Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
A great series and great characters, but it feels like its running out of momentum. The story drags painfully in places, yet as ever the battles and other confrontations are superb. At points however, the insult trading sounds florid and contrived. Not the standard I'm used to from this master storyteller.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Really enjoyed this series. Reread it recently and fortunately the pretty metrosexual skinny pouting sulky perpetual adolescent cast in the TV series is so far from the character in the books it doesnt impact on the mental image I have of Uhtred at all.

Dont judge the books by the BBC series, they are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
This is as usual a very good and interesting read. As with all the Sharpe books I thoroughly enjoy the story, and the action.
I have read many of Bernard Cornwell's books and can say without a doubt that he is my favourite author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
As always, Cornwell delivers! This installment of Uthred's story is as gripping as the previous 6 books. I am a fan of historical fiction but this series is something else. From start to finish the book is filled with action and solid characters that are relatable and believable.I have never really taken much interest in the Danish occupation of Britain but I have read the first seven books in this series in the last 5 months.

Cornwell's style of writing sucks the reader into the book and spits them out at the end gasping for breath and desperate to read the next installment.

All I can say is that if you are a fan of historical fiction and looking for something that is out of your usual "era", give Uthred a chance, I would be incredibly surprised if you are disappointed, the plot is intricate, detailed and compelling. As long as the Saxon story is told by Cornwell, I shall read it. Avidly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
As a lover of historical yarns this is a very enjoyable read taking the saga of Utred's life, misfortunes and fortunes onwards through middle age. The whole series of this Saxon adventure is brutal stuff in places but exciting nonetheless. Looking forward to the next novel The Empty Throne and hope that the BBC continues to run further series (The Last Kingdom) of this story despite leaving out chunks of the plot of the first one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
This is well written and well researched, as are all the other books in this series, but for me personally the story is beginning to wear a little thin and some of Lord Uhtred’s exploits seem just a bit too unlikely. Uhtred is now in his 50s, which is positively ancient by Saxon standards and he appears to have survived more attempts on his life than 007 James Bond. As with all the other books, this instalment starts off with Uhtred being out of favour and ends with him once again restored to hero status. He still hasn't managed to recapture Bebbanberg though. I found the early chapters of this particular book a bit tedious and almost gave up reading it. However, I felt that the pace of the story improved from about half-way through.

In conclusion, well written, if a little slow to get going. If you liked the earlier books in this series, then you will like this one. Personally, I am bored with this character now. Hurry up and finish this tale Bernard!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Another instalment picked up, hard to put down, and finished too quickly. The Hero matures as has the story portrayed, still with the swirling almost swashbuckling seance of time, I am now enjoying researching along side the reading. Looking forward to the day when supporting documents are fully integrated into an electronic reading experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
As a keen fan of Bernard Cornwell, I am never disappointed. He paints a very clear picture of a brutal world surrounded by the ruins of a great empire. He takes liberties with history but is always honest in his notes, pointing out where and why he did it. Always a thoroughly absorbing read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
I've have really enjoyed these books and don't want the series to end! I've waited for this one to come out. It follows Uhtred and his band of warriors over huge swathes of the now-English country and at sea - fighting, deceiving and finding a way through impossibly dangerous situations. The history and the towns they go through are very real, characteristics of the geography well-researched. There are some lovely touches of detail about Roman influence in Britain and about the maturing and teamplay of the key characters readers have come to know. As with the other books in the series, I was carried along at a fast pace by the speed of the army - advancing, fleeing, tricking - looking for the threads of the tale to be woven to a satisfactory conclusion. A very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Another fantastic read, full of action and historical accuracy as well. It is a shame that Utred is getting old and the series must come to an end. I have enjoyed every book and look forward to more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse