Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three hours of a master at work
Things like these short talks make you realise just how lucky we are to have the BBC. For all its faults, the Beeb gave us David Attenborough and that alone is worth a lifetime's licence fee. These marvelous 10 minute nuggets began life on Radio 4, and were available as free podcast downloads for anyone organized enough to do downloads every week for the entire summer. I...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by Pardo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Re-hash
This is interesting but a re-hash of other things he has written; I had just finished reading Life on Air when I read this and it seemed to be the same without the BBC bits in it.
Published 9 months ago by the trout


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, naturally, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Grev (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Damn, how difficult is this to write a review for?! I know it's brilliant because I've listened to it, you know it's brilliant because it's David Attenborough, I knew it would be brilliant before I'd even heard it as it's David Attenborough...

Much as I'm loath to leave this as a one sentence review, you'll already know if you're likely to buy this CD or not - if you're interested in natural history and you want to spend time in the company of one of the greatest raconteurs since Peter Ustinov, then this CD set is for you. But you already knew that anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star storyteller, 2 Nov 2009
By 
Junior Hornet "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are already 25 reviews here, all of which give 5 stars and who am I to argue?

I've got little to add to what has already been said but want to emphasise the fact that David Attenborough (is he Sir or Lord these days?) is a thoroughly compelling storyteller.

Each of the episodes is 10 minutes long which means that no subject goes on for too long but sometimes, you just wish it would, he is so good. It just goes to show that, despite all the great camera work in his TV Series', it just wouldn't be the same without the great man narrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real treasure., 28 Jan 2010
By 
Lauren Doughton (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's not possible to fault anything done by David Attenborough - his work always represents British Broadcasting at its very best. I've always enjoyed his TV series, and it seems his radio work is no different. There is something about his voice which makes listening to him extremely relaxing, but more than that, having grown up listening and watching him, you know that anything he has put his name to will be informative, authoritative, entertaining and well worth paying attention to, and this CD is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think we're all agreed, then!, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Bill23 (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With 18 5-star reviews already, I can't really add much except to agree with everyone what a delight it is to spend 3+ hours in the company of the Greatest Living Englishman as he chats through 20 x 10 minute little talks on some of the byways of natural history and episodes from his fascinating life. Witty, erudite and informative, he's the ideal travelling companion on the commute to work or a long motorway journey. Thank you David and thanks BBC for this modest delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attenborough at his best, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Cath B - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These were recently broadcast on Radio 4, and give the listener a wonderful insight into a life devoted to the discovery of the natural world. Each episode is captivating and full of quirky and fascinating facts. Attenborough is thoroughly engaging and these CDs are a positive delight. In many ways, I enjoyed these more than I have done his television series as the imagination often provides more than the screen. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series of short documentaries, 3 Nov 2009
By 
James Cameron "Artist / Filmmaker / Nerd" (a world of my own) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This collection of all 20 short audio documentaries which Radio 4 aired across the summer of 2009 make for excellent listening. Sir David Attenborough's insightful information & tales coupled with his and soothing voice make this a great easy listening experience and with it's short 10 minute format, you can listen to as much or as little as you like.
well worth adding to any documentary collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 13 Mar 2011
By 
Ms. J. Musgrave (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life Stories (Hardcover)
Sir David Attenborough has a wonderful style of writing so this was very easy to read (helped, i'm sure, because it was written for radio). I enjoyed the mixture of facts, annecdotes about his own experiences and the wonderful illustrations. I even loved that there were no glossy pages so it felt like a good book to read too - very tactile! I've already pre-ordered the sequel and hope it is released soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's what you would expect, 7 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Stories (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed the book. Importantly for the genre its printed on a nice paper, has exclellent illustrations, etc. The substance is of course first class and as I read it I could almost hear Attenborough's unforgetable intonations... Great read for both adults and children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir David Attenborough at his best, 27 May 2010
By 
T. R. Caris "Ron Caris" (Herten, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Stories (Hardcover)
Sir David Attenborough shared his love of flora and fauna on BBC4. `Life Stories' shares these texts of the broadcasts with us and illustrates his stories with beautiful photography in the tradition of his previous series `Life of... ` books. In these memoirs, Sir David shares his passion of nature whilst taking you to every corner of the earth from fossilized animals to dragons and platypuses ending up with Adam's face. A trip on memory lane worthwhile reading and enjoying for anyone interested in nature or interested in one of the best naturists of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Stories (Hardcover)
present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Stories
Life Stories by Sir David Attenborough (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews