Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evil Ex-Boyfriend #2, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Ah Scott Pilgrim, what a cute, funny, numinously readable little comic you are! Scott's new girlfriend Ramona Flowers has a string of Evil Ex-Boyfriends which Scott must battle if he is to have a relationship with her. Following his first battle in the first book, he has a second battle in the second book (I foresee a third boyfriend battle in book 3 and so on), and the battle plays out like superhero Manga fighters rather than hipster twentysomethings in Canada dossing about which is the rest of the book.

But even if it seems that the characters' pursuits are largely vacuous, and they are, it's still an incredibly fun book that makes you want to keep reading once you've started. Something about Scott Pilgrim's puppy-dog innocence and melodramatic behaviour toward tiny things like his sister knowing his girlfriend casually make him likeable and interesting. Even when he's sitting around playing video games, you don't mind that he does this rather than worry about getting a job to pay rent and whatnot - he's a free spirit but not in an insufferable way.

So yeah the Scott Pilgrim odyssey continues with an excellent second volume and I highly recommend the series thus far as shaping out to be great fun for those looking for a larger than life story drawn in an anime style with lots of humour and some cartoonish violence thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim 2, 4 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This second book was entirely as enjoyable as the first, with the same drawing and humour styles, with more background storyline and more attention away from Scott. Some of the time it was difficult to tell who was who, but it comes together in the end. Overall, it is a good read, although as with the first book it doesn't take long to go all the way through - you can easily go through it in one short sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's great, but..., 19 May 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
The first thing I'd like to point out is I did really like this book, which is why I gave it four stars. The dialogue is fantastic, the characters are great, and the style manages to do so much despite being quite simple. If you liked the first volume, Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Life, you'll enjoy this.

The problem I have is that what really sticks in my head are the things I didn't like about the book, which I will admit are minor details and may not bother you at all. After reading the first book, I hoped that the next would devote more time to the Evil exes plot, but I still think this particular story still feels underdeveloped; the evil ex in this story just isn't present enough to have any detail to him, which is a real problem when all the other characters are so well written.

I suppose my issue here is that the story I expected to be the focus was not, and the focus was instead on the relationships between the characters. This isn't a bad thing when the dialogue is this good, but given that the evil exes story line is the one that I was most aware of, to find it fairly absent through the majority of the book was a little disappointing. I haven't read beyond this volume, so I can't say this is a constant in the Scott Pilgrim series, and the plot may be better developed in the next book.

I should say again that the book has great writing and illustration, it's just the story I thought would be the most important is not. I just wanted to say that so that you know what to expect. Otherwise, it's a great little comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 23 May 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
A funny, endearing and oddly moving tale whose only fault is the speed with which it is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim Book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who thought this was great. Arrived in good condition to complete the set. Condition was as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
My 15 year old son brought the first one, and wanted the rest in the series as he loved it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 April 2013
By 
Brian Taylor (Stockton-on-Tees, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Read thpage by page but hey the movie was still awesome tooese before the movie came out and had to buy them to have in my collection truly fantastic read wish the movie followed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice books and a great deal, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Very surprised by the books received, which are a Christmas present. They were good quality, well packed and delivered very quickly. I would recommend these graphic books from the Scot Pilgrim series to anyone who loves graphic story books and highly recommend Amazon for obtaining them at really great prices.
Regards
Eddie
[...]
“Well, I’m stumped! We’ll have to wait for the autopsy”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BIG FAN, over too quickly, gonna buy the third shortly!, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Brilliant comic. don't really know how to describe it! if your thinking of buying this a gift, do it, they're guaranteed to love it. If you're buying this becasue you love the film, i recommend it, there's a lot missed out from the film in terms of detail from the books, very quirky and detailed, will be buying the 3rd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it was a gift for my son, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 (Paperback)
my son says its a good book he has 1 and 2 as well.i went to see scott pilgrim at the cinema with him and the film follows the books very closely.he will be getting the other books for birthday and xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2
Scott Pilgrim vs the World: Volume 2 by Bryan Lee O'Malley (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews