Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful crossword aid
Bought this crossword dictionary plus the Bradford Crossword Solvers Lists for my husband for Christmas. My 70-year old husband is a technophobe but enjoys doing his daily crossword. His dictionary and thesaurus were so well thumbed the covers and some of the pages were falling apart. Every Sunday he attempts a more complex crossword in a well-known newspaper and,...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by Badger

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collins Bradfords crossword solvers dictionary
On the whole very good but it has a lot missing, i.e.naming countries and their capitals (capitals are shown but not to which country they relate) various anniversaries, authors, playwrights etc. various gods and religions, Greek and Roman alphabets and numbers also not shown. Personally although this book is helpful I do not find it anywhere as good as the 30 year old...
Published on 17 Jun. 2010 by margaret


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scrabbleaddict, 16 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book is excellent. I have used the older version until it was falling apart! Time for the most up to date version. It arrived on time and I have used it many times already, Invaluable for my crosswords and scrabble too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect IF it was made clear this is part 1 of 2, 13 May 2011
By 
Mr. Brian R. Dougal (Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent crossword dictionary and as others have stated, looking for a clue often leaves one just browsing amongst all the interesting words and conjoinings.

HOWEVER for serious use you MUST also purchase Bradfords Crossword Solvers Lists.
Comments here stating there are "bits missing" are precisely the bits in the "Lists" book. Irritatingly they are produced in different sizes!

Collins would, in my opinion, be better off publishing them as a matching pair.
Both would then be 5* books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a crossword solver but is also, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bradford's CSD was a present to help my wife with some crossword posers but has also proved a hit with a Year 6 Granddaughter as an source of new words to try out and use
.
For crossword solvers the lists are very useful as you get only what you require - alternative words. A surprisingly useful feature are the lists e.g. under Snakes 80+ are named, similarly for Hormones and many other items
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy Christmas present, 27 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Hardcover)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my sister-in-law, a crossword nut. She is thrilled to bits with it as an alternative to a large volume book which would be bulky to carry around.
There have been no complaints about it at all, she finds it very useful and it saves her phone bill. She no longer keeps ringing up for help.Collins Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Crossword Addicts!, 8 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Collins Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary (Hardcover)
Great reference book for crossword addicts, Easy to use, has many listings and helpful hints as how to work out cryptic clues, would recommend to dedicated crosswordians or novices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great update on the last dictionary, 13 Nov. 2011
Although the type in the book is smaller - there is so much more information - so very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this publication has an extensive vocabulary, I am still inclined to use my Collins as first resort.
It would be helpful if the listings were first by number of letters and then alphabetical within that range. I realise this would mean more work but I personally think it would be more helpful to users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Chambers!, 8 Feb. 2012
By 
M. C. Ramsay (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The layout is disappointing, showing lists in alphabetical order regardless of word length. My old Chambers (which after years of use fell apart) was much easier to use with all words grouped by length.

Worse, Bradford also combines in single lists words associated with related roots.

Not as user-friendly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb crossword aid, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know why I have never found this publication before. In over 50 years of being a crossword addict I have bought all the main dictionaries and thesauri but I have never seen this publication on the bookshelves. Already it has helped me several times to find words and make connections that I would have spent ages looking for elsewhere and I have won the Enigmatic Variations competition for the first time because of a word I found in it. I bought the Kindle version immediately but, being a traditionalist, I am getting the printed version as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I expected, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not that easy to navigate have not find one solution yet! I prefer a crossword solver off the Internet much more helpful than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary
Collins Bradford's Crossword Solver's Dictionary by Anne R. Bradford (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2009)
Used & New from: £6.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews