Customer Reviews


369 Reviews
5 star:
 (279)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Christmas Tale
A Christmas Carol is the classic story of how a bitter miser called Ebenezer Scrooge gets re-habilitated after being visited by three ghosts. The Ghosts' of Christmas Past, Present and Future show him visions of his life and of his influence on the lives of others. On seeing things as they truly are Scrooge changes his whole outlook on the world.
The first time I...
Published on 1 Jun 2010 by Amanda OBrien

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware of previous reviews
Do not purchase this version based upon the 75 cutomer reviews,as they refer to a different more lavish production. I was looking for an un-abridged fully illustrated version and all the reviews were glowing. Unfortunately the book that arrived, whilst the same as in the image, was of low quality and with zero illustrations - how disappointing!
Having reported this...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by Judge 7750


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Christmas Tale, 1 Jun 2010
By 
A Christmas Carol is the classic story of how a bitter miser called Ebenezer Scrooge gets re-habilitated after being visited by three ghosts. The Ghosts' of Christmas Past, Present and Future show him visions of his life and of his influence on the lives of others. On seeing things as they truly are Scrooge changes his whole outlook on the world.
The first time I came across this book it was a bridged version meant for children and as I got older I read the full story. It was the first Dickens book I read and I'm glad to say it wasn't the last. I never get tired of this story. I read it every Christmas and even though it has been thirty years since I first read it, Christmas Eve wouldn't be the same without this little indulgence.
You may think that because you have seen one of the numerous adaptations of this story that it doesn't really matter if you read the original. Don't make that mistake I beg you; this is one treat you shouldn't miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 6 Dec 2011
By 
M.M - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in owning a facsimile version of this classic book, or perhaps you want to give it as a gift then I can't recommend this version enough.

I was unsure when I first ordered this version as the picture and description didn't give much away, other than it was printed as the original was on first publishing and it contained the iconinc John Leech designs. However I am over the moon with the presentation of this book. First of all it comes encased in a hard and durable slip case (with the picture you see in the description above printed on the cover). I was glad to see it was not a flimsy card slip case but something that looked nice and will protect the actual book.

Inside the slip case is a red hard back book (small in size, about fifteen-sixteen centimetres in length)with bevelled holly decorations around the outside and a gold embossed holly design in the middle with the title. The spine also features this gold embossed design. It looks absolutely wonderful. The pages have been gold leafed for that extra touch and inside the pages use the original typeface and designs from David Leach. There's a preface to the book which makes an intersting read including Charles Dickens handwritten preface and drafts. Perhaps best of all is the wonderful illustrations and wood cuttings throughout from John Leech, wonderfully printed here on quality paper.

The story is also as the original was (there have been many abridged and altered versions). We all know the story by now, but for the young who may not I can't think of a better gift to receive than this. It will be cherished for a long time by me and I'm sure many others who purchase it. For the price it's an absolute bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately one for the bookshelf!, 6 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
If you wish to own only one version of this timeless tale, make it this one. I have a number of different editions and this is the most lavishly illustrated one I have ever seen. The gorgeous pictures, which look wonderfully Victorian, capture the very essence of each character as described by Dickens. This would make the perfect gift at Christmas.

I have a tradition of reading 'A Christmas Carol' every December, as it is my all-time favourite Dickens story.

With Dickens' words and the wonderfull illustrations, this is an edition to treasure for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dickens Christmas Writings, 9 Feb 2012
Absolutely beautiful book the cover is stunning as are the illustrations and the stories are of course wonderful. Would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful Christmas addition to the season, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
If you have never read 'A Christmas Carol' by Charles Dickens, this would be an excellent introduction to a timeless story.

If you already own any copy of the book, add this one too. As it is probably one of the most sumptious copies around. Thick glossy pages and beautiful illustrations, make this a joy for years to come!

I collect different print versions of Dickens' books, and this without a doubt is one of the lovliest I have ever seen.
Get it and make it part of your holiday season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Marley was dead, to begin with.", 13 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Audio CD)
Since its first publication in 1843, the popularity of Charles Dickens' ghostly novella about redemption at Christmas has remained constant.

This means that the potential purchaser of an audiobook of a Christmas Carol is spoilt for choice. Alternative versions by the likes of Martin Jarvis, Patrick Stewart, David Jason, Anton Lesser and Geoffrey Palmer are available, so why should anybody bother with this one?

In two words ... Tom Baker.

His rich, expressive and instantly familiar voice is perfectly suited to this material. As a long time admirer of the works of Dickens, Baker is more than able to wring every drop of humour and pathos from the finely crafted prose.

Unlike some other versions, this is unabridged, so you can enjoy the complete story. Highly recommended, this is sure to become a Christmas favourite in many households.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful presentation, 26 Nov 2007
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol (Hardcover)
A quick look for any Victorian novelist will quickly show that there are any number of versions of the classics available to suit any budget. As they all tell the same story in (mostly) the same words why wouldn't you just buy the cheapest? The answer is in editions like this one.

For a still very reasonable price you get a well made hardback that sits well when you read it and has great illustrations. As a way to get younger children engaged with a great author and a great story this is very effective (thought the Muppets get close as well!)

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent version with a glossary of terms, 10 May 2010
By 
Mr BD - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been put off Dickens by English Literature classes I was finally tempted to read this story and was very glad that I chose this copy.
If you've only ever seen the more popular film adaptations of this story then you'll be surprised at some of this story, as it has been altered a bit in the re-telling. This book has the original text and thankfully a glossary at the back explain some of the expressions used, as they have long since fallen out of use.
A slim book, but worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Christmassy than I'm used to, 16 Feb 2010
By 
H. Jarvis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read 'A Christmas Tree' in one sitting on Christmas Eve, and found it a bit strange. There's no story, none of that classic beginning-middle-end nonsense! It really is just twenty-odd pages of A Christmas Tree! But please don't misunderstand me - this in-depth, exhaustively detailed description of a Victorian Christmas Tree is really magical and evocative of a forgotten type of Christmas. Now, I'm not the sort to come over `all Christmassy', but this really did the trick. I reckon that this story is perfect for curling up in a chair in front of a log fire with a glass of mulled wine and a slice of Christmas cake - it will get you in the spirit like nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geoffrey Palmer's narration brings this Yuletide tale alive., 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
The narration brings this Christmas story set in London in the 19th century alive. You can sense the warmth and enchantment of Christmas for the well-to-do Londoners and how this sits uncomfortably with the poverty and cold of London for the poor. Palmer's energetic reading conveys to the listener the amazing transformation in mood and character of Scrooge - from his tight-fisted, penny-pinching meanness at the beginning of the story through to his joyous, bountiful, child-like generosity towards its end. This audio book is a must have for old and young and is particularly enjoyable to hear during the run up to Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol (Collins Classics)
A Christmas Carol (Collins Classics) by Charles Dickens (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£2.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews