Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon - label this book correctly
Excellent series, wonderful resource for a collector.

But why does Amazon not label this the second (2) in the Ngaio Marsh collection? All the others (10 of them) are numbered, but this one isn't. Can't understand it.

I have tried (twice) to get them to change the listed name -- it is so much harder to find all of them if this one isn't labelled...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by S. Powell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather bizarre crime story
I found this novel quite difficult to read and very dated in its attitude to artists, ordinary working people and non-Brits. I hope that the others by Marsh that I have on my Kindle will be more enjoyable
Published 8 months ago by Valerie Beckett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon - label this book correctly, 9 Feb 2011
By 
S. Powell "Zteve" (Hursley, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ngaio Marsh Collection (2) - Death in Ecstasy / Vintage Murder / Artists in Crime (Paperback)
Excellent series, wonderful resource for a collector.

But why does Amazon not label this the second (2) in the Ngaio Marsh collection? All the others (10 of them) are numbered, but this one isn't. Can't understand it.

I have tried (twice) to get them to change the listed name -- it is so much harder to find all of them if this one isn't labelled like all the others -- but my modifications aren't accepted.

Ho Hum. Make sure you buy it along with all the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first meeting of Troy and Alleyn!, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am biased because I have read (and own) all her stories and am very fond of the "well-bred" detective novels written about pre-and post-WWII times. I am not fond of violence and Marsh's story conveys a very unpleasant act without the horrific descriptions that seem the norm in current new novels of the genre. One for older folk as youngsters would probably find it too mannered and not exciting enough! This one was televised and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who likes to read a good thriller over and over will enjoy this. This is a must for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ngaio Marsh Collection (2) - Death in Ecstasy / Vintage Murder / Artists in Crime (Paperback)
this is a great read and amazing value for your money, if you love agatha christie you will love these stories. order arrived swiftly and was really well packaged. would definetly recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stories, good value, 13 July 2014
This review is from: The Ngaio Marsh Collection (2) - Death in Ecstasy / Vintage Murder / Artists in Crime (Paperback)
Good stories, good value. Having read (and read-read) all the Agatha Christie books, this seems a good author to collect,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typically excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in the series, 28 May 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Artists in Crime' is the sixth Roderick Alleyn novel, first published in 1938. The plot, which concerns the murder of an artists' model, is interesting and, even better, Aleyn's love interest and future wife, the artist Agatha Troy, is introduced.
In the first few novels, the character of Alleyn was not fully formed in her mind and he sometimes came across and fatuous and flippant. By this time, however, Alleyn, his assistant 'Brer' Fox, his journalist friend Nigel Bathgate were developed and clearly established characters and they are joined by Troy, also a permanent resident of the stories.
Troy and Alleyn have returned from New Zealand on the same ship and Troy is now running a school for artists. Their artists' model is Sonya, an abrasive person who knows how to create a scene - in the emotional sense. She also turns out to be a blackmailer and she is, it emerges, pregnant.
It is no aurprise that someone wants to kill her but she is murdered in a particularly unpleasant way. A trap has been set and the person who actually kills her could be the helpless dupe of the person who set the trap (a plot device sometimes used by Marsh elsewhere). Roderick Alleyn must investigate the murder, although his doing so puts a great strain on his budding relationship with Troy; she is affronted, in a very upper-class way, by the intrusion into the private lives of her friends and by feeling that she is required to betray their confidence.
Ngaio Marsh was one of the 'big four' women mystery writers of the nineteen-thirties and forties, with Agatha Christie, Marjorie Allingham and Dorothy L Sayers. She always produces very well-constructed plots. It has often been pointed out that she is not as ingenious as Agatha Christie, but in my opinion, she is a much better writer. Her characters are really well-drawn and interesting and her writing style is witty, elegant and pungent. I think her books are well worth reading if you like English country-house mysteries set in the golden age of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's nice to revisit past pleasures., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely to meet Alleyn, Fox,Bailey and Thompson again. Allen has been in New Zealand, recovering from a gun shot injury. On the journey he meets and is painted by Miss Agatha Troy, rising artist. The model hired for the season, dies in front of the whole class. A great read, from one of the best mystery writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A rather bizarre crime story, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this novel quite difficult to read and very dated in its attitude to artists, ordinary working people and non-Brits. I hope that the others by Marsh that I have on my Kindle will be more enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent value, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ngaio Marsh Collection (2) - Death in Ecstasy / Vintage Murder / Artists in Crime (Paperback)
taking into account thecondition of book plus theprice including p and p
and del. time I cannot fault anything with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ngaio Marsh Collection (2) - Death in Ecstasy / Vintage Murder / Artists in Crime
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews