Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But I still want more!
Firstly a warning to anyone who is buying this book. Make sure you have read the predecessor, The Dragon Keeper, before starting this one. It picks up exactly where Dragon Keeper left off with very little in the way of explaination.
Hobb continues to write gripping narative with yet another book by her causing me to stay up to the early hours to finish it...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Lotus-flower

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story - but a lot of padding....
I have been a fan of Robin Hobb since I first read Assassins Apprentice, but I am finding the Rain Wild Chronicles very different. The pace is slower, and there is just so much descriptiver padding.... I found myself skipping over large chunks of text just to get back to the story. This just has the feel of a one book story spread over four. Sorry to all you Robin Hobb...
Published 13 months ago by AndyL


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But I still want more!, 10 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Haven (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 2) (Hardcover)
Firstly a warning to anyone who is buying this book. Make sure you have read the predecessor, The Dragon Keeper, before starting this one. It picks up exactly where Dragon Keeper left off with very little in the way of explaination.
Hobb continues to write gripping narative with yet another book by her causing me to stay up to the early hours to finish it. Development of the charecters was excellent and not always along predicted routes, which is what makes the book worth reading.
If I wanted to be picky I could say that really there are too many charecters being followed and this sometimes detracts from the story line by the rapid changing of views. Yet this perhaps adds to the charm of the book, making it clear it is not in the Assassin vain. This book is about a group, not an individual.
For anyone who is a fan of the Liveship and Assassin books, this answers some questions. Not all though! Hobb has the good sense to leave our imagination to fill in what happens at the end of the epic journey started in Dragon Keeper, without feeling you have been cheated of plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 May 2010
By 
D. J. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Haven (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 2) (Hardcover)
After being disappointed by the Soldier Son Trilogy, I was delighted to find The Rain Wild Chronicles were a return to the wonderful writing previously produced by Robin Hobb. In fact, I think the characterisation in those two books is, in some ways, the best so far. I liked the slow pace of the books and the way the characters developed. Thymara's determination to be true to herself, and both Alise and Sedric's journeys of self realisation/acceptance are all well constructed. I was left wondering `so, what happens next...?!' I hope we'll find out in a future book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The journey continues, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Haven (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 2) (Hardcover)
Second novel in a trilogy of fantasy books, this picks right from where book one The Rain Wild Chronicles (1) - Dragon Keeper finished. And thus it's not a great jumping on point - despite a bit of exposition at the beginning - and you are better off starting with the first book.

This one runs for 570 pages, and is divided into twenty chapters. There are short pages between some of them which are letters sent between characters who aren't involved in the main plot.

The main plot is a journey, for various humans and newly hatched dragons, in search of a mythical dragon city of old.

All characters have their own desires and agendas.

Robin Hobb always writes very good and readable prose, and this book is no exception to that. Second books in a trilogy need to move the story along nicely and leave things set up for a good finale.

But this does more than that. Because whilst the physical journey of the main characters takes some interesting twists and turns, and has some drama thrown in during the middle, the characters do the same. None of them are quite the same at the end of the book as they were at the start. All grow and change and develop in very believable manners, all as a result of things they do and choices they make, rather than just the requirement of the plot.

And the plot is pretty good too. This will leave you wanting to know what will happen next. And how things will turn out for the main characters also. A superb read from a master of the genre.

Some may wish to be aware that there are occasional scenes of an adult nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite author!, 2 Aug 2011
By 
Emma Clarke (West Yorshire England) - See all my reviews
I think Robin Hobb is an amazing author and have read all her books. I must agree with the other reviews that I was disapointed with the soilder son trilogy and found it really hard to connect with the characters. However when The Rain Wild Chronicles came out I was very excited because they go back to the same world some of her other books were based in. I wasn't disapointed. I found the books easy to read and enjoyed the links to past books. I found it easy to connect to both the humans and the dragons. This is a brillant series and I would recommend these books, but you must read the Liveship trilogy first to better understand the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shuffle and redeal, 7 July 2011
By 
This is the second and last book in the Rain Wild Chronicles duology (after The Dragon Keeper).

In this volume we follow the Tarman crew, the dragons and their keepers deeper into the Rain Wilds as they continue their doomed expedition in search of the fabled Elderlings city of Kelsingra. We witness the dragons' physical and mental development, and the various changes the keepers go through, tending to the wondrous creatures. Friendships hatch, secrets surface, resentment builds, remorse haunts, love grows.

Greft starts dreaming of a new life, free from the constricting rules of Trehaug. He harasses Thymara, insisting that she must choose a mate among the male keepers, like he has chosen Jerd. But Thymara isn't ready to commit, even to Tats: she's too afraid of becoming pregnant in this hostile environment, and a burden for the other keepers.

Leftrin is soon caught up by the shameful deal he made with a Chalcedean merchant to provide him with dragon parts. He has to find a way to get rid of this threat to the expedition, and to his new relationship.

Until disaster strikes, scattering crew, hunters, keepers and dragons, shuffling and jumbling their lives.

From then on, I literally couldn't put the book down. I was already enjoying reading about the characters' evolution, especially about Alise and Sedric slowing getting used to their life away from Bingtown and its comfort, away from Hest, but this event rearranged the story into a new pattern and gave it a wonderful kick. I'm thrilled to know that Robin Hobb is currently working on a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rain wild chronicles Book 2, 21 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Dragon Haven (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 2) (Hardcover)
A great read. Couldn't put the book down. She writes really well and you get really into the characters. Links in with the liveship traders storey, familiar places etc. Would recommend all of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 12 Feb 2014
By 
G. Skivington (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I barely caught my breath and realised I had almost finished this book. Dives straight in where the last book left off and where I thought the first book took a while to get going, this one had no such issue. Characters brilliantly written and lots of excitement along the way. Looking forward to reading the third in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel like I could fly., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book does not disappoint from the first to last page. The story continues, and the excitement increases throughout. I am so keen to track their progress, I can't put the book down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic tale, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
surely a fantastic follow up to book 1 looking forward to book 3 a must for Robin Hobb fans great story well told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master story-teller ever developing her style, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Dragon trilogy (quadrilogy as it looks to be shaping up) is different from Hobb's other work set in this world.

Previous works (Assassin, Liveship, Tawny Man) have dealt on a huge scale with politics, though seen through the eyes of individuals caught up in "history". Comparisons with the current fave Game of Thrones are inevitable, though the two have very different styles. Her ability to tie the politics of a nation to the skills, abilities, foibles and characters of individuals and show how one person's contribution can change the fates of many is unsurpassed in skill, complexity and sympathy. Hobb understands people - I would say the only failing of those former works were her lack of queer characters, and female characters who rejected societal norms (oh there were many amazingly strong, courageous and rebellious men and women, but they all desired families and hetero-normative relationships in the end).

Dragon chronicles seem to be to be Hobb challenging this in herself. Here the scope is amazingly limited - a group of scarce more than 30 characters stuck on a long journey. The saga writer's equivalent of the one-set play. The river journey setting prevents claustrophobia of scene, whilst allowing for a slow 'plot' that depends entirely on character development.

And what characters - queer relationships and the personal politics of human 'mating' patterns are closely examined, among her usual themes of loyalty, honesty and humanity. Hobb's scope has shrunk, but her depth grows constantly. In essence, these books bite to the very heart of what makes us human, and why. Contrasting the humans to the dragons, subtly, brings out much and more.

This is a writer at the peak of her powers, and this is genuine literature. For those who wanted an adventure story - it is not exciting, it is absorbing. Fantasy literature for intelligent grown-ups. And feminists :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68daf90)

This product

Dragon Haven (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 2)
Dragon Haven (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 2) by Robin Hobb (Hardcover - 4 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: 2.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews