Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now Learn More

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2008
This is an excellent little reference book, thorough yet portable. Unlike the Collins Complete British Wildlife guide which provides only half a dozen lines and one image for each entry, the Collins Complete British Animals dedicates a couple of pages to each species - one containing identification details, habitats, habits, obervation details, and distribution maps, and the other containing multiple photographs. It might not have as much breadth as the Wildlife guide, but it has far, far more substance.

At the back of the book there are also sections to help with identifying skulls, antlers, droppings, rodent nests, and tracks, and also plans for making bat and dormouse boxes.

It probably goes without saying that it is an animal guide - if you want birds and fish, look elsewhere. That said, reptiles and even whales and dolphins are correctly included.

But I think I should point out, having read another review here, it does not have all the domesticated species. It does have a nod towards the goat, Soay Sheep and Chillingham Cattle, but thats it. But that's not a criticism, it's a wildlife book after all, and a useful one.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
The descriptions and photographs fro each species are very detailed and useful. The only thing I would have like would be slightly space given to more detailed distribution maps.

It is good that Collins have included ferrel and domestic species. One thing I do like about this book is the final chapter which gives advice on observing animals. It is usefulto carry in a rucksack for use in the field.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The author has written many of the Collins Wildlife books including the Complete British Birds and this continues the high standard of the others. The book contains excellent photographs and ample room is given to each animal.

The book is a guide to all mammals, amphibians and reptiles that live in the British Isles. There is all the information you are ever likely to need including the tracks that they leave on the ground, their habitat, feeding habits etc. The book also includes all the species of domesticated animal as well.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
great book for the beginner or anyone interested in all the animals of Britain. For each species there are great photos, a detailed description of habits, habitat, observation tips and history etc. Delivery came fast too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2008
Excellent book with good pictures and ample space devoted to each animal. Particularly like the setions on tracks & other sign. We finally identified the Poo our chocolate Labrador keeps rolling in. It was Hedgehog!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
Disappointed (and returned mine straight away). Poor layout making it unclear for looking things up quickly (e.g. when "in the field"). Photos are horrible - circular on a cluttered background that confuses the eye - a classic example of how not to lay things out. Description says two pages per species but only some species get this. Some have just a brief paragraph. All the wasted space with circular photos could have been used so much better (e.g. more varied photos) and much clearer. When you see many of the amateur efforts at wildlife photography you have to wonder what Collins are playing at.

The old Collins Field Guides were excellent (and I have loads) but this is rubbish. Looks rushed-out top printers because some marketing person thought they could make some money with no real effort of cost. Collins should be well embarrassed by this book. In the past they have done so much better (not sure what their current non-"Photo Series" is like because the one I would want is "out-of-print" !!).

Come on Collins - you can do much much better than this (and have done).
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I got this book during my countryside management course to increase my identification skills and general knowledge of the environment. it suited me perfectly with concise information, and a wide range of species. along with its excellent photographic illustrations showing you the species as you would.
it is great book for naturalists old and young, with such a wide audience the book is easy to read and quick to find the species that you're looking for.
i would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
splendid colour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
British Animals by Collins is and ideal addition to my collection of Collins Complete Guide books. It gives me a complete reference I need on that subject..
I did need to purchase a plastic cover for it as this keeps the books in good condition.
I have been using Collins Complete Guides for a number of years and find them excellent and perfect for my needs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
Excellent service.Well packaged quickly posted.What more do you want,excellent book,as expected.Use this seller with confidence
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)