Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott fights robots, 23 Aug. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
If you've made it to the fifth volume, chances are you won't need much to get you to read it and then the next - you're probably too invested in the series to even question whether or not it's as good, etc. But of course it is. With Scott and Ramona in relationship heaven, living together happily, stormy weather was bound to make its way to them sooner or later, and it does. Ramona finds out Scott's was in a relationship with Knives Chau when he began seeing her and she flips out.

While Scott wanders from friend's couch to friend's couch he has to battle further Evil Exes in the form of twins who are heavily into robots. Sex Bob-Omb seems to have broken up too while Stephen Stills is in the studio recording their debut LP with Kim Pine heading back home to her parents' place. It was good to see Kim getting some attention for once, I think she' s been an overlooked character and Scott's biggest what-if? girl.

The Evil Exes in this book are the weakest of the series, they're just there because that's the series - Scott battling Evil Exes - and so he's got something to do. But at this point the battling is and always has been a side story to the relationship which feels real and contemporary and for some reason endlessly fascinating. But that's part of Bryan Lee O'Malley's brilliance, making you care about characters he's written.

I loved this book as I've loved every book in the series so far - maybe more, because O'Malley makes me interested in romance, a genre I'm never interested in. Anyway, excellent book in keeping with the rest of the series. Roll on, finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slower than previous volumes, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
The first thing to say about this book is that it is not a good place to start. If you want to get into the Scott Pilgrim series, then you'll need to go back to the beginning rather than jumping in to the penultimate volume. Not only will you be completely lost, but you'll be missing out on all the great writing of the last four books.

However, if you've already been following this series, and have enjoyed it so far, then you'll definitely want to pick this up, even if it's just to see where the story goes. The dialogue and characterisation remains fantastic, and while some seem to be unhappy with the illusatration, I really like the simplified style.

My only complaint with this book is that the story is somewhat less eventful than previous volumes; the Scott Pilgrim series has often done a good job in mixing fantastical plot elements with well written interactions between the characters, but volume 5 seems to have abandoned most of those elements in order to focus on the relationship between Scott and Ramona. This is still well done of course, but it does make the story feel slower than previous entries. I would also say that the villains of this volume are the dullest so far, haven been given less personality and back story than other evil exes. Because of this, I'd say this is the weakest entry in the Scott Pilgrim series so far.

It's important to state that it's only the story I found lacking, and the rest of the book keeps up the high standard I enjoyed in previous volumes. Really it seems like a lot of this volume is set up for the final book, Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour, and it does that fine, but this volume does suffer as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scott pilgrim vs boredom, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
I now believe that O'Malley is a fantastic comic writer and love his artistic stylings. You couldn't go anywhere last year without hearing about Scott pilgrim, so I finally decided to buy the books and I wish I'd done it sooner. His characters are appealing and not always for positive reasons. I missed this series after I'd finished. I wish there were more out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 April 2013
By 
Brian Taylor (Stockton-on-Tees, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
Read these before the movie came out and had to buy them to have in my collection truly fantastic to read over and over wish the movie followed it more closely but hey the movie was still awesome too :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim Book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who thought this was great. Arrived in good condition to complete the set. Condition was as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
got this for my son and he loved it as it came with 2 more books he now has all the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will you still need me, will you still feed me, when I'm twenty four?, 1 Aug. 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
Fifth volume [of six] in the Scott Pilgrim graphic novel series.

If you've not read any go and read Scott Pilgrim - Scott's Pilgrim's Precious Little Life: Volume 1 instead because there's a lot of story and a big cast built up by now and this volume makes no concession to new readers.

Those who have followed the series so far will have seen Scott and Ramona end the previous volume by having moved in together. Scott then celebrates his twenty fourth birthday party here. But he still has evil exes of Ramona's to fight. Who come at him via robots.

Added to which his relationship with Ramona is about to hit a rocky patch.

The main focus of this one is on the relationship between the two of them, and it's all very believable in the way they have to work out how to take their relationhip even further than it has gone before. There are good moments also with Scott's friends that make Kim, in particular, a very believable character.

But the video game elements seem to take second place here. This worked fine in volume four but just not so well here. They're fun in the way they're done initially but something that happens which leads to a big cliffhanger - and set up for the final volume - does feel out of place as a result.

Still it's an entertaning read which has great moments and it will make you desperate to find how it all turns out. It's just not quite as good as volume four.

It ends with an interesting little piece from the creator of the comic as to how it is put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
All good, condition and supply
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
Worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 (Paperback)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5
Scott Pilgrim vs the Universe: Volume 5 by Bryan Lee O'Malley (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews