Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential For Fans Of The Genre
Such a well-written book, I read it in two sittings without even realising how quickly the pages were turning.

Dave Mustaine presents his take on his life and the events of a turbulent music career. The early days with Metallica are covered, but this time from Mustaine's mouth.

He's been driven for nearly two decades by wanting to beat Metallica,...
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by T. Owen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in detail and gives his music scant attention
There are way too many pictures in this book. Really, there are only so many times you need to see a photograph of Dave Mustaine holding a guitar. One would do the job. Perhaps two. One to show what he looked like at the start. Then another one to show what he looks like at the end. I can't escape the feeling the book is pitched at people who the publishers don't...
Published on 17 Sep 2012 by BS on parade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful Accurate Information, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
I required useful sources for coursework about thrash metal and this did exactly what I needed it too. Covers Dave's life as well as most of Megadeth's career. Would definitely recommend to any Megadeth/thrash metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
I loved it. Apart from being a great artist, Mustaine is also a very good writer. The book covers all of his life 's aspects greatly and thoroughly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ...a damn fine read., 25 May 2013
A good book and a better reading than many other music biographies you find around. Not a masterpiece but definetely a good book you will find hard to put down. I was personally surprised by the man himself, who emerges like a lot more an interesting character (and, why not, a better person) from the book than what could have been thought of from his public image.
I have loved reading about the metal/rock scene of the 80's and 90's from behind the scene in such genuine manner. It made me laugh a lot about my younger self and the sacred awe we were of these guys in back then.
So even if I was never a metal fan and had never heard more than three songs of Megadeth, I would definetely recommend this book to anyone with an interest in rock music or guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable read, 25 April 2013
By 
Kevin Turner (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
Just finished reading this and am slightly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I'm not a big Megadeth fan at all, they were always my least favourite of the big 4; but this is just a really interesting, occasionally funny, very well written book. I guess if I were a bigger fan I'd have liked more info on the background to songs and stuff, but as a casual reader it's up there with the best rock biogs I've read. A perfect holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved reading this book, this is the story of how a legend in the making struggled and succeeded and learns about himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Megadeth Fans, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
Very nice book for rock-metal music fans. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read and insight into one of the Angriest men on Earth, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
It was great to read Dave Mustaine's view on his past.
He has overcome many challenges and some have been more difficult than others.
If you want to know how he looks at things when he has had time to reflect this is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great read!!!, 13 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
Personally, I really enjoyed this book, so much i have read it twice. I gives you a great insight into Mustaine's Life through Metallica and Megadeth, and the music industry in general.
As the book progresses, I does still does not disappoint.
A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 11 Sep 2012
By 
M. Bulic "Milessy" (Belgrade, Serbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
So many memories came trough while reading Mustaine`s book! His style is slick, its easy to read, and you just want more and more things to find out about everything that was happening during that time.
This book is a must for all heavy metal fans and of course Dave`s fans ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful read, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Paperback)
an excellent book and well worth the money!! As an introduction to Dave Mustaine and his band its interesting. But be warned - HE CONSTANTLY moans about being kicked out of Metallica .... even after his success with Megadeath which is a damn shame as he is an interesting person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mustaine: A Life in Metal
Mustaine: A Life in Metal by Dave Mustaine (Paperback - 9 Jun 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews