Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more harsh childhood is hard to imagine!
Although this book gallops along at Conn Iggulden's usual pace, I was continually tempted to leap ahead to find out what happened next. That makes it much more of a chapter-turner than merely a page-turner, and the narrative left me quite breathless at times!

Temujin is the son of the khan of one of the many Mongol tribes who are in continual, violent conflict...
Published on 5 Oct. 2007 by Lance Mitchell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted.
This is a well written book, and would appeal to boys and/or young men. However, i personally found it to contain too many scenes of blood and gore. It was obviously well research on the life of the young Gengis Khan, and obviously the times in which he lived were gruelling and hard. I felt that this was conveyed well, but found the book a little long, and the scenes...
Published 14 months ago by J. M. Passmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - just don't make the same mistake i did!!, 5 Jun. 2007
By 
L. Smith "lukestsmith" (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all i'd like to say what a brilliant book this is, a fine continution of the author's good form originating from his highly acclaimed first series Emperor.

However, the reason i am writing this review is really because i feel like a complete idiot for buying the same book twice! I do not agree with other reviewer's claims that this is some kind of elaborate 'Conn' by the author. Branding for the U.S is very common and i believe most of us made this mistake because we became over excited about the thought of the sequel being releasesd and in our heads the different title already subconsciously confirmed to us that this was in fact the sequel. Had we perhaps been browsing for a new book or at the first of this author's novels in a new series we would have quickly noticed that this is in fact the first novel in the conqueror series just rebranded. I would however like to point the dirty finger at Amazon because it seems slightly strange to me that a re-branded version of a novel for the U.S should make its way onto(and so clearly because we all saw it really quickly)the U.K version of this website. Not good form if you ask me! So if you're a fan of the author or of historicla fiction, buy this book (if you don't already own wolf of the plains) you will not be diappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GENGHIS ROCKS! A ROLLICKING READ, 4 Dec. 2008
"Wolf of the Plains" is a terrific, rollicking adventure story of the young Genghis Khan growing up in the dangerous, unstable world of the ancient Mongolian plains. The narrative is taut, with a series of deadly challenges to be overcome. The characterisation is excellent, with plenty of major and minor figures to grab the imagination. Best of all, the description of Genghis's world is convincing and detailed: by the end of the book it'll seem the most natural thing in the world to slit open a horse's vein for a refreshing snack. The only downside of the book is that it feels very much like the opening salvo in a multi-volume epic. About half-way through, you realise (if you didn't know this already) that it is the series, not this book, which will tell the story of Genghis Khan; and that to know what happens, you have many more volumes ahead of you. But if you're enjoying it, this will give you pleasure rather than frustration.

The treatment of the Chinese in the story is surprisingly sympathetic. Made me wonder if Iggulden has half an eye on the Chinese market.

Pro: great, sweeping, well-written adventure story. Cons: only the start of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 14 July 2009
A surprising and informtive read introducing the boy Temujin who is destined to be Ghenjis Khan. Writing in a refreshingly simple style Iggulden vividly conveys the seriousness of the situation when a nomadic family finds itself cast away from the safety of a village into the wild and freezing mountains of Outer Mongolia. The trials and tribulations of survival are bloody and desperate, extreme and daring. There are no limits when decisions of life and death must be made.
Into this environment the young Temujin is thrown. His story is laced with unexpected emotions and sentiments which are the foundation for a thrilling and riveting yarn . Conn Iggulden has woven a tapestry of historical accuracy coupled with an amazing literary flair for detail. He has put into context the life of Ghengis Khan. He has explored the thoughts and reasoning of the man who formed the undisciplined wandering tribes of the eleventh century into one nation thus building the Mongolian Empire.
I read all three of the 'Conqueror ' books one after the other. I simply could not put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Converted to Conquerors, 1 April 2014
By 
M. Paton "Rabid Reader" (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not my usual genre - in fact, it is so far from my usual choice of read, that I'm astounded that I've bought the entire series. I loved historical fiction, which is usually written by women, and contains little of military actions. My favourite genre is Epic Fantasy. I was recommended this book by a friend, and downloaded it in desperation when I couldn't find a new epic fantasy to get my teeth into.
I thoroughly enjoyed the fact that it has the filth, fleas, and fighting depicted so well. There's no prettying up of the life of Genghis. He was a nasty piece of work, but I can't help but admire his tactics, his thirst for vengeance, and determination, even to the point he is willing to commit fracticide. It's not the easiest read for me coming into this saga, because the story doesn't flow prettily. However, it's a fascinating insight into a man who went on to conquer most of Eurasia, and the harshness of life for his followers. I would recommend this book to anyone with the least interest in history, or even in epic fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking Historical Fiction!, 16 Feb. 2009
Another triumph for Conn Iggulden, this fist novel in the Conqueror Trilogy is a true joy to read, in fact i read the whole book in one sitting. I think this series as well as his previous work will make Iggulden by far one of the best writers of historical fiction out there today.

Wolf Of Plains is a complex and intriguing story that follows the life and times of one of histories most famous or notorious characters Genghis Khan. We start at the beginning, a small boy named Temujin the son of the leader of the Wolf tribe one of the many brutal tribes of the steppes who are always at war with each other. During this book we'll see the trials and tribulations of a young boy growing into manhood during perilous times for his tribe and family, he'll see the end of his father and live through being cast out by the tribe so him and his family are left starving, he'll build armies to avenge his father and bring the Mongol people to his cause.

If you love history and a well written book then this trilogy is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fierce and Compelling., 9 Nov. 2008
By 
M. Shepherd (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This booked grips you from start to finish. The fast paced action is tempered with gritty realism- testament to to how well Iggulden knows his material and his craft.

Whilst comparissons with Bernard Cornwell's historical fiction are inevitable, Iggulden's character driven writing is harsh and true, in many ways more honest than the sometimes likeably roguish nature of Cornwell's writing. It is utterly refreshing to read of a character such as Temujin, so clearly a product of the plains, rather than the product of a more modern concept of a hero. The young Khan's thoughts and actions are vastly different from modern ethical thinking- his personality is never compromised.

The action and pace of the story, the vivid landscapes and the sympathy with which Iggulden treats the Mongol tribes leads to a masterful portrayal of the early life of Genghis Kahn. As such, Wolf of the Plains is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down!, 25 Aug. 2009
I bought this book knowing next to nothing about Geghis Khan and the history of the Mongol Nation. I though that this may make the book a little dificult to follow. However it was not the case at all. the auther creates a world so real that not only can you see it but you can feel, smell and hear everything around the charactors. the protagonists themselves are, on the whole, very well formed and it becomes easy to predict their feelings at things which happen throughout the novel based on what you have been through with them already. the charactors are loveable, and hateable, and it is almost impossible for even the coldest reader to not feel the emotions which they goe through. all in all a very good, fast paced read without any boring or unbelivable parts. Also the historical note at the end reveals some very interesting facts about the charactors and their lives. Fantastic Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conqueror Compelling; Caesar Classic, 25 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. J. E. O'SHAUGHNESSY (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wolf Of The Plains is a very sound addition to Mr Iggulden's already impressive portfolio. However, I could not help but be a tad disappointed given the heights the Emperor series regularly soared to.

I found the first of the Genghis series (pronounced Jenghis, or so I am reliably informed) to be a most entertaining read but on several occasions I felt I was reading the Emperor series transplanted into Asian territory: a young boy faced with overwhelming odds and adversity, eventually prevailing to become a steely leader of men. Gates Of Rome anyone?

Knit-picking perhaps but all too familiar nonetheless.

Regardless of the templated canvas Mr Iggulden appears to be painting upon, the characters were, as ever, well defined and in the main likeable. However, this too grated at times. Perhaps my Western ideology or constant inability to not judge a man by his times were responsible but the way The Khan Of The Sea Of Grass is portrayed as an affable fellow seemed to be at odds with albeit what little I know of the reality of Genghis and his penchant for thuggery and plunder. Not one to bring home to meet the folks ladies...

The above aside, Mr Iggulden illustrates once again that his ability for compelling storytelling and variety of pacing is seldom matched in modern fiction; never mind historical fiction. It would appear that his main talent is to inspire emotional investment in the characters so that one champions the cause of even the most bloodthirsty conqueror. A rare talent indeed.

Once again (and this will be the fifth year you have toyed with my patience in December Mr Iggulden) I await the next instalment with keen interest and optimism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genghis Khan series, 2 Jun. 2011
By 
Alexander Mcque (Perth, WA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wolf of the Plains (Conqueror, Book 1) (Paperback)
Conn Iggulden's series on Genghis Khan is a must , it tells the story of the life ,family , struggles, hardships , battles and Conquests of Genghis Khan . Iggulden brings to life this remarkable story of a truly exceptional warrior and people . From his horrific childhood where he was hunted relentlessly to being the supreme conquerer he is famous for being.
For me there is only one series of books I have read that surpasses the 4 books in The Conquerer series and that is The Emperor Series from the same author about Julius Ceaser . These are both must read series that have incredible battle scenes and amazing attention to detail and are so enjoyable to read.
If you have an even remote idea that you would enjoy this subject matter you must read these series ......you will not be disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Superb - Bernard Who?, 3 Jan. 2008
By 
C. Cubbin "fox5596" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is possibly the finest historical novel I have ever read.

It effortlessly draws the reader into an utterly alien time and culture with such sublety and skill that three pages in you feel totally familiar in the company of the Mongolian tribes.

If Conn Iggulden carries on like this (it is a great improvement on his already impressive 'Emperor' series) people will soon be comparing all military history writers to him, rather than a certain Mr Cornwell.

A stunning and flawless read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf of the Plains (Conqueror, Book 1)
Wolf of the Plains (Conqueror, Book 1) by Conn Iggulden (Paperback - 8 July 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews