Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bible of the DeaD
Good story well written. Some of the events mentioned are
quite horrfying, but they are historic fact none the less.
It just goes to show the level of research that Tom Knox
must go to achieve the finished product.I wonder where Tom
wil pick for his next adventure??
Published on 31 May 2011 by john Osborne

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
Having read his last two books I was excited to read this, his latest book. However, in my opinion this book does not live up to the rest.

It starts well with an archaeological discovery in a french cave which is hushed up and an english journalist/photographer getting involved in some work with a UN investigation into the Khymer Rouge in Laos to 'get his...
Published on 7 May 2011 by Love to Read


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good meaty thriller, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Tom Knox writes in an easy descripted way that keeps you wanting to turn the next page. Bible of the Dead is an exciting story taking the reader to the far east and new cultures. A real thriller mixing the old and the new, and the real with fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bit shocking, but a bit good, 18 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Even though it was a bit horrific that i hadnt been expecting in places, it kept me having to read it and glad i did.I thought it was skilfully and intelligently well written.Fact that it was historic and gave us a sense of what went on in that country rather than just doing it by way of a war film i thought was a really good idea. Recommended read if you can live with the nastiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bible of the Dead by Tom Knox, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Less gory than other Tom Knox novels I've read, and with a darker (and perhaps more satisfying) ending. Otherwise, the now usual mix of journalists/archaeologists/police investigating the same mystery in different parts of the world, eventually joining forces for the climax.

Would have given it four stars, except I disagree with the line the author seems to be pushing in the final chapters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Read!, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Paperback)
Absolutely Love Tom Knox! Think all his books are fantastic and literally have you gripped from begining to end. Good condition too, really pleased with this purchase. Kind regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dark, dark, dark..., 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Paperback)
Although I found this book impossible to put down, the graphic references to the Khymer Rouge and Cambodia's tragic and horrific history made it an extremely difficult and emotionally demanding read. As a keen James Rollins fan, this book fell into a similar mold in many ways, drawing in strains of Scientific development and historical significance. However, I found the ending dissatisfying. Totally not worth the emotional energy I expended in reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 9 Aug 2011
By 
L CLEMENTS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
WOW!!! I LOVE Tom Knox books, they are so different from all other books around, not only are they full with real facts, ( some of which are shocking to find out) but the books are so imformative. The book has a religous sounding title but it's not really religous.

As soon as i started this book i was gripped, i even googled the info in it!!! its excellent.

This is definately a book for any one who is interested in books that are thrilling, exciting, excellently written and simply fantastic for keeping your brain active.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark thriller but fascinating history woven into story, 9 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Kindle Edition)
I can't resist anything remotely connected to religion and this book was especially interesting because it is mainly centred around Laos, and I don't know much at all about that area. I love to learn as I read these thrillers so I was fascinated by the history and the travel writing as the characters move through the landscape.

I would say this book has elements of horror. It is quite graphically violent in part and there are some occult, nasty objects like the smoke babies which could give you nightmares as well as the killing fields of the Khmer Rouge, descriptions of torture and a gruesome monkey lab. The book is very dark, and a lot of times I didn't actually want to read on but the story kept me reading which is testament to the author, I think.

There are two parallel stories, the first starts in a cave in France where Julia, a young archaeologist discovers skeletons with strange holes in their skulls. Then her professor and friend are killed in a horrific manner and she has to track down the remaining scientists who know about bones before they too are massacred. The other starts on the Plain of Jars in Laos where similar skeletons are found on a site still protected by Communists. The body count starts to mount up pretty fast from then on. The main protagonists are Jake, a down and out photographic journalist and Chemda Tek, a Cambodian scholar researching the mystery at the Plain of Jars. The Communists try to protect the secret of the plains by killing the remaining scientists and Jake and Chemda go on the run. The story basically follows their journey across Cambodia and how their relationship develops under the pressure of being pursued by her family, and the powerful communists. Even the ending is dark so I recommend it with a warning for the more sensitive reader.

Why keep reading: '
You want to know why these skulls are protected and what is the mystery behind them, and then how Chemda and Jake will escape the bad guys. It's definitely fast paced as well so it keeps you engaged. We learn that Chemda's grandmother willingly underwent the procedure and how it affected her and others who aimed to change human behaviour. I enjoy psychology so the frontal lobe science background was interesting '
You are definitely horrified by the lengths that people will go to in order to protect the information and there was also a lot about how the Khmer Rouge treated people, killed millions and how life was for the Cambodians. I didn't know much about this time of history or the country, so I read on to learn more, as well as to absorb the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The human factor, 24 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Paperback)
Yet again Knoxy pulls it off with a novel jam-packed with twists and turns. He lends a distinct feel to his narratives. Basically the guy understands human beings, or at least those he has met and those he's created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 85 percent with vanilla, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Paperback)
I'd compare this to green and black's chocolate - maybe the 70 percent or 85 percent one where they put vanilla in to soften the intensity of the cocoa.

Why? How?

Well firstly Tom Knox is a quality writer - a proper writer - someone who lives and breathes and has their wits about them, eyes open. A sensitive guy yet probably quite brave as he seems to spend half the year travelling to some pretty far out places for research and travel writing.

In every one of his novels you can see a certain brilliance, a quickness, in devising compelling narratives and plots.

and the vanilla - well that's the genius of bible of the dead - it is dark, disturbing even - but the ability to create these amazing characters just takes the edge off things.

I would recommmend but its difficult sometimes to explain just how good this book is without getting carried away into silly chocolate metaphors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars grim reading, 23 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bible of the Dead (Paperback)
Bit grim this! I think the author wants to rid himself of issues he has with Kampuchea and the atrocities of the Pol Pot regime. We get a lot of detail of torture and misery and not a lot of entertainment.
It's all very worthy but I was glad to finish it. I also gripe a little with this and many similar books where the main heroes/victims/adventurers get to zip here, there and everywhere with no hold ups, hang ups or visa requirements. I realise the reader doesn't want boring narrative about airport check-ins but a spot of reality would be welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bible of the Dead
Bible of the Dead by Tom Knox (Paperback - 17 Mar 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews