Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good balance
This is an excellent little reference book, thorough yet portable. Unlike the Collins Complete British Wildlife guide which provides only half a dozen lines and one image for each entry, the Collins Complete British Animals dedicates a couple of pages to each species - one containing identification details, habitats, habits, obervation details, and distribution maps, and...
Published on 1 Feb 2008 by NARV

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor in several respects
Disappointed (and returned mine straight away). Poor layout making it unclear for looking things up quickly (e.g. when "in the field"). Photos are horrible - circular on a cluttered background that confuses the eye - a classic example of how not to lay things out. Description says two pages per species but only some species get this. Some have just a brief paragraph...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by Deimos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good balance, 1 Feb 2008
By 
NARV (Hereford, The Marches) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent little reference book, thorough yet portable. Unlike the Collins Complete British Wildlife guide which provides only half a dozen lines and one image for each entry, the Collins Complete British Animals dedicates a couple of pages to each species - one containing identification details, habitats, habits, obervation details, and distribution maps, and the other containing multiple photographs. It might not have as much breadth as the Wildlife guide, but it has far, far more substance.

At the back of the book there are also sections to help with identifying skulls, antlers, droppings, rodent nests, and tracks, and also plans for making bat and dormouse boxes.

It probably goes without saying that it is an animal guide - if you want birds and fish, look elsewhere. That said, reptiles and even whales and dolphins are correctly included.

But I think I should point out, having read another review here, it does not have all the domesticated species. It does have a nod towards the goat, Soay Sheep and Chillingham Cattle, but thats it. But that's not a criticism, it's a wildlife book after all, and a useful one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 25 July 2011
The descriptions and photographs fro each species are very detailed and useful. The only thing I would have like would be slightly space given to more detailed distribution maps.

It is good that Collins have included ferrel and domestic species. One thing I do like about this book is the final chapter which gives advice on observing animals. It is usefulto carry in a rucksack for use in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Photographs Make the Book, 13 Aug 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The author has written many of the Collins Wildlife books including the Complete British Birds and this continues the high standard of the others. The book contains excellent photographs and ample room is given to each animal.

The book is a guide to all mammals, amphibians and reptiles that live in the British Isles. There is all the information you are ever likely to need including the tracks that they leave on the ground, their habitat, feeding habits etc. The book also includes all the species of domesticated animal as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect addition to the set of Collins Complete Guide Books., 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete British Animals: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
British Animals by Collins is and ideal addition to my collection of Collins Complete Guide books. It gives me a complete reference I need on that subject..
I did need to purchase a plastic cover for it as this keeps the books in good condition.
I have been using Collins Complete Guides for a number of years and find them excellent and perfect for my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, perfect for any naturalist!!!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete British Animals: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
I got this book during my countryside management course to increase my identification skills and general knowledge of the environment. it suited me perfectly with concise information, and a wide range of species. along with its excellent photographic illustrations showing you the species as you would.
it is great book for naturalists old and young, with such a wide audience the book is easy to read and quick to find the species that you're looking for.
i would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 7 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book with good pictures and ample space devoted to each animal. Particularly like the setions on tracks & other sign. We finally identified the Poo our chocolate Labrador keeps rolling in. It was Hedgehog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete British Animals: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent service.Well packaged quickly posted.What more do you want,excellent book,as expected.Use this seller with confidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor in several respects, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Collins Complete British Animals: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
Disappointed (and returned mine straight away). Poor layout making it unclear for looking things up quickly (e.g. when "in the field"). Photos are horrible - circular on a cluttered background that confuses the eye - a classic example of how not to lay things out. Description says two pages per species but only some species get this. Some have just a brief paragraph. All the wasted space with circular photos could have been used so much better (e.g. more varied photos) and much clearer. When you see many of the amateur efforts at wildlife photography you have to wonder what Collins are playing at.

The old Collins Field Guides were excellent (and I have loads) but this is rubbish. Looks rushed-out top printers because some marketing person thought they could make some money with no real effort of cost. Collins should be well embarrassed by this book. In the past they have done so much better (not sure what their current non-"Photo Series" is like because the one I would want is "out-of-print" !!).

Come on Collins - you can do much much better than this (and have done).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 1 Aug 2010
By 
S. R. Mcgann "Sue" (suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great! I bought this for my husband, he was thrilled with it. Would buy for anyone else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fingertip info, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete British Animals: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Collins Complete Guides) (Paperback)
ONLY criticism is it doesn't fit my pocket... Does, however, fit in my shoulder bag. Highly recommend as an essential addition to a nature photographer's library..Also purchased British Wildlife and British Birds... All excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews