Customer Reviews


739 Reviews
5 star:
 (469)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Of Alice
People tend to lump "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" and "Through the Looking-Glass (and What Alice Found There)" into one collection which has taken on the new title of "Alice in Wonderland". This is probably a product of the movies, which took bits and pieces from each and made a composite adventure. This was possible, because Lewis Carroll (a.k.a. Reverend Charles...
Published on 28 July 2009 by Dave_42

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Signet Classic - Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass
This edition is a good bargain at under £3; it includes the original Tenniel illustrations which give a great feel for the truly bizarre nature of Alice's journey. However, I have a few problems with its blurb, which for a start describes Alice as following a "hasty hare" underground, and spells "imaginitive", well, imaginatively. The essay by Martin Gardner is an okay...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Kate


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Of Alice, 28 July 2009
People tend to lump "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" and "Through the Looking-Glass (and What Alice Found There)" into one collection which has taken on the new title of "Alice in Wonderland". This is probably a product of the movies, which took bits and pieces from each and made a composite adventure. This was possible, because Lewis Carroll (a.k.a. Reverend Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) managed to make the stories so even in quality that they can be put together seamlessly. He also managed to keep the stories enough different, that one can still enjoy reading both of them one after the other, without the feeling that the second is just a retelling of the first.

To be sure, there are several ways in which the stories are similar, but not to the point where it detracts from the reader's enjoyment of the story. There are only three characters which appear in both books, one of which is Alice. The other notable characters (the Cheshire Cat, the Queen of Hearts, Tweedledum and Tweedledee, Humpty Dumpty, etc.) are well distributed between the two books. Thus there is a looking-glass between the two, just as the looking-glass plays such a key role in the second book.

The Penguin Classics edition of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass" includes both books including the illustrations by John Tenniel. It also includes the original "Alice's Adventures under Ground" which includes Lewis Carroll's artwork. For additional features, it includes `"Alice" on the Stage' an article which Lewis Carroll wrote after seeing a production of the stage version, and it includes preface's to the books which Lewis Carroll wrote in 1896 for the 1897 editions. There are wonderful notes for both books, and a very informative introduction by Hugh Haughton. There is other supporting material as well. To sum up, this edition has pretty much anything one could want, other than a complete collection of Carroll's work.

A last comment on the introduction, it covers the biographical information for Reverend Dodgson, and the information on how the stories came about. Some of this information may detract from one's enjoyment of the story, but one can certainly understand the decision to include it for those who are interested in Reverend Dodgson and his life. All in all, this edition is packed with everything and will suit those who just want to read the stories as well as those who want to delve deep into their origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you to a magical, mystical world- essential read!, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I picked this book up again aged 26 having not read it for 15 years and it transported me to a magical, mystical world where anything was possible! Lewis Carroll's classic tale of childhood fantasy is a must read for all children and adults alike! Carroll's art lies in description...allow him to indulge you in tales of Mad Hatters having tea parties with White Rabbits in the woods, the terrifying Queen of Hearts threatening to behead the body-less Cheshire Cat and lotions and potions saying 'Drink Me'...will she grow or will she shrink...read the book to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. K. J. Hawk "Kali" (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a VERY beautiful book.
I am guilty of often buying more than one copy of a book, one to read and one to keep.
This is one I would try to keep in good condition.
It has the original illustrations in it, looks like an 'old' book, one that would grace any library in a gothic type mansion.
As a book lover, I don;t just enjoy reading them, I enjoy collecting beautiful books too, and this is one of them.
I won;t comment on the story as, I suspect anyone looking at this knows the story very well but, if you want a beautiful book that you'll want to keep safe forever, this is certainly one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well formatted and illustrated., 17 Jun 2011
This has all the proper formatting: the mouse's tale wiggles across the page and the first verse of Jabberwocky appears in mirror writing. The way the poems wrap from line to line is odd, however, words are often split across two lines.

The illustrations are the classic John Tenniel ones. The table of contents allows you to jump to any chapter.

As for the actual books, even people who haven't read them will recognise a lot because they are so widely quoted. The stories aren't all that coherent but when the conversations are that good, who needs coherence?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful reading, appeals to all ages, 3 Oct 2001
I read the original text of Carroll's masterpiece when I was 18 years old (I'm 22 now). I knew only interpretations made by Russian writers before. They were funny but not comparable to the original. So I enjoyed myself from the first page of Alice's Adventures In Wonderland to the last of Through The Looking Glass. The book is so brilliant, full of clever humor, paradoxes and parodies. The so-called "nonsense" is very amusing and by no means without sense. Of course I sometimes missed meanings of Carroll's parodies and allusions. Later I read different references and explanations. The searching of meaning made the book even more interesting in my eyes. There is no need in mentioning characters of both books for they are widely known, but I can't stand the temptation. First of all - Alice herself. She is such a charming and sensible young lady. I laughed a lot at her thoughts and commentaries to the events. And then White Rabbit, Mad Hatter, March Hare, Caterpillar, Cheshire Cat, Mock Turtle, strange birds, the intelligent Mouse, Tweedledee and Tweedledum, Humpty Dumpty, Duchess, King and Queen of Hearts, etc - they are creations of true genius. I also liked immensely Carroll's poems included in the books. I often notice that I am repeating lines from them. As for my favourite The Walrus And The Carpenter, I know it by heart. Wit, fantasy and magic make Alice's Adventures a superb children's book as well as a source of great pleasure for adults. Classical illustrations add more charm to this addition. I prefer them to more modern images (by Disney for example).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Signet Classic - Alice in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass, 4 Aug 2010
This edition is a good bargain at under £3; it includes the original Tenniel illustrations which give a great feel for the truly bizarre nature of Alice's journey. However, I have a few problems with its blurb, which for a start describes Alice as following a "hasty hare" underground, and spells "imaginitive", well, imaginatively. The essay by Martin Gardner is an okay introduction to the text, if a little preachy: "It's hard to understand, but some adults, including a few peculiar psychologists, think fantasy is bad for children." I bought this edition for my Victorian lit set reading since I usually go for the least pricey edition of each text: for penniless students like myself I would recommend it, but for somebody looking for an edition they can collect and keep in the family, you may like to go for the better quality prints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 27 Sep 2006
These are two of the greatest books ever written. They are, of course, not nonsense. They may have been written for children, but their appeal to any reasonably perceptive adult is so intense that those who have fallen under their spell can practically recite the entire texts of both. In fact, they constitute profoundly penetrating statements, or summaries, of the human condition: physical in Wonderland, and intellectual in Looking-Glass. They do not ramble. Every word, every incident, has been chosen with the utmost precision. Tenniel's illustrations are inspired perfection, and the result of prolonged and dedicated collaboration between author and artist. They will never be improved upon, although many have attempted to replace them with their own images. Wonderland is, in effect, an analysis of the significance and sensations of growth and discovery in the development of a human being, advancing from childhood into adolescence. Starting with the trauma of birth, it describes the experience of adjustment to the world of adults, but succeeds nevertheless in demonstrating that adult society is nothing but a construction of charades --- a house of cards. Looking-Glass raises perennial philosophical questions, such as what is reality? what do words actually mean? what is the nature of time, and identity? Does the world consist of as much anti-matter as matter? It is an extraordinarily compressed summary of the riddles of thought and existence. These works are absolute masterpieces of writing: two of the most sophisticated productions ever penned during the late Victorian era. At the same time they are uniquely readable, witty and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Puffin Chalk), 15 April 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Puffin Chalk are a new addition to their Classics editions, with beautiful chalk designs on the covers by illustrator Mary Kate McDevitt. There are a few books in this series and all are lovely additions for your child's bookshelf. Small and light, they are the perfect size for small hands. The interior illustrations are by John Tenniel, but the book has a lovely retro feel about it, with purposely jagged pages and beautiful front and back cover artwork. Although this edition is not a large, gift addition, it will undoubtedly be more comfortable to hold and begs to be picked up and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '"I've a right to think", said Alice sharply...', 7 Aug 2009
...Being a review of the hardback edition of 'Alice's Adventures in Wonderland'

What makes 'Alice's Adventures In Wonderland' such a pleasing and permanent feature of English literature? The language is witty and efficient. The illustrations (here rendered by Mervyn Peake rather than John Tenniel) are expressive and by now depict legendary characters - the Queen of Hearts, the Mock Turtle and the Mad Hatter among plenty of others.

But there is also something about this lyrical little tale that exceeds these elements. Appropriately enough (Lewis Carroll was a Professor of Mathematics), much of the magic turns on plays of logic and dances on that fine line between complicated sense and non-sense. The inhabitants of Wonderland pose Alice (and us) with riddles which hint at the ridiculousness of the world that we've got. It may be a cliche to suggest that children are more open to those kinds of challenges then their more settled and resistant elders. But there might just be something to that too...

Alice herself is a compelling figure - pugnacious, precocious and adventurous. Through her, we are treated to a surrealist manifesto stuffed with the kind of themes that plague more self-consciously 'serious' literature - show trials, unchecked authority and cruelty to children.

Strongly recommended, for old as much as for young minds. Especially in this lovely edition, with its lovely thick paper and comforting weight. Will Self argues in his loving introduction that every great children's book can be reduced to the power of a single word, and that in this case that word is 'curious'. That aphorism smacks strongly of truth. Alice is curious, which is how she gets sucked into this adventure, but this little gem is curious too, and remains hugely preferable to any contemporary 'children's' story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths in Alice in Wonderland, 28 April 2009
Apart from being a beautifully written children's story book it is also an intellectual book very cleverly put together.You can take from it whatever your imagination perceives.
As a primary school teacher it is one of my most important resources for mathematics and a treasured possession.
I use extracts from the book to teach number work throughout the whole of the two key stages. Mostly, I use it as an introduction to concepts and operations of number.In KS1 The cheshire cat delights children when I draw it on the board and use it in subtraction to show it "vanished quite slowly to the grin." This leads to investigative activities on subtraction and 'difference' and children are motivated to achieve the grin!
At KS2 fun can be had determining whether an operation has commutative properties by introducing the dormouse at the mad hatter's tea party and reciting his ideas of what is the same and what is not. "I breathe when I sleep" and "I sleep when I breathe." These little quotes lead to discussion about links with the four operations of number and children are very imaginative with their own ideas.
I could go on with all the other subtle links with mathematics and the funny distortions of the operations. "the different branches of arithmetic are,ambition,distraction,uglification and derision."
You can have fun finding out how many times the number two appears in the book and link all the stretching and reducing to different areas of maths and find out how lessons can lessen!
The whole purpose of the book was to entertain children and incite adults to look for the subtleties in the book. It is riddled with mathematical inferences. It's really quite brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Collins Classics)
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Collins Classics) by Lewis Carroll (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews