Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Volume 6 maybe Scott Pilgrim's finest hour but not his finest book - NO spoilers!, 21 July 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
This is another enjoyable chapter in the life of Scott Pilgrim and like the reader Scott finds contentment and closure within it's conclusion. How, you must discover for yourself. For those of you thinking you can just skip this volume and wait for the film Bryan Lee O'Malley has already revealed that the ending will differ and swore to out do it!

The final book brings Scotts life into focus by forcing him to deal with the reality of his past rather than the jaded, warped, fuzzy, memory cam version he cares to recall. This version of events also happens to be the account presented to us within Scotts previous tales. So you can expect to view these events from a different angle.

As a result Bryan Lee O'Malley manages to bring back most of the books cast to tie up loose ends and answer the questions over shadowing the previous volumes. However at times this does feel forced and interrupts the flow of the book. This is most evident in Scotts long awaited battle with Gideon that I found confused and which just arrives like the fight with Matthew Patel (Ramona's first evil ex-boyfriend) from volume one. I also thought that the rich human element wasn't as strong and felt there were moments where the characters felt off key in their resent incarnation.

In conclusion this volume is worth your money and your time. The graphics convey a true sense of feeling. From just a few lines the characters are instilled with a level depth and personality. The book delivers its usual blend of humour, in references and retro game violence. All in contrast with a touching, thought provoking and very real emotional element. I've always felt there was something comforting and safe about reading Scott Pilgrim. The storey never fails to invoke a sense of nostalgia and I find it hard to accept that anyone who reads them would be unable to catch a glimpse of themselves within. On the bases of how well the film performs an idea for another instalment of Scott Pilgrim is on the drawing boards. So with luck this will mean farewell for now and not good bye for good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great... But a slight letdown, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
It's hard to explain the Scott Pilgrim series to anyone who hasn't read one of the books, all I can do is recommend them with every bone in my body. These books are incredible. However, although this last book packs all the laughs and action that makes the series so great, it doesn't wrap things up quite how you would want, especially if you've become invested in the characters and relationships between them (like I had).
Despite this, the book is a solid four stars and is still a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Round - Fight!, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
The final book in the excellent Scott Pilgrim series winds up a storyline you probably had seen coming from Book 1 - Scott defeats the final Evil-Ex (or the Boss of the final level) and gets the girl. There're spades of anime-style fighting, lots of video game references, and Gideon is as villainous as any villain should be.

But despite its predictability, it's too damn likeable, funny, and entertaining to ever make me feel I was reading something derivative or tired. Scott's too damn charming and his entire strange quest is too much fun to read, it's impossible to put the book down once you've started reading and is equally impossible to dislike in any way shape or form.

The final book in the series lives up to the excellent premise and originality it offered throughout, the story ends satisfactorily, and rather than feeling content, I wanted to read more. So yeah, a pretty damn perfect ending to a pretty damn amazing comic book series. Finest Hour indeed Scott - play again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost Scott Pilgrims finest hour, 20 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
I'm not really sure exactly what i expected from the conclusion of this story and for the most part i felt satisfied, there was a lot of action in this book, which i'm not sure i was happy about but it was to be expected from the final bout with Ramona's most evil ex. there are a lot of allusions to the other volumes which is brilliant for someone like myself but will be very confusing for any newcomers. All in all i would say that any die-hard fans will be torn into a love/hate debate with the conclusion and for anybody new to the series looking to get into the action rather than start from the beginning should pick up volume three instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final battle, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
Sixth and final volume in the Scott Pilgrim graphic novel series.

If you've not read one then why start with the last one? Get this instead: Scott Pilgrim - Scott's Pilgrim's Precious Little Life: Volume 1

If you've read the series all the way up to this point then you'll be up to speed but there is a handy cast of characters on the inside front cover that reminds you of who everyone is and what they're doing at this point in the story.

Which in most cases is growing up and moving on. The early pages show people getting on with their own lives and letting them develop in directions that take them away from Scott. Whilst he's doing nothing much. Except attempting to follow life advice that he's given. With not entirely expected consequences.

The last of the evil ex boyfriends lurks in the background, initially an offscreen presence but Scott is constantly reminded of him. Will Scott man up and fight him? And will he and Ramona get to live happily ever after as a result?

This runs for almost 256 pages, quite a bit longer than most of the other volumes. But that suits it well because it's exactly as long as it needs to be.

The style of this volume is exactly right. Wild video game styled scenes feel exactly right. The evil ex is a very good character. And there's a lot of explanation for a lot of things. Not least some of the style of the series. Possibly.

With every character getting a good closure to their stories this is an enjoyable read and a fine finale to an entertaining series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim Book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who thought this was great. Arrived in good condition to complete the set. Condition was as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim, 11 April 2014
By 
D. R. Allott (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
Bought for my son's birthday as he already has the first five. He was really surprised and pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kids love it, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
Very good book, both of my children love the book series. Definatly recommended.And how annoying having to type so many words before being able to post a review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 April 2013
By 
Brian Taylor (Stockton-on-Tees, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
Read these before the movie came out and had to buy them to have in my collection truly fantastic to read over and over wish the movie followed it more closely but hey the movie was still awesome too :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finest hour., 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) (Paperback)
This book was very good, I could not put it down, even tho it is short as it being a graphic novel it was a very good way to end the whole story and tied up some loose ends I wouldd recommend to anyone has has read the other 5 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim)
Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour: Volume 6 (Scott Pilgrim) by Bryan Lee O'Malley (Paperback - 22 July 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews