Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found myself taking this into the bathroom with me!
I was given Magician as a present about a year ago and since then I have been avidly chasing up as many as I could find of Feist (and Wurts). The Daughter of the Empire took you through Mara's early adulthood when she was still really a child expected to run the Acoma House and not get assassinated in the process. You really feel for Mara as she is forced to marry for...
Published on 13 April 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A slower pace
Following on from Daughter of the Empire, this book expands on Mara's task of consolidating the position of House Acoma.
With the profit gained from the silk trade she buys Midkemian slaves to cultivate her land and further increase her wealth.
One of them is , unknown to her, a noble in his own land. Naturally she falls in love with him etc, etc, etc.
I'm...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by Book Addict


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found myself taking this into the bathroom with me!, 13 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Servant of the Empire (Paperback)
I was given Magician as a present about a year ago and since then I have been avidly chasing up as many as I could find of Feist (and Wurts). The Daughter of the Empire took you through Mara's early adulthood when she was still really a child expected to run the Acoma House and not get assassinated in the process. You really feel for Mara as she is forced to marry for political stability and use her wiles to extricate herself and her heir. I often found myself being outraged at how she was treated in the marriage (which is I am sure the intention of the authors). The destruction of the Minwanabi House has become her goal in recompense for the deaths of her father and brother. The Servant of the Empire sees the House of the Acoma as strong but not without enemies. It focussed much more on the "barbarian" slaves and the class system than before. Mara buys Midkemian soldiers captured in the Riftwar but finds herself drawn to one, a tall red headed slave named Kevin. Unbenownst to Mara, Kevin is the son of a noble himself and so chaffs for his freedom greatly while being the leader by the rest of the Midkemians with him. Becoming Mara's lover, he is torn between his love for her and the seemingly inexplicable nature of her world where he is regarded as little more than her property. Mara is herself in turmoil as she finds herself challenging tradition more and more. All the while she is being systematically hunted by the family of her enemy house, and fears greatly for the life of her son. The story here intertwines with Magician but seen from the Tsurani world. The Destruction of the Games by Pug sent more ripples in motion than was ever considered in Magician from the Midkemian side. The Mistress of the Empire...well...I am only a couple of chapters into it but already it looks to surpass all that has gone before. I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Servant of the Empire (Paperback)
If you haven't read this series then do - you'll know why when you're still sat there at 4 in the morning keeping your eyes open with matchsticks but still unable to put the book down. Excellent characterization, particularly Kevin. (After you've read this series give REF's other books a read too - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Builds wonderfully on the first novel. The action and keeps coming and the stakes rise each time. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raymond Feist and Janny Wurts at their absolute best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
being a fan of this author i really enjoy his style and Jenny Wurts seems to add to it flawlessly. Wasn't sure I really liked the ending as it seemed rushed and cut short but still entertaining. The whole trilogy was a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is written ages after I have read the book so it tells you how much I liked it that I remember how good it was. fantasy yes, good writing yes, good story yes. Lots of intrigue and all done with that oriental feel. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Magician continues (II), 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second In the trilogy. The setting and characters expertly woven into the backdrop of a human vs alien cultures without sci-fi.
Fascinating how Feist continues the descriptive text and pulls the reader further into his fantasy worlds. It is so readable but must have been challenging to write!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars servant of the empire, 24 Aug 2013
By 
V. E. Barrett (angmering, west sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Servant of the Empire (Empire Trilogy 2) (Paperback)
I was delighted with this book, having read the whole series I hadnt read this, I was amazing and I wish there was more than just the 3. raymond e feist and janny wurts make a great team, it was really good to get a feel of how things were the other side of the rift, the story was brilliant, I am now re-reading magician and its amazing how much everything ties in. For the new reader it would be best read at least after magician, but it really is superb regardless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Tale, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Stephen R. Coombs "Genuine Guy" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Class Feist telling of story knee deep in rounded interesting characters, really feel like you are there part of the saga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant read could'nt put it down have now read all of the series. and they are all so full of plots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Servant of the Empire (Empire Trilogy 2)
Servant of the Empire (Empire Trilogy 2) by Janny Wurts (Paperback - 2 Sep 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews