Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased
This dictionary is one of the best bilingual dictionaries I have ever had. There isn't a lack of up-to-date words and the layout itself of the dictionary is very easy on the eyes. The size of the dictionary is very convenient and it can be stored very easily in a schoolbag for example. But the best thing about this dictionary is that it has a grammar section in the back...
Published on 4 May 2010 by A. J. Simpson

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One way Translation only
I bought this thinking, as is common for every other language dictionary I have bought that it would do English to French and French to English. However it didn't do French to English, so I had to buy a separate French dictionary as well. This was disappointing.
Published 19 months ago by Lee


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 4 May 2010
By 
A. J. Simpson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins French Dictionary and Grammar (Collins Dictionary and Grammar) (Paperback)
This dictionary is one of the best bilingual dictionaries I have ever had. There isn't a lack of up-to-date words and the layout itself of the dictionary is very easy on the eyes. The size of the dictionary is very convenient and it can be stored very easily in a schoolbag for example. But the best thing about this dictionary is that it has a grammar section in the back consisting of about 150 pages. In this grammar section many things are explained such as verb conjugations, all essential things. There is also a section dedicated to irregular verbs and in this section each verb is listed and then its auxiliary verb, past participle, present participle and imperative form(s) are shown. Also with each verb there is a table and this verb is conjugated in 6 different tenses, being; Present, Future, Imperfect, Conditional, Past Historic and the Present Subjunctive and the verb is conjugated in all forms (I, You (formal and informal) He/She/It, We and They) which is a very useful Overall I'm very impressed with this product

(Note- I did not purchase this product on Amazon, I am reviewing the product only and now the seller)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One way Translation only, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this thinking, as is common for every other language dictionary I have bought that it would do English to French and French to English. However it didn't do French to English, so I had to buy a separate French dictionary as well. This was disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for anyone interested French grammar!, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Collins French Dictionary and Grammar (Collins Dictionary and Grammar) (Paperback)
I find this dictionary to be very useful mainly because of the fact that it has a grammar section to it aswell as the normal french to english dictionary. It's a reasonably good size as well making it clear to see the particular word you want to find, and it has a whole index in the beginning to guide you through the symbols that you will come across!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The standard dictionary for French students, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: Collins French Dictionary and Grammar (Collins Dictionary and Grammar) (Paperback)
My daughter wanted this, having looked at a whole range of dictionaries as she begins her GCSE French studies after studying the language gently for a few years. This looks to be the best of its kind for her purposes at her level: reasonably comprehensive without being so detailed as to put younger teenagers off. She makes good use of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the French/English, 24 Feb 2013
This is simply to advise those who want the French/English translation, that Collins appear to be publishing the searchable Kindle version on 1st April 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars :), 12 Sep 2011
By 
L Crayden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins French Dictionary and Grammar (Collins Dictionary and Grammar) (Paperback)
This dictionary is very good and has a good amount of words in it, however it is just too heavy to be carrying all day in a school bag - how do we know, online, how heavy these dictionarys are?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Dictionary, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins French Dictionary and Grammar (Collins Dictionary and Grammar) (Paperback)
Very comprehensive French to English dictionary, there is not much you will need to translate that you will not find in this book. Very useful, reasonably sized book with the added bonus of a grammar section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to use, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. A. Roberts "Tony" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the easiest to search on Kindle, a real version would be much better. Lots of common use words not included which also detracts from its usefulness. Not really a worthwhile purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be deceived - This is for ENGLISH TO FRENCH ONLY, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike the printed edition of this book, this kindle version is for translating English words to French BUT NOT VICE-VERSA.

A Waste of money for me as i wanted to translate from French to English...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Half a Dictionary!, 29 July 2013
By 
YH (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dictionary is EXACTLY what it says an English-French only dictionary. You cannot search on any French word! The English section is useful and reasonably comprehensive. So if you know what you want to say in English and need to translate to French it's good, but if you come across a French word you don't know, it's of no use at all. I have never purchased a language dictionary in print that only had one-way translation. A serious oversight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins French Dictionary and Grammar (Collins Dictionary and Grammar)
Collins French Dictionary and Grammar (Collins Dictionary and Grammar) by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
12.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews