepal is not a country that occupies a prime position in the headlines and it is eye-opening to read of the civil conflict that tore it apart for so many years, and of the repercussions for the families who lived through this. At first it is shocking to read that parents willingly sent their children away with a child trafficker; however, then you learn the reason why - the Maoist army had demanded that each family give up at least one of their children to serve in the army, and parents paid huge sums of money to the man who offered to take their children to a safe haven where they would be educated and taken care of, not knowing his true purpose.

It is also a moving tale; it is not a story of sadness and destitution but rather of hope and love. Although the displaced children have suffered terribly, they show great resilience - they adapt, hope, dream and help each other to face life's challenges. And the author has his reward in the end too - but to tell you what this is would ruin the surprise, although you will probably figure it out about halfway through the book.

Finally, you can purchase this book knowing that a percentage of the profits will go towards NGN, the organisation set up by the author to help the children of Nepal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars isn't enough, 25 Jan 2011
By 
BookBliss (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is quite possibly one of the best books I've read, add to this the fact that it's a biography and five stars just doesn't seem to do it justice. I've only just finished this and already I've recommended it to family and friends (and anyone else who'd care to listen).

Not only is this a really interesting and moving story but it's really well written, Conor does a fantastic job of letting everybody's personalities show through in the way they speak. In a lot of ways this book reads more like a novel than like a biography which I think makes it a lot easier to read, it also has plenty of humorous scenes interspersed with the more moving scenes. I think it's a sign of a really good writer if they can make you laugh and cry within a matter of minutes of each other.

The work he has done makes Conor an inspiration to many, it would have been so easy for him to have completed his initial 3 months and not looked back but the children affected him and got under his skin, as they have obviously done to a number of people as Conor makes it clear he has not worked alone in his fight to save these children.

A percentage of the proceeds from this book go to aid Conor's work in caring for the children of Nepal and tracing their families. Although I got this as an early review copy, I am so impressed and moved by the work that Conor has done I'll be donating the cost of the book to Next Generation Nepal, the charity that Conor has set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 2 Jan 2011
By 
M. A. Coyle "Mark Coyle" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Princes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found the story of 'conor' and what he has achieved very inspiring,he showed remarkable courage to continue to help these children.I didn't realise this was going on in Nepal and I have the utmost admiration for the people who help these children and their families.
I would recomend it as a good read and it will really make you appreciate what we have in the western world and how lucky we are that we don't have to live with the fear that these villagers have to. People like Connor are real 'heroes' and should very very proud at what they have achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!!!!!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this book down and am so amazed that this all goes on and that there really are truly horrible but also amazing kind people in this world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Paperback)
A good read. A well written, interesting and inspiring story that opened my eyes to the recent history of Nepal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews