Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift?
In a world where It's A Wonderful Life represents the 'perfect' Christmas, this remarkable book combines whimsy, wit and charm in equal measure. For everyone who admires their elders as wiser, madder and possessing an admirable eccentricity, this book is a wonderful journey through relationships and reminiscence.

With the lightest of touches, this is a...
Published on 2 Oct 2009 by David L. Redmond-roche

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
This is what it says in the Title a whole load of notes for her mother-in-law who was going deaf. The odd one is amusing but I got bored before I was half way through. Not really for me.
Published 2 months ago by Golden Brown


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift?, 2 Oct 2009
By 
David L. Redmond-roche (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Notes to my Mother-in-Law (Hardcover)
In a world where It's A Wonderful Life represents the 'perfect' Christmas, this remarkable book combines whimsy, wit and charm in equal measure. For everyone who admires their elders as wiser, madder and possessing an admirable eccentricity, this book is a wonderful journey through relationships and reminiscence.

With the lightest of touches, this is a beautiful book that will resonate with anyone with a heart made of anything more malleable than tungsten. There is not a better gift for us 'old people' - eg around about 40 and above!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read of the year, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes to my Mother-in-Law (Hardcover)
I treated myself to this book last week, after having read a glowing review in one of the broadsheets. I'm really glad I did. It was worth every penny. I loved it, every last little bit of it. It was funny, sad, touching and delicious. I've just finished it, and I'm torn between reading it again and sending it to everyone I know.

Law has a wonderful eye for the absurd and a knack of telling the most fascinatingly funny anecdotes that literally had me crying with laughter. It truly is the best thing I've read all year. A total treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot recommend this enough. It is an absolute delight. I have been buying it for friends. It is gentle and laugh out loud funny. What a lovely woman she must have been and what a fabulous daughter-in-law to write with such love and affection. Loive it! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Same Thing Has Happened To Me, 12 Nov 2009
This review is from: Notes to my Mother-in-Law (Hardcover)
Excellent book to pick up for short reads and then come back to time and time again. If you have elderly parents/parents in law you will be get an instant mental picture of the same things happening to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely gift, 21 Nov 2009
By 
S. Harding (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Notes to my Mother-in-Law (Hardcover)
This is an ideal gift. Easy reading, very touching in places yet also entertaining and funny. I can relate to the sentiments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book and funny in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny from start to finish. A good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good read, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
phyllida law great writer and storyteller, a laugh out loud book quirks we see in ourselves as old age creeps on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good rea, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book a very funny read I would recomend this book I realy enjoyed it great to have a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what it says in the Title a whole load of notes for her mother-in-law who was going deaf. The odd one is amusing but I got bored before I was half way through. Not really for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Notes to my Mother-in-Law
Notes to my Mother-in-Law by Phyllida Law (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews