Customer Reviews


764 Reviews
5 star:
 (491)
4 star:
 (181)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cornwell on form
After a long gap, author Bernard Cornwell re-introduces us to the characters from his "grail Quest" trilogy.

As the title suggests, this is set in 1356 during the Hundred Years War when the English had the upper hand in France. Archer Thomas Hookton, leader of a bunch of English aligned mercenaries (including a number of the deadly English archers) is given a...
Published on 6 Oct. 2012 by Nick Brett

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What has happened?
I was really looking forward to this book as Thomas of Hookton is probably one of my favourite characters. However as I started reading I just couldn't understand what had happened, there was no excitement and felt as if I was just being taken through the same old story with no real effort put in.

The reason for my high level of disappointment is due to what an...
Published on 4 May 2013 by Andy Herbert


‹ Previous | 162 63 6477 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars book not recieved!, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book did not download and is therefore not on my kindle.please refund or let me know when to install it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Dan Brown than Bernard Cornwell, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sharpe gave gritty realism to the Napoleonic Wars. This novel offers us more relics from the templars, birds of prey with supernatural powers, monks with combat skills and Scots who fight for the English. The least enjoyable of all of Bernard Cornwell's books that I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 31 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book too wordy with very little action . I gave up on it less than half way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 18 Aug. 2013
By 
Jeremy Paterson "Jeremy P" (Gosfield,Essex , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. Has given me the inclination to research the actual historical events for myself. I will look out for more of Mr Cornwell's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Prince at large., 16 Aug. 2013
By 
Heating Bill (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst the book connected historical data quite well, it did not give the cannot put down feeling which I'd expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1356, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quite exciting, typical Bernard Cornwell book, Would have liked to read more on the Starbuck series ,but he stopped writing them mid series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 5 July 2013
By 
Mr. T. J. Billings "Nostromo" (Grimsby, N.E.Lincs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernard Cornwell back to his best!
Thomas of Hookton carries on from where he left off, into the thickness of the action only this time at Poitiers, the forgotten battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Sharp books, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad, but quite an obvious anachronism here when someone refers to a woman as a Bint. This Indian word might have been used by Sharp but not by a mediaeval archer !
A good read though after Inferno....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gripping page turner, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual Cornwell intrigue, fast moving and tense. I miss his storytelling capabilities between publication and can't wait for new novels.
Truly a great author who makes you believe in the characters.
Not a five star but it was very close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He never let's you down, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seems that whatever Bernard Cornwell writes is brilliant and this book is no exception. He must be the best writer of historical fiction alive today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 162 63 6477 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1356
1356 by Bernard Cornwell (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews