Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Owen Hughes (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
A series that continues to excel.

I thought the ending to the first volume didn't really fit. It just came completely out of nowhere. But volume 2 combined this strange, surreal element with the quirkyness of Scott and his friends very well. It didn't pull it off perfectly, but it was good fun none the less.

However, volume 3 is just brilliant. It loses some of the subtlety of the first and second volumes to just go completely bizarre. The manga influences are really coming through in this volume, and it really pays off.

The characters are already quite well developed up to this point in the series, but they continue to grow and your fondness/loathing of them is accelerated 10x with the developments in volume 3.

I know O'Malley's artwork is sometimes panned, but I think it suits the series' pretty well. Some of the captions in this book are superb.

Chances are, if you've already read volumes 1 and 2, and you're looking at this, you've probably already made your mind up to purchase it so don't need me to tell you to. But hopefully this review will be of help to somebody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vegan power!, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
Big stuff goes down in this book - Scott gets a haircut and eats out at a fancy Japanese restaurant! Oh and he battles Evil Ex-Boyfriend #3 who has psychic Vegan powers, his current girlfriend Ramona battles his ex, Envy, lead singer of a popular rock band, and Scott starts speaking like a real person (but only for a few scenes).

The stuff about how veganism gives you super powers was really funny and Bryan Lee O'Malley reaches new levels of fantasy by drawing a scene mentioned in "It's a Wonderful Life!" as if a character were really doing it. Scott continues to be an endearingly charming dope and even seems to act his age when consoling those who felt the wrath of the excellently bitchy Envy.

The book is mostly stuff that didn't make it into the movie which is probably why I liked it the best of the three so far because most it felt new. Scott and Ramona also start to feel like a real couple rather than two strangers who've randomly met which is cool and shows O'Malley's strong writing ability - though I still feel that quite a few characters look too much alike making it different to discern who is who as well as which sequences are flashbacks and which are current.

But these are minor problems that don't really detract from enjoying the book for what it is - a fresh and imaginative take on the story of young love originally presented and immensely readable and fun. Book 3 is O'Malley hitting his stride and hopefully the series here on in can maintain this high level of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who thought this was great. Arrived in good condition to complete the set. Condition was as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 April 2013
By 
Brian Taylor (Stockton-on-Tees, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
Read thpage by page but hey the movie was still awesome tooese before the movie came out and had to buy them to have in my collection truly fantastic read wish the movie followed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In Which We Get To Now Our Friends, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
Arguably the first Volume that is more about the story than a set-up for the rest of the series, Infinite Sadness is a joy to read. Finally we get to know more about Scott and his friends, most importantly, we get to know how the friendships and relationships fit into each other. Backstory is told in a great way which leaves you wanting more. What I found especially nice is how the flashbacks and sidelines never bothered me or detracted from the main story. The plot with Evil Ex nr 3 is a bit contrived compared to some of the other Exes, but then again, this Ex is the first one that actually deserves his fate.
All in all, a good part in the series that can only pressure potential readers into finishing the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandsons, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
Scottn loved it,and was really pleased with it.and will be ordering more for him,in the future as he really loves this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super good, 15 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
really enjoyed this one along with the rest. they explain things a lot better than the film did so i am glad i read them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the series, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. L. Swan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
In my opinion this is by far the strongest entry in the Scott Pilgrim series and well worth buying. Though the ending (as the author jokingly admits) is a little weak. Still a very enjoyable read I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Of The Same, But More Confusing, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 (Paperback)
Having read the first two books in just the one day I was eager to get cracking on the third volume.

As with the previous volumes, this is a fast paced graphic novel about Scott Pilgrim and his struggle with dating Ramona. I felt that this book (along the with the other two volumes) had a bit too much relationship parts between Scott and his numerous girlfriends (past and present) for my own personal liking. As I was more aware of the 7 evil exes storyline before starting to read the series. And knew very little about Scotts numerous reltaionships. Still so far this series is my favourite graphic novel series to date.

My one big problem with this volume was the way that it raced through alot of the scenes, although the series has a very fast pace anyway it was always easy to follow. This is not the case for this volume as some scenes are over so quick, you will be left wondering what the hell just happened when it is all done and finished. One notable scene is a certain fight between Scott and one of the Evil exes that leaves you thoroughly confused.

This one problem does little to drop the overall quality of the novel. Its more of the same nerdy, cool and funny Scott Pilgrim Brillaince. A must get for anyone who is a fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3
Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness: Volume 3 by Bryan Lee O'Malley (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews