Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finished it in a mere 4 hours!
What a treat! Maybe some people might the plot was easy to spot. But to be sure: I couldn't put it down for the life of me. Specially on a cold and wintry evening, Trudi's adventure makes you feel all warm inside. Everything's not lost for everyone, there's hope for us mice. Somehow, someday, we also can show ourselves from quite an unexpected side. Maybe this book...
Published on 15 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I like a more complicated thriller
I passed this on to someone else and they loved it. Personally I found it a bit too simply written, predictable and 2 dimensional for my tastes, just a preference thing though, the person I passed it on to is now a lifelong fan of Mr Hill. Found the main character a bit unlikely and some of the shenanigans a bit farcical and unrealistic.
Published 8 months ago by Carol


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finished it in a mere 4 hours!, 15 Jan 2001
By A Customer
What a treat! Maybe some people might the plot was easy to spot. But to be sure: I couldn't put it down for the life of me. Specially on a cold and wintry evening, Trudi's adventure makes you feel all warm inside. Everything's not lost for everyone, there's hope for us mice. Somehow, someday, we also can show ourselves from quite an unexpected side. Maybe this book doesn't contain the most profound display of character, but to me, a good story, with a main character you can relate to, does it every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read., 24 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
Rather to my surprise I enjoyed this old Reginald Hill.

Trudi (the retiring dormouse), having mainly lived abroad with her husband, moves to Sheffield and he is killed in a car crash. It then transpires that he seems to have left little money and was a bit of a mystery man.

She meets up with an old friend and start looking into things. People appear (her husband's boss and secretary), she gets a job. They discover a lot of money in a hidden account, and a body in a cottage that her husband owned. Both immediately disappear.
,
Characters keep cropping up: are they genuine? Can they be trusted?

Drugs, organised crime and Vienna the end of the war are all elements.

It is all a bit old-fashioned but enjoyable (it reminded me of those Francis Durbridge things that used to be on TV).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I like a more complicated thriller, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
I passed this on to someone else and they loved it. Personally I found it a bit too simply written, predictable and 2 dimensional for my tastes, just a preference thing though, the person I passed it on to is now a lifelong fan of Mr Hill. Found the main character a bit unlikely and some of the shenanigans a bit farcical and unrealistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
Bought this for my husband - he couldn't put it down it was so good - i'm next in line to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good read, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
excellent book and in good condition/ an early offering from Reginald Hill very readable and a good plot hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Doormouse, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
I always enjoy books written by Reginald Hill and this one is no exception.
They draw you in and they get more tense as the story goes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
Another must read from Reg Hill, lots of twists and turns to render it impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-down-able. Death of a Dormouse, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
Un-put-down-able. Reginald Hill knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat! If you love his Dalziel and Pascoe novels you will love this. This is a thriller of the highest order. Couldn't wait to get to the end, but wished for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars darkly clever, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
very cleverly thought out, some characters surprising. At times it was quite disturbing but gripping and the end was satisfying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Dormouse (Paperback)
I did enjoy this book but then I have enjoyed most of Reginald Hill books. He is a good old fashioned writer. A good storyline and an easy to follow plot unlike a lot of todays books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death of a Dormouse
Death of a Dormouse by Reginald Hill (Paperback - 29 April 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews