Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars51
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2011
Have had this book approx 1 month now and have tried 2 recipes so far. Butter chicken was adored by all the family. Have a few more earmarked to try in the very near future and almost certainly many more beyond.
Recipes are very easy to follow with good instructions. Well printed and plenty of pictures to help.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
fantastic book would recommend everyone who enjoys indian style food to try Gordon's recipe for Butter Chicken it is easy to make but ooooh so tasty a really fab recipe have a go
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2015
A++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
This book is an expensive (glad I got mine mega-cheap) and is more for the coffee table than for the serious Indian food buff. There are too many photographs - particularly of GR himself - and not enough recipes for the price.The section on ingredients is short and not particularly well explained. There is also little explanation of techniques and equipment. The tempering process used for spicing dishes such as tarka dhal is mentioned but, again, not explained. This book is as disappointing as the short and crass series it accompanied and will doubtless be seen in the second hand shops along with GR's other works. There are plenty of other better written and more informative books on the market.`
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
This cookbook is really great. The recipes are easy to follow and the results are pretty great. Excellent cookbook. Beautiful photos.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
Fab series, fab book! Had a curry evening with friends and these recipies went down a storm. These recipies are not swimming in fat like some I have tried and are easy to follow. The glossary explains the flavours of unusual ingreidients so the you can substitute. Love it!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
You can find out a lot of the cuisine of a far away country. love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Gordon Ramsay is a great chef, no doubt about it. But in terms of cookbook, he can't compete with people like Jamie Oliver. He doesn't have the same way of making us want to cook, the same originality in the way he adapts recipes. Instead of tweaking Indian classics, he simply gives us the original version. If I want this, I'll buy a real Indian cookbook by an Indian chef. Complete Book of Indian Cooking by Suneeta Vaswani comes to mind, a brilliant collection of regional recipes. In Gordon's book, regionality is overlooked, and for a book with 100 recipes, it's actually on the light side : you feel like there isn't much to do (only a couple of recipes per type of meat for example, no recipe with goat at all...). For example, you only get 30 pages of poultry/meat recipes, remove the photos and that's only 15 meat recipes... Ultimately, this doesn't make you want to browse the book. Because to make a meal, you'll only browse through the fish and meat recipes which is about 35 recipes... Indeed, most readers won't do their own Indian bread or chutneys, so this book failed in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
This is the first time I have been impressed enough to add a review for a book!
I have a decent collection of Indian cookbooks and have also travelled around India a fair bit.
These recipes are by far, the best tasting I have come across in any of my books. It's wonderful, just not big enough (more please Gordon). He manages to capture the authentic tastes (they will never be quite the same as in India due to the ingredients we use in the UK), but they are real quality dishes. Everything I have cooked has been superb. I think the main point that makes them so good is the frying of whole spices in the oil before the dish begins. This is what I noticed was different from most of my other books. It seems to add a real depth of flavour to the dish.

Happy cooking, and here's hoping there will be another edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
If you like cookery books or Indian food in general, you'll probably like this one. The television series was excellent, and with a big budget camera crew in tow, the photography for the book of the series was always going to be excellent. Mouth watering images that make you want to go out and buy the ingredients as much as turn the page for the next recipe. I'd prefer some info about the filming and behind the scenes of the programme, so I am only giving four stars. But the recipes do look good, and plenty I had not heard of before. It's not another Indian cook book full of recipes for the UK takeaway classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)