Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner
Although this is still a page turner series, it would be nice for the story to move on a bit, the mysterious pregnant girl is beginning to seem a little insipid & I'd like that bit of the story to move on, hoping that the whole story will conclude in the next book or at worst book 8. The earlier books were better.
Published 22 months ago by Lady Chatterley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please stop.
It's gotten to the point where Mr Koontz needs to take Odd out back a discharge a couple of shotgun shells into him.

I was a massive fan of the Odd books. The 4th was a little shaky, the 5th was shaky and this is as shaky as Parkinsons patient going cold turkey on crack.

I'm starting to hate Mr Odd - the just a simple Fry cook who can see ghosts...
Published 22 months ago by Michael Thomason


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this is still a page turner series, it would be nice for the story to move on a bit, the mysterious pregnant girl is beginning to seem a little insipid & I'd like that bit of the story to move on, hoping that the whole story will conclude in the next book or at worst book 8. The earlier books were better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next in the series for me...., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it, but then I love all the Odd Thomas books, so peaceful despite the sometimes nasty happenings, good well planned and highly original ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please stop., 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's gotten to the point where Mr Koontz needs to take Odd out back a discharge a couple of shotgun shells into him.

I was a massive fan of the Odd books. The 4th was a little shaky, the 5th was shaky and this is as shaky as Parkinsons patient going cold turkey on crack.

I'm starting to hate Mr Odd - the just a simple Fry cook who can see ghosts. He's so judgemental about the world he lives in that he's starting to sound a bit self centered. If Odd was writing about Odd then he wouldn't like himself.

Rumours are this in the penultimate book. I hope Oddy goes out with a bang and meets up with Stormy in the next life.

I gave this two stars out of respect for the first three books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd comes closer to his final adventure, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Koontz returns to writing about a character he clearly has deep affection for in his sixth Odd Thomas book. You don't need to have read the previous five to enjoy Deeply Odd but it does work with them.

Odd wakes to the sound of a motionless bell ringing, a bell worn around his neck that summons him to fulfil whatever task awaits him. He leaves his unconventional household, the mysterious Annamaria who has appeared heavily pregnant for many years, the deathless child Tim rescued in Odd's previous outing Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas 5), and two dogs, a golden retriever named Rapunzel and Boo, a ghost German shepherd. Walking downtown to buy jeans and socks he is drawn to a large truck and a confrontation with its rhinestone clad owner. Odd receives a terrible vision that this sinister man will shortly murder three young children by immolating them and knows he has to stop him. Cue a pursuit across the deserts of America with Mrs Edie Fisher, a mysterious old lady in a limousine, the ghost of Alfred Hitchcock, monsters and 17 children in desperate peril.

Yet behind all this Odd senses a larger purpose looming, there are glimpses of an apocalyptic second reality lying alongside our own, a sense that the story arc of the Odd Thomas books is coming to a crisis, and there is, as ever in Koontz, horror and hope.

I enjoyed the humour, Odd is who he is because of his humility, his sense of humour and his faith in his beloved girlfriend Stormy, dead 18 months, and the world beyond our own that she has gone to ahead of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Holding Pattern, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Dean Koontz, and loved the first Odd book. However, the unique universe that was created in that first title seems to have been severely diluted and almost homogenised to contain elements of all his other books by the end of this one.

Ever since the introduction of the Annamaria character three books ago, the whole Odd story seems to have been in somewhat of a holding pattern- the individual stories in each book have become weaker and weaker in their own right, more and more mysteries are introduced (there's even yet another enigmatic character in this latest book), yet with no closure or explanation. Whilst it would be entirely acceptable to leave a few things unanswered between books, I think it was a huge mistep to introduce the Annamaria character so early on when her true nature is only going to be revealed in the last book of the series. All it does it frustrate the reader, especially when the individual plots aren't really strong enough on their own.

Odd's character develops very little over the course of this and the past few books, becoming little more than a tool of fate, or even worse at times, a plot delivery device. The only change seems to be a move away from a reluctance from violence, but this only makes him more like the traditional gun-toting hero, again away from what made the character unique.

It's not a terrible book, it flows at a fast pace (although it's not exactly a long book), and Koontz is always enjoyable to read, but it's a very 'comfortable' book- it takes no risks, and almost comes across as being fan fiction at times, since the whole thing is so predictable in story and style. The whole series now feels like too little content spread over too many books.

Koontz has got a lot to live up to in the final seventh book, since he's been teasing the reader for a long while now. But, going on this and his last few books, I'm rather worried that he won't be able to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant Odd story, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeply Odd (Odd Thomas 6) (Paperback)
As with all the Odd books by Dean Koontz this one is no exception and is brilliant. Yet again Oddie saves the day in his own quirky way with the help of new friends, he visits other dimensions and brings down evil cults and gets rid of the baddies. I have enjoyed all the Odd books and think the way that each of the books are so different keeps the story fresh and the reader from getting bored. I for one was yet again kept on the edge of my seat and couldn't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dean doesn't disappoint, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeply Odd (Kindle Edition)
A must read for any Koontz fans, especially those who have read any of the Odd series.
Absolutely love reading about Odds adventures. With every read you just want more and more.
Please hurry with the next instalment.
Fabulous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Intriguing, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeply Odd (Kindle Edition)
Odd certainly is Odd, but in an intriguing way. The story captures your attention from the word go. However, the story takes you off in many direction never knowing what odd place you will end up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dean Koontz never disappoints his readers., 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeply Odd (Kindle Edition)
I am enjoying following Odd on his amazing journey, the stories unfold with twists and turns to keep you hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars deeply odd, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. Rona A. Bridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeply Odd (Kindle Edition)
This was again a good outing for odd thomas, however I found this one a little heavier going than the others. Still had some humour and the collection of nasty characters, and the suspense, but I felt the descriptive proses went on a bit too much this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deeply Odd (Odd Thomas 6)
Deeply Odd (Odd Thomas 6) by Dean Koontz (Paperback - 10 Oct. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews