Customer Reviews


317 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


253 of 259 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does he ever write a bad book?
I must confess I have read all of Mr Hastings past offerings concerning the Second World War, finding him to be consistently informative about the conflict that never ends - in publisher's eyes at least. In many ways a Hastings book is like your favourite grey cardigan, you slip it on, finding its feel both reassuring and comfy i.e you know what you will get. It is the...
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by Bobby Smith

versus
71 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Hell Let Loose
Generally speaking, Hastings seems to be fairly sound on the broad issues. If I do have doubts, they arise from the treatment of individual incidents of which I already knew a little.

Take the notorious PQ17 convoy to the Soviet Union. Hastings refers to Captain Broome, the commander of the destroyer flotilla. Why doesn't he mention to the subsequent libel...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by RobertEmlyn


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

253 of 259 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does he ever write a bad book?, 16 Oct 2011
By 
Bobby Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
I must confess I have read all of Mr Hastings past offerings concerning the Second World War, finding him to be consistently informative about the conflict that never ends - in publisher's eyes at least. In many ways a Hastings book is like your favourite grey cardigan, you slip it on, finding its feel both reassuring and comfy i.e you know what you will get. It is the same with this book, a general account of WW2 as seen by the grunt at the front or the person slaving away in a labour camp or factory. As ever, the usual suspects get a positive mention; the German army in retreat and Churchill as inspiring war leader. On the other hand, Mr Hastings 'controversial' views on the merits of the Australian armed forces also crop up again - a fact that will probably be picked up by some Aussie newspaper in the future.
Some real gems, however, are also to be found in this book, as Mr Hastings dips into aspects of the conflict often neglected in more precise histories of the war - for instance the partisan war that took place in Yugoslavia. Much of the book also concentrates on the Eastern Front struggle, correct in my view, given that 90% of German war deaths occurred in this theatre of war - a statistic that illustrates where the war was won and lost - although this does not diminish the sacrifices that other people made for freedom.
In short, most of the people who buy this will already be fans of Mr Hastings and thus will not be disappointed. To those who are not, I suggest this is a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent overview with some new accounts, 3 Nov 2011
By 
B. Hurst (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
It is hard to find a narrative theme through a world war lasting for almost six years.

Weighing in at a huge 768 pages All Hell Let Loose certainly isn't a whistle stop tour through the conflict, and it doesn't dwell overlong on any particular areas.

The author himself in the forward says that he has deliberately steered clear of delving too deeply into the subjects of his previous books, so the fall of Berlin, the Overlord landings and the final days of Japan are barely commented on.

His researchers have dug up some interesting accounts, particularly from the Eastern front, and even long serving students of the second world war will find much new in the first person testimonies. This battlefield is firmly at the centre of the book - after all 90 per cent of the German fatalities occurred there and it is in Russia where the war was won and lost.

In a book of this scope one isn't really searching for a single revelation or argument. The conclusions - that the Russians would have won on their own, the Axis war effort was very incompetently run and by far and away the biggest allied contribution to victory was through America's industrial might - have been discussed in much greater depth elsewhere.

I felt that the biggest success of the book was how Hastings managed to convey the brutal indifference which characterised the Russian approach to victory - happily accepting enormous piles of their own dead with unimaginative tactics to eventually wear down the Wehrmacht.

The British don't come out overly well - our `finest hour' was having the courage, bolstered by the rhetoric and bulldog spirit of Winston Churchill, to stay in the war alone in 1940. Otherwise our performance in the Western Desert, the Far East and Italy was dull and plodding and characterised by poor commanders. The RAF and Royal Navy are hailed as by far the most successful services. Perhaps controversially he equates the allowing of millions of deaths in the Indian sub continent from starvation during the war to the treatment by the Germans of their conquered countries. The Germans allowed some to starve so their people would have food. The British did the same, and it is hard to argue with the logic.

Overall, I found All Hell Let loose to be an enjoyable read, and I was pleased, as a Hastings fan, that he didn't go over areas his pervious works covered in too much detail. A very solid history of the Second World War, and I raced through it in pretty quick time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir Max Hastings - "War is all hell", 17 Oct 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
Do we really need another general history of World War II? In recent years we have seen new studies by Evan Mawdsley, Martin Gilbert and in particular Andrew Roberts excellent populist history "The Storm of War" to name but a few. The years 1939 to 1945 are a very crowded field for historians and yet there is always a warm welcome for an historian of the calibre of Sir Max Hastings, recent chronicler of Churchill as a wartime leader and political commentator. Hastings is a conservative historian but what is interesting about "All hell let loose - the World at War 1939-45" is that employs the approach of producing an history from below drawn from eyewitness accounts of events. Accounts which in turn demonstrate and confirm William Sherman's maxim "that war is all hell" since we see an overwhelming view of very brave participants who are nonetheless generally terrified, demoralized and often beaten into a fossilised torpor. One British solider reflected in a letter to his wife that `I am absolutely fed up with everything. The dirt and filth, the flies - I'm having a hideous time and I wonder why I'm alive'. Another British soldier William Chappell "never ceased to ache for the civilian world from which he had been torn. He missed his home and his friends and bemoaned the loss of his career. His feet hurt, he was `sick of khaki, and all the monotonous, slow, fiddle-de-dee of Army life.' The fatalistic will of Russian soldiers is particularly well described not least the experience of Private Ivanov, of the 70th Army, who wrote despairingly to his family. `I shall never see you again because death, terrible, ruthless and merciless, is going to cut short my young life. Where shall I find strength and courage to live through all this?'

Those who have read Hastings previously on World War II will detect the ongoing preoccupations which he has developed over many years that have gradually become historical orthodoxy. He maintains in all his works that the best troops throughout the course of hostilities were Germans who were nevertheless effectively outdone by the crazed ambitions of a totalitarian monster particularly in sheer lunatic ambition of the Eastern theatre. Even as the German Army swept all in front of it during Operation Barbarossa key Generals like Halder and Hoepner were unnervingly aware that a nation with an almost limitless supply of manpower was stirring. Thus the war was won and lost in Stalin's Russia which despite the unbelievable ineptitude of its own leader particularly in almost destroying the whole of his own officer corps in purges had the crucial element of numbers on its side. This fact was readily accepted by Churchill at the time which in turn and his relationship to "Uncle Joe" has recently been chronicled with great detail by another British historian David Reynolds. Perhaps the most brutal statistic in the whole book is the fact that 750,000 Russians were shot by their own comrades for cowardice, desertion or simply to maintain army discipline, as it turns out this exceeds the total number of British dead in the entire war. The brutality of the Soviet invasion has been captured in a range of books not least Anthony Beevor's epic "Stalingrad" and the central thesis of Hastings book is equally located in the Soviet Union with its "hierarchy of cruelty" elevated beyond all other conflicts.

The sights and the smells of battle also infuse the book and the everyday acts of living are elevated into small horrors in their own right. As Hastings points out "Excretory processes became an obsession. In battlefield conditions, many never made it to a latrine. But as one soldier recalled: `No one said anything about how you smelt, because everyone smelled bad.' At over 700 pages this is a long book and your reviewer deliberately avoided the Kindle edition because of this since there were pages of text that needed to be reread and referred to for continuity purposes. Hastings however has the gift of writing an often-complex story in clear and understandable prose. He also cares deeply about the participants in his history and that humanity and gift for narrative shines through this excellent boo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peerless, 15 May 2012
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
Most of what is to be said about this book has been said already both in customer and mainstream media reviews.

This is the book Hastings has been building up to write all his life. It is the best single volume WW2 history I have ever read by some distance, and he ties in all the themes and chronology really well. Quite a bit I didn't know as well especially about the brutality of the German/Russian aspect of the conflict. Genuinely peerless. Indeed it is quite possibly the best history book I've ever read. I suspect most people with even a vague interest in WW2 will have already read this, but if not just get it, simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Towering Work, 26 April 2012
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
This account of World War Two by Max Hastings is a towering work . It is superbly writen and epic in its scope . Why so many reviewers here find it necessary to find some point of detail to correct , or to disagree with some conclusion of Hastings , other than for some minor ego trip on their part I do not know . Just enjoy this book , it is a first-rate read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Hell Let Loose, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
Generally speaking, Hastings seems to be fairly sound on the broad issues. If I do have doubts, they arise from the treatment of individual incidents of which I already knew a little.

Take the notorious PQ17 convoy to the Soviet Union. Hastings refers to Captain Broome, the commander of the destroyer flotilla. Why doesn't he mention to the subsequent libel action brought by Broome against the historian David Irvine? The court proceedings threw a much stronger light on events.

Then there is the Arnhem operation. (A health warning. My late father was there, wounded and captured.) Throughout the book we are presented with a picture of German courage and competence, Russian courage and resilience and British, er, readiness to surrender. Hastings records that 200 men of the 1st Airborne had apparently surrendered too easily in Sicily in 1943. He does not tell us that at Arnhem the Waffen SS declared they had never met opposition like it, even on the Eastern front. (In the intervening year the Parachute Regiment had evidently learned.)

Another point about Arnhem. Hastings castigates poor British leadership throughout the war. He rightly highlights Montgomery's (uncharacteristic) impetuosity in launching Market Garden and carelessness in not securing Antwerp. He does not mention Montgomery's abandonment of the 1st Airborne once his blunder had become clear. This caused SS surprise and US outrage.

So, in all, 6/10. Not a bad mark for someone who may be more journalist than historian. Over to other people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Human Experience of Hell, 22 Oct 2011
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Is there a need for another book on the Second World War? For those yet to read one, this will be a good choice, since it provides a synthesis of more than three decades of investigation, research and writing on this theme. Also, as a journalist, Max Hastings writes in a more engaging style than many academic historians.

Although the chapters trace the facts systematically from the invasion of Poland to the fall of Japan, Hastings's main focus is on human experience. The plentiful, often dramatic and moving photographs are of civilians rather than generals and political leaders. He also quotes movingly from the correspondence of ordinary people whose lives were cut short by the war, from the lieutenant who mused how the experience of commanding a battleship, even if it ended in death, was far more fulfilling than slaving in a dull London office, to the seventeen-year-old boy, begging his mother to do her utmost to get him released from service back into a safe job at home.

Hastings reminds us of the full extent of the war, in which fifteen million Chinese died at the hands of the Japanese, and a surprising range of countries suffered heavy casualties. He points out how the Germans lost far more soldiers to the Russians than to the other Allies, and how the demands made by soldiers for food from the civilian population added to the intense hardship of ordinary people. The unimaginable horror of war, until one has experienced it, the fear, fatalism and futility are demonstrated too powerfully for anyone to overlook. For instance, he describes how soldiers were forced to walk on the faces of dead colleagues squashed into the trench floor.

In what he sees as a just war, Hastings focuses on the fact that it was only partly won, since the price of victory was that Eastern Europe (including the Poland which ironically triggered the debacle), although wrested from Nazi control, remained in Soviet hands at the end. He provides fascinating evidence of Churchill's unrealistic desire to continue the struggle, even using defeated Wehrmacht soldiers, but the Russians simply had too many troops on the ground.

I was interested in the ambivalence of the Imperial subjects in India and the Far East, who only supported the British with reluctance since they knew that a Fascist victory would be even worse.

The one "imbalance" may be relatively too little space given to those who suffered in the Holocaust.

Overall, I am not sure that Hastings provides much that is not already known, but he succeeds in arousing our sympathy and respect for those forced to endure the War. Although he is now turning his attention further back to the First World War, it might be more beneficial if he were to apply his forensic skills to the issues of today, say the crisis in Europe, but perhaps there is a strange comfort in reviewing the past through modern eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars factual and crystal clear, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
Having lived through the war serving briefly in the Navy towards the end I was always aware that we only knew what we experienced or were told. This book gives a tremendously detailed oversight of the whole war. It deals sympathetically with the main characters without disguising their shortcomings. Few British people have any idea about the scale of the Russian involvement or the American efforts in the Far East. We have reason to be grateful to them both. And we can still hold our heads up high - we did more than our share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Grim Reality, 8 April 2012
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
Max Hastings's single volume history of World War II is a stunningly ambitious achievement, and also relentlessly grim. The suffering in every theatre of war is unimaginable and Mr Hastings catalogues that reality pretty much on every page of this thick book: I found it possible to read the book only in short bursts because of this. And Hastings doesn't hold back in pointing the finger of blame. Much is due to the cruel callousness of the Nazis, Japanese and Soviets; but he also highlights where the incompetence, and racism of allied leaders is to blame - in Burma, for example, where a British lack of care abandoned the locals; or in Italy, where African troops on the allied side seem to have committed many atrocities against the locals. Hastings doesn't have much time for the French role in the war either, accusing the nation of cooperating with the Nazis to high degree.

The book is a fantastic achievement, and marvellous to read the history of the whole war, rather than specific events; but it does bring home the remorseless horror that so many nations experienced. Max Hastings does an amazing job weaving all the threads into a coherent whole. It is essential, but sobering, reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband as part of his Christmas present in 2011 .
Since he loves reading about the strategy of the war, especially about Winston Churchill I decided to buy it for him after hearing an interview with Max Hastings on the radio. It is about the everyday involvement of the people and the impact on the lives. I thought that my husband would like it and I was right
He says that it is a great read and he finds it difficult to put down.
In his words it is excellent
All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945
All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 by Max Hastings (Hardcover - 29 Sep 2011)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews