Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars32
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2010
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed The Genesis Secret, I was looking forward to this book. It has some good sections but the believability of it all became a bit farcical and there were a few plot errors along the way.

Reasonable but not a patch on the Genesis Secret.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I had purchased a couple of paperback copies of this author's books cheaply from Amazon to take away as holiday reading and I am glad that I did not pay the full retail price.

The storyline was good, the historical background well researched and the fictional elements well linked thoughtout for the most part but was wasted because of the sub-standard writing in places and some of the glaring errors in reality which could easily have been avoided but gave the story a rather amateur feel.

I really wanted to like this book and persevered to the end because the theory behind the story was basically very good and could have been better developed into a really enthralling tale, but this offering was just not up to scratch.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
The Marks of Cain captures the reader immediately with the excitement of the chase when two strangers from London David Martinez, a lawyer, and Simon Quinn, a journalist, find themselves in serious jeopardy as each person's separate paths brings them together as they close in on torturous killings that would give anyone an "inexplicable shiver on a very warm day".

From his hospice bed in Arizona, David Martinez's Granddad attempts at making a bedside confession of David's genealogy and how David became orphaned. Unbeknownst to David, his grandfather is a millionaire; he bequeaths his fortune to David but with a stipulation that David must utilize part of the cash to fly to the Basque Country in Europe and find Jose' Garovillo and ask Jose' about the map of churches that David's Granddad gave David just before he took his last breath.

In the meantime, Simon Quinn, a free-lance journalist, and Bob Sanderson, Detective Chief Inspector (DCI), in England, were mystified with a recent homicide in Primrose Hill. A woman, formerly from the South of France was found brutally tortured and murdered in her home. This barbaric torture "knotting" was once known as garroting and it had been expertly done. Hers was just the beginning of a sequence of murders and the disappearance of a brilliant scientist; an epic journey to a ferocious rivalry between closely related species.

***** FIVE STARS!Author Tom Knox provides the reader with a brilliant, thought-provoking thriller that intertwines history, ethnicity and religion. It tantalizes the reader in wanting to establish the boundaries between fact and fiction and poses the question who are the people known as the Cagots and why were they considered outcasts?

This is a fast-paced, twisted thriller filled with intrigue and drama and by far the best book I've read in 2011. I anxiously await his next novel 'The Lost Goddess'. *****

Reviewed by Carol Couse for Huntress Reviews.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
A plot pretty much akin to an Enid Blyton book. I thought that Genesis Secret was bad enough but Mr Knox has gone over the top with this one. Do all his books involve references to inter-species mating? A bit worrying really. Would love to see the helicopter that can fly from Namibia to Amsterdam and would be very interested to discover when Gaelic Psalm singing (or Gaelic language for that matter)started in Foula !!
A juvenile read at best.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
Some interesting ideas but became sort of sluggish after a while and the characters were not very believable or engaging. Decided I didn't care what happened to any of them and didn't bother finishing it. Left it on a train though so hopefully someone else will pick it up and enjoy it as other reviewers seem to have done.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I picked this book up from the bookswap shelf in our holiday accommodation on Corfu. Not an author I'd heard of before, but the cover and the blurb really appealed to me.

A really good story, engaging and page turning. The story revolves around David, a young lawyer whose Grandfather has just died leaving him an ancient map and $2 million! David had no idea that his Grandfather was so wealthy and all he needs to do is travel to the Basque region of Spain - then he can claim his inheritance. Sounds simple? This is just the beginning!

At the same time, a London journalist Simon is reporting on some pretty mysterious murders - elderly, wealthy people are being brutally murdered, tortured before death, but the victims do not seem to be connected.

The story is narrated alternatively by David and Simon and both stories join up pretty quickly and centres around the Cagots - an allegedly inferior breed of human, rumoured to be descendants of Satan and not from Adam and Eve.

The Marks of Cain is fast paced, thrilling and full of historical detail - some of it true, there is a lot of detail about the experimentation done in the Nazi camps during the war - eugenics. There is also some religion thrown in for good measure.

I enjoyed this thriller and would definitely read more from Tom Knox
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
I have never read this author before but really enjoyed this book. The book was written from two perspectives and that gave it extra depth. Some unexpected twists and turns right up to the end. Would definitely read another of this author's books.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Tom Knox has called upon biblical texts, Nazi experiments to prove Arayan superiority, the Inquisition, closed societies in Spain, France, and Africa, plus Judaism and genetics, to provide fodder for this gripping story.

Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
This is a very original story, I have certainly not read anything else along the same lines. Several very gruesome and perhaps over graphically described murders have been carried out and so Simon a journalist sets out to investigate, meanwhile David, a young lawyer has inherited some mystery money and a map. These two set off on separate adventures and Tom Knox skilfully weaves their two strands of story together.

The story is reminiscent of the Da Vinci Code, and some of Clive Cussler's work. However it is a very original story. Definitely worth reading.

The reason I haven't given this more stars is because there are several deaths, all of which are described in a very detailed way which I felt was a bit unnecessary.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
I very much enjoyed Tom Knox's last book "The Genesis Secret", which was well researched, gruesome in parts and very hard to put down. Accordingly, I had no qualms about buying the latest offering "The Marks of Cain". I do not want to spoil the story, so all I will say is that it is a rollercoaster of a ride that stops off in some rather dark, yet interesting places. The characters in the book are well constructed and literally leap out of the page and grab you by the throat. Again, the research is excellent and delves expertly into little known areas that will fascinate and shock readers in equal measure.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.