Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first one
Reading this book will put any minor annoyances you have into perspective. Here are the absolute dregs of society. Here also are some of the unsung heroes of every day life - not just the ambulance crews but ordinary people who will go that extra mile to help their neighbours or even complete strangers. On more than one occasion the author has his prejudices challenged...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All short stories
Some parts were interesting but it was made up of many short stories/chapters which was frustating. It did highlight some of the ridiculous requests by some members of the public
Published 22 months ago by Mrs. S. K. Matson


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first one, 30 May 2009
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this book will put any minor annoyances you have into perspective. Here are the absolute dregs of society. Here also are some of the unsung heroes of every day life - not just the ambulance crews but ordinary people who will go that extra mile to help their neighbours or even complete strangers. On more than one occasion the author has his prejudices challenged and is happy to accept that first impressions can be wrong.

There are heartwarming stories and heartbreaking stories often both on the same shift. There are also some good examples of why any ambulance service is so stretched - because people call an ambulance for trivial reasons. In many cases it is the people who really need an ambulance who do not call one. Drunks and drug users provide much of the author's work and the he makes abundantly clear what he thinks of these people though he will treat them in the same professional manner as any other patient.

I liked the way the book challenged my own prejudices about certain groups and I really enjoyed the author's plain and simple style of writing. There could be a temptation to over egg the pudding with this sort of subject matter and provide dialogue containing many swear words and descriptions containing too much gore. The author rises above this and his writing is all the more powerful for being understated. If you like accounts of people's jobs then you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A super sequel - more ambulance adventures, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Jack Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having downloaded as one of my first "proper" book on my new Kindle Wireless Reading Device, Wi-Fi, 6" Display, Graphite - Latest Generation it was an excellent read providing an interesting insight into the world of an paramedic through a series of blog posts. Following up from Blood, Sweat and Tea: Real Life Adventures in an Inner-city Ambulance this is more of the same and bang up to date. Once again the original blog posts are edited to keep only the most interesting and updated with comments this book is easy to read and rings true for real life. Set in London the author keeps us entertained throughout with the use of humour alongside interesting stories - well worth downloading. The only reason this doesn't get five stars (the content is worth it) was the formatting on the Kindle was sometimes a little awkward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply Brilliant., 2 Jun 2009
By 
A. Gray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm another avid reader of Tom's blog and devoured his first book, so I was very happy when my pre-ordered copy of his second came through my letter box on Saturday. I started reading, almost forgot to go to the gym and finished it within the day, it's also inspired me to re-read his first book.

Tom's writing is witty and intelligent, and you can see this is a man who really loves his job but is also incredibly frustrated by it, you will spend most of the book giggling, some sighing and shaking your head, and a little part sad. Despite being an avid reader of his blog I only recognised a few things, but I still wanted to read them again, there was no stale repetition here, but a refreshing read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbnail sketches of life., 13 Feb 2010
By 
J. Lesley "(Judy)" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Tom Reynolds has given each of us the opportunity to see what life is like for people who drive the ambulances to medical emergencies. Granted, once he gets to the location, the "emergency" might be an upset stomach or a runny nose, but it might also be a tiny baby who has died in it's crib.

This book has no plot, no named characters, no chronology, but what it does have is a realism that can only be achieved by someone who is living these events each and every day of his career. The incidents related here are from the blog Tom Reynolds writes concerning his job with the ambulance service in a section of east London. On my Kindle this book is divided into 211 chapters with each "chapter" being devoted to a single entry of his blog. They range all the way from the truly frivolous calls to those where he and his mates are unable to save the patient's life. Along the way he sometimes indulges in a little fanciful, playful writing about his job and he also vents his spleen about how the government is running the National Health Service. Also included is a lexicon of terms and abbreviations which will help the reader keep track of the various organizations and functions of the London Ambulance Service and a short note about the author, including his real name.

This is the second book relating information from Reynolds' blog, the first book being Blood, Sweat and Tea: Real Life Adventures in an Inner-city Ambulance. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to see real life situations on a daily basis through the eyes of someone who is there and keeps going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More tales from the Ambulance service, 2 Feb 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book continues on from the book Blood, Sweat and Tea and if you were a fan of that, then you will certainly enjoy this book. It is a collection of tales from a crew member of the London Ambulance service.

It reads like a blog with short chapters that will have you laughing, crying or tutting in anger at the way in which Ambulance services are abused by the unworthy and at the expense of other legitimate patients.

Easy to read and in nice bite size chunks. The text formatting is good, with no mid sentences turned into paragraphs or merged chapters. In terms of VFM, when I first got this it was being given away free of charge on the Kindle, but there is now a charge, but it is a small price to pay for a little humour and a glimpse into the goings on in the Ambulance Service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant book by Tom Reynolds. Following the crews of the London ambulance service. It's an interesting insight into the day to day work of these hard working men and women from the LAS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read and a good insight into the every day lives of these hard working and very put upon proffesionals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All short stories, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some parts were interesting but it was made up of many short stories/chapters which was frustating. It did highlight some of the ridiculous requests by some members of the public
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real and undramatic, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As per the title of my review.....I myself did download this book hoping/expecting exciting, over the top, jaw dropping tales. But instead was confronted with something real and personable, which was unexpectantly refreshing and better then i hoped for.

It's a true look at the life of an ambulance driver, real emotions, real events. I have always respected this profession very much as they are who we turn to at our most vunerable and needy. But it renewed that respect, for what they endure every day and how they conduct themselves when most of us would of said/done differently in a similar situation. I now smile my most sincerest 'thankyou/gratitude' smile as i pass a paramedic - they probably are thinking that i might be a 'call-out' in the near future as i smile like a demented monkey, but i only do so more intently as the result of reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit lackustre, but not in need of critical care, 14 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. S. Biddulph (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this book, it's an easy read, but it isn't going to set the world on fire. I wanted to know more about paramedics after reading "Call the Ambulance", which is a better read. The main failing for me is that this book is a compilation of blog entries, rather than a novel with themed chapters. Each entry in turn is interesting, sometimes humorous, other times tragic, but they work better as a blog, which by its very nature is a forum for various observations and musings. As a book I expected more. That said it's well written and I did enjoy the variety of different entries. I was shocked by the number of people who use ambulances for everyday things like a cough or cold and the number of calls for regulars be they drunks or timewasters. Ambulance staff do an amazing job and the fact next to no-one says thank you to them astounds me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Blood, More Sweat and Another Cup of Tea
More Blood, More Sweat and Another Cup of Tea by Tom Reynolds (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews