Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on Track
Aberdeen is the setting for this tale about the kidnapping of rising talent show stars Alison & her daughter Jenny McGregor. The investigation by DS Logan McRae and his colleagues at Grampian Police takes twists and turns as the media and the public demand action. The public attempt to raise the ransom while the race is on to beat deadlines laid down by the...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Midnight

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting a bit boring
I seem to be swimming against the tide as all other reviewers found this book excellent. It's not bad but I feel Logan is becoming a bit of a bore and the same old characters go through the motions of finding a murderer in Aberdeen. Logan solves the crimes with some amazing insights which the others miss, but he always the one pulled up before professional standards. He...
Published 1 month ago by janner37


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on Track, 7 Jan 2011
By 
Midnight - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Aberdeen is the setting for this tale about the kidnapping of rising talent show stars Alison & her daughter Jenny McGregor. The investigation by DS Logan McRae and his colleagues at Grampian Police takes twists and turns as the media and the public demand action. The public attempt to raise the ransom while the race is on to beat deadlines laid down by the kidnappers.

I have to say I have read all of Stuart MacBride's books since his debut novel 'Cold Granite' which also featured Logan McRae, so had pre-ordered 'Shatter the Bones'. This was the 7th book in the series.
I have to be honest and state I had in fact approached this latest book with a certain amount of trepidation - having thoroughly enjoyed a number of the previous books by the author, I had felt he had gone off track a little and the levels of profanity seemed to go off the scale.

He is certainly back on track with this book. I read it in one day and couldn't put it down. A gripping tale interlaced with humour giving an unusual mix.

If you haven't read any Stuart MacBride novels before and enjoy a good police/thriller read - buy this, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with a vengeance, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've followed MacBride's DS Logan McRae and the Grampian Police Force over the previous six books, you'll know what to expect from these dark, gritty yet touched with a certain raw humour novels; only this seventh is better.

As others have said and as I have opined in other reviews, through MacBride, Logan seemed to have lost his way and the previous books lacked the sense of foreboding and tension we'd found in the first books. Now all that is back.

Logan is on tremendous form and even DI Steel seems to have refound her cojones. Naturally enough these days, there's a stupid Superintendant from SOCA to contend with alongside the riff-raff and worse dotted around Aberdeen.

In this book, Logan meets out his own revenge after events take a serious turn for the worse in his own life. All the while, though, he barely misses a step in his determination to find out who has kidnapped mother and daughter Z-list celebs on Reality TV - MacBride is nothing if not topical. And then, there's a missing drug-addicted woman, her less than charming boyfriend. Throw in a couple of pseudo-Yardies and we have almost a full set.

What I have omitted is the the point behind the title and here you will have to read the book to see how that shapes (or misshapes) up.

All in all, this is an excellent crime thriller - almost a drama, really, as we get to grips with The Grampians and its inhabitants. It's a pity we see these books only once a year although, on balance, it may take 12 months to settle down after reading 'Shatter The Bones', so it's perhaps as well that we give the author some time to think up some further nasties for his next Logan McRae outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shatter the Bones, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Ted Feit (Long Beach, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Alison McGregor and her six-year-old daughter, Jenny, Aberdeen's huge favorites to win the competition on the hit tv show Britain's Next Big Star, have made it to the semi-finals. Suddenly they are kidnapped, and the ransom note soon received says they will be killed if an indeterminate ransom is not paid within fourteen days. Contributions are made across the country from their millions of fans. The police are stymied - there are no witnesses, and no trace of forensic evidence can be found on either the ransom notes or the gruesome videos which the police are examining, and there are absolutely no clues as to who is behind the crime. Needless to say, the media, and the public, are in an uproar, and the detectives are being hounded by both, as well as by the head of the CID and other investigative agencies.

There is a second story line dealing with a routine drug bust which goes seriously awry, with the drug dealer managing to escape despite handcuffs and the presence of numerous police officers designed to prevent just that from happening. The ramifications of this are far-reaching and brutal, and very personal for DS Logan MacRae.

This latest entry in this wonderful series moves at a slower pace than I remembered the earlier books being, perhaps reflective of the actual way in which serious crime investigations happen in real life. But trust me, by the time the reader approaches the wrap-up of this well-written tale of celebrity culture run amok, the reader will be turning the pages swiftly to reach the suspense-filled ending as time is running out and the deadline approaches.

Logan MacRae, his significant other, Samantha, and the cops on the Grampian Police force who readers have met in the earlier books are wonderfully well drawn. MacRae is a very human and believable protagonist, and I can't wait for his return in the next series entry. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from McBride, 24 April 2011
By 
D. Thomson (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All too often, when an author is creating a series, the characters seem to run out of steam and the storylines become tired and contrived..Patricia Cornwell's Scarpetta and Kathy Reichs' Tempe Brennan are classic examples.
Ian Rankin left Rebus still at the top of his game, and I'm sure Logan MacRae has a lot of mileage in him yet before McBride feels he's taken him as far as he can go.
This is another gritty and gripping story set against the usual granite backdrop of Aberdeen. Well constructed storyline and some wonderful characterisation..Roberta Steel could almost justify a series of her own.
This is a worthy edition to the MacRae series and its ending leaves regular readers eager for the next, as there are some important issues to be resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jan 2011
By 
S. Beaton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of MacBride's books and so I could not wait to start reading this one. I was not disappointed.

As usual the book is based in Aberdeen, following DS Logan McRae as he investigates another investigation in the North East.

This time we follow the kidnap of Alison and her young daughter Jenny who are singing sensations on a popular reality TV show.

Will they be found before they are murdered? Will the Police find the kidnappers before it is too late? or will they make a mess of yet another investigation?

As usual we follow Logan through the investigation but also through his personal life. As expected his life is not plain sailing, full of drama and edge of the seat suspense.

Twists and turns through the book mean that until the last few pages you have no idea who the kidnappers are and what is going to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gruesome, witty and slightly surreal, everything that makes the Logan McRae books so good. I cannot recommend these books enough. Other reviews feel that these are too gruesome and that Logan has been warped but I still love him and the whole police force. Cannot wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Humour, 22 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shatter the Bones (Logan McRae, Book 7) (Paperback)
This is the seventh mystery/police procedural by Stuart MacBride. After the second book, the stories seemed to run on to each other, but it seems DS Logan McRae is back on track. What I don't understand, really, is why Logan has not been promoted after all of his solved crimes.

Stuart MacBride, manages to combine a dark and gritty subject matter with a black humour that can be laugh out loud funny in places. We find Logan involved in finding two contestants from a reality TV show Britain's Next Big Star. Singers mom Alison McGregor, and her daughter Jenny were kidnapped, and will be released if enough money is raised by a deadline. And if that's not enough to deal with, McRae is accused of rape by a local prostitute and needs to find out just what's behind the accusation.

This is a very dark storyline. The grimness of this story is unrelenting. The characters are all well crafted and continue to develop through the series. DI Steel in particular goes on her merry way, chain smoking and creating chaos wherever she goes. This is not for the faint-hearted. However if you like your crime fiction strong and dark, this one is for you.

Recommended. prisrob 04-22-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Getting a bit boring, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I seem to be swimming against the tide as all other reviewers found this book excellent. It's not bad but I feel Logan is becoming a bit of a bore and the same old characters go through the motions of finding a murderer in Aberdeen. Logan solves the crimes with some amazing insights which the others miss, but he always the one pulled up before professional standards. He also suffers from various injuries as he tries to help people who usually don't appreciate his efforts. I don't suppose for a moment Stuart Macbride will care about my reservations as everyone else seems to love the book but, whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!!, 26 Jan 2011
I have read all of the books in this series. And to keep it short and sweet i loved it. I found the one liners really tickle my sense of humour and DI Steele is like a crazy aunt that you dread coming round because you know she will be chatting up your mates.Its also very descriptive of Aberdeen and you can really imagine the areas mentioned.Dont want to give the story away but would suggest it would be daft to start with this book if you have never read any of the authors books before. But as a parent i found it really creepy. Even more freaked out than i was reading Flesh House and that turned me veggie for a while. But well worth a read.As one of the previous posters said i cant believe that this series of books hasnt been picked up by a production company. Hopefully sometime soon.As long as the author gets a LOT of input!!! Almost makes me proud to be Aberdonian!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back on form, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Ter (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. The recent, way over the top gore is not present. DI Steel is less of a comedy character, and far more believable. The main character is much stronger, more like the first few books. The travelogue around Aberdeen has been stepped back from, a shame in some ways - this is maybe the first book in this series where I have not been as conscious of wandering around the city - but it stills gives a feeling of where the story is based. The weather plays no real part at all - first time ever! Only negative perhaps is the very extremely odd Superintendent - maybe a touch too simple a fallguy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shatter the Bones (Logan McRae, Book 7)
Shatter the Bones (Logan McRae, Book 7) by Stuart MacBride (Paperback - 5 Jan 2012)
£3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews