Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first one
Reading this book will put any minor annoyances you have into perspective. Here are the absolute dregs of society. Here also are some of the unsung heroes of every day life - not just the ambulance crews but ordinary people who will go that extra mile to help their neighbours or even complete strangers. On more than one occasion the author has his prejudices challenged...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All short stories
Some parts were interesting but it was made up of many short stories/chapters which was frustating. It did highlight some of the ridiculous requests by some members of the public
Published 21 months ago by Mrs. S. K. Matson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth a read. Ambulance worker in London taken from the pages of a blog. Can't wait for more in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct 2014
This review is from: More Blood, More Sweat and Another Cup of Tea (Paperback)
Brilliantly funny and heartfelt. An absolute must read for anyone working in the health or care sectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood, vomit, sweat, urine and tea!, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Alison "Kindle Allie" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the sequel to "Blood, Sweat and Tea", and both books are based on the blog "Random Acts of Reality" by a London based emergency medical technician (EMT), Tom Reynolds (a pseudonym, Tom has now revealed himself to be Brian Kellett). Just as the first book, this is a collection of Reynolds favourite posts from his blog.

While it is obviously a book of blog postings, it does hang together as a coherent collection and is very readable; this second volume even more so than the first. I could spend much longer reading his posts in this format than I could spend reading a screen for. I think his writing has improved even more as his blog has continued. Just as in the first book his posts show the real-life events of life in the ambulance service, warts and all.

Recommended if you enjoy reading about real-life events or want to learn more about working in the ambulance service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go and buy!, 1 Jun 2009
This is a sequel to Blood Sweat & Tea, and is equally as compelling - I simply couldn't put this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another point of view, 7 Jun 2009
By 
G. Leighton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This provides a glimpse into what happens when first aiders and other arms of the emergency services pass their more "damaged" customers to the paramedics and ambulance crews. After reading this I am thankful I did'nt have the right qualifications to be an LAS Technician Tom Reynolds vividly brings to life the sights,smells & dangers of an average shift driving a big yellow taxi through the mean streets of Newham. If you like your books gritty and humorous than this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
so funny! if you haven't read any of toms books I suggest you do!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bloodless, 4 Nov 2011
I have to start by saying this is written well and is a very comfortable format to read. However, I found it a rather tame look at the dullest of cases an ambulance drive may come face to face with in his career. The main aim of the tale comes over as being to higlight the wasted time of medical resources that alcaholics cause. The auther stated a number of times through the book that he would always be called to the most mundane jobs when the real dramatic incidents were happening perhaps 'at the next station'. That is pretty much the impression I got reading this. I was left feeling that I was always chacing the wrong ambulance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Blood, More Sweat and Another Cup of Tea, 12 Oct 2010
This book is absolutely amazing. I am not kidding. This book is totally worth reading. I had no idea about life as an ambulance paramedic or an FRU driver. 10/10 every time I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opening read, 23 Sep 2010
This is as good as the first book. Witty, sad and eye opening. The author knows how yo tell a story in a very good way. Makes you realise what problems and stresses the public place on the LAS by dialling 999 because of a sore eyebrow. A fab book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book, easy to read and had a laugh too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Blood, More Sweat and Another Cup of Tea
More Blood, More Sweat and Another Cup of Tea by Tom Reynolds (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews