Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and enchanting
Oliver Jeffers is my favourite childrens author. And this book is another fine example of why...

...The story itself is simple, but not patronising. It is a lovely story about a little boy who wants a star, and his quest is detailed in such a humourous way (he couldn't travel in his rocket as he'd used up all the petrol last Tuesday). For the story alone this...
Published on 6 May 2007 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little sad
I am so used to Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler books, that I now expect a story with a twist at the end, rich drawings and great cadence. This book is quite the opposite. Also the little boy seems rather depressed and lonely, making for a sad feel all in all, while the drawings are also too minimalistic for my liking. My 3 year old asked me to read it once as he liked...
Published on 6 Nov 2010 by Adina Casas


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and enchanting, 6 May 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
Oliver Jeffers is my favourite childrens author. And this book is another fine example of why...

...The story itself is simple, but not patronising. It is a lovely story about a little boy who wants a star, and his quest is detailed in such a humourous way (he couldn't travel in his rocket as he'd used up all the petrol last Tuesday). For the story alone this book would be an asset to any childs story collection - but Oliver Jeffers' books have a little something else - the illustrations!

Oliver Jeffers does his own illustrations, they are unique in style, and genuinely quite beautiful. They make every page turn a joy, and you find yourself immersed in the story, and loving the art you have in front of you.

Your child will love this book - and you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, 17 Feb 2006
By 
C Rodgers (Northern Ireland, County Down. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Hardcover)
Once there was a boy and the boy lived stars very much…’
How to Catch a Star was the first book by the young writer and artist Oliver Jeffers. It proved to be a stunning and quite unforgettable debut, winning a number of awards. The story is set around a boy, who loves stars and wishes that he has one of his very own so that they could take long walks together and play hide and seek. So, he decides to do something about it and try to catch one for himself. Unfortunately when he wakes up in the morning, there are no stars to be found, ‘so he waited…and he waited…and ate lunch…and waited. And after dinner he waited some more.’
Finally, just as the sun is setting he eventually sees one and sets about catching it. Unfortunately the trees simply aren’t tall enough and because he happened to use all his petrol on his spaceship last Tuesday whilst travelling to the moon, he finds himself starless once again.
Does he finally get a star? I’m not going to tell you, but it does have a very happy ending.
This book really should not be missed. The colours that Jeffers has used in his illustrations, should have you pulling it off the shelf alone. The story is very simple, and young children will absolutely adore it, as well as parents and adults. Oliver Jeffers has exhibited paintings all around the world, and it’s not hard to understand why. This book is a visual feast and the whole family will enjoy it.
The book is 32 pages long and was first published in June 2004. Jeffers has just released another book called Lost and Found, and is soon to be releasing another later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful modern book for young children., 25 Nov 2007
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
This is a lovely book. I was drawn to buy it from the great reviews it had received and I'm truly glad I did. The story is so poignant that I actually feel quite tearful each time I read it and my 34 month old absolutely adores it - I don't think she quite understands the concept of trying to catch star as she told me the other day that she wants to buy the moon in Tesco! However, it's the futility of trying to catch a real star that makes this story so sad but so sweet at the same time - and the ending, without wanting to spoil it, is perfect. The illustrations are just beautiful and the story is brilliant. I can't put this one down. I usually prefer classic children's stories as I can't bare 'political correctness' but this story is wonderful. I can't wait for my 12 month old to get into it too. Oliver Jeffers is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magic, 11 Sep 2005
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
My two year old daughter just loves this wonderful book. Every night we read it and the magic continues... Gorgeous illustrations, a simple heartwarming story and best of all - a happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
This was a great discussion story for my class of 6 year olds. Stunning illustrations and a happy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gift that gives back :), 29 Dec 2008
By 
T "Yellow Pineapple" (Rockledge, Fl, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a Christmas present for my son and the set is something we are enjoying together! The book is adorable and fits well under the covers to be read by the light of the flash light that is included! Plus the poster has a star chart on one side and the front cover on the other - PLUS ..glow in the dark stars! Makes for a great adventure in collecting your own stars together!

What a great surprize!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fly me to the moon, 25 Jan 2008
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
amongst one of the most beautiful contemporary children books i have read.
it is the innocent and very basic style in which children are encouraged to dream and reach out for the impossible and get motivated to fuel their imagination with creative thinking and alternative solutions to seemingly unachievable tasks. i consider it the very skill of a good children book to not mock or burst a bubble but offer a beautiful alternative to the unachievable. Oliver Jeffers always has a nice twist in his books and heartbreaking illustrations of the yearnings and hopes of his characters.
every child needs to read or be read a book like this. the only equivalent
i know is a book about a bear who wants to reach the moon. a book that is
decades old and whose title i cant currently recall- but it still sits in a box in the house i grew up in surrounded by other books that shaped the very me- why i think a good choice of book for your children is invaluable- and i believe this one is a very good choice that will hopefully get passed on to as many generations possible.
enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CATCH A STAR, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Joanna Betts (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
MY 4 YR OLD BOY LOVES THIS BOOK. IT IS ABOUT A BOY WHO WANTS A STAR AS A FRIEND & HOW HE EVENTUALY CATCHES IT. A SIMPLE ENDEARING STORY & PICTURES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, 9 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
Absolutely beautiful. My two-year-old loves the simple yet magical story and the beautiful illustrations. A must for every toddler's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful, 6 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. S. Lawson (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Catch a Star (Paperback)
This is a beatiful book that my 19 month old loves. For her, she loves the artwork with the big splashes of colour in which the stars of the title stand out easily.

Us parents love reading her the story since it moves along at an easy pace but is engaging enough to keep the little one interested. She never lets us go without at least 3 readings of it!

Highly recommended. I'll be looking to get the authors other books soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Catch a Star Board Book
How to Catch a Star Board Book by Oliver Jeffers (Board book - 1 April 2010)
Used & New from: £4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews